Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Q

Haunted Hotel!!

Posted Dec 30, 2014
My friends and I (party of four in total) reserved 2 rooms. Everything in this hotel feels creepy, the curtains, the elevator, the painting. In the end we were so scared that we had to stay in the same room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alicefrom Collingwood

Lots of potential, but.....

Posted Dec 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I felt this place had so much potential, but needed some extra attention to detail. Heating unit in the room was not working so a portable unit was set up. Room was comfortable enough for temperature but not the most appealing for a hotel stay. On the positive the bed was extremely comfortable - probably the best hotel sleep I have had in a long time. Maybe there was a staff shortage, but when we came down for breakfast every empty table was dirty with used dishes and crumbs - and the dining room was not even busy. Lack of designated hotel parking was a bit of a let down. Overall the location was great for what we had planned for the weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Danielle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rebecca

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

très beau

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Super Hotel de 120 ans
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Great location for Downtown entertainment.

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Even before we arrived, we had great help from hotel staff as to location and parking. Upon arrival in our room, we received a courtesy call to see if all was in order. Lovely large well appointed room, with wonderfully comfortable bed. Breakfast was not run of the mill hotel fare, but cooked fresh and flavourful. We also received complimentary tickets to the museum around the corner. Totally enjoyed our experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2015 by Domini Baldasaro, Hotel Management
Dear Jo, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Walper Hotel. I am pleased that you were delighted with the service and room during your stay, and that you enjoyed your breakfast in our Barrister’s Lounge. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon. Sincerely, Domini Baldasaro General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay in Kitchener

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Clean, and comfortable. Really neat older building. Great place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2014 by Domini Baldasaro, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the opportunity to host you again soon. Sincerely, Domini Baldasaro General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sarnia, Ontario

Best hotel downtown Kitchener

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Our stay was great! Staff were very friendly and service was outstanding. Breakfast at the Baristas lounge was very good and well portioned. Service was fast and friendly and good was hot. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone I know that's traveling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2014 by Domini Baldasaro, Hotel Management
Dear Savanah, Thank you for sharing your experience from your stay at The Walper Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your visit, as well as the breakfast and service in the Barrister’s Lounge. We appreciate the recommendation, and we hope to see you back again soon. Sincerely, Domini Baldasaro General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Owen Sound

Old Charmer

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: Very clean, quiet hotel
Cons: would be nice to have a restaurant open on site
Location: downtown location
I found the Walper to be a older building but kept up well. Quirky room design, such as 2 in step into bathroom. This could be quite dangerous. Room was also very warm. Had to run the air conditioning even though it was -5 outside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2014 by Domini Baldasaro, Hotel Management
Dear Doll, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Walper Hotel. As you note in your review, each room is unique in layout and no two are exactly identical. The step you mention leading into your bathroom is an interesting feature related to the plumbing that was added when the hotel transitioned from “water closets” to ensuite bathrooms as there was no running water when the building was originally built. This is the case in many of our rooms where the lines run under the floor in the bathrooms. As a portion of our upcoming renovation we will be redoing the plumbing and removing these steps. We will also be renovating each of the guest rooms extensively, including upgrading our heating and cooling units. We look forward to hosting you again to experience these changes. Sincerely, Domini Baldasaro General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Great hotel with rare personality

Posted Dec 3, 2014
This old, historic hotel has been impeccably updated with modern amenities and still kept the essence of the hotel that once was. Well done!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2014 by Domini Baldasaro, Hotel Management
Dear miriam, Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay at the Walper Hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the hotel itself. We are looking forward to a full renovation beginning in January and hope to host you again so that you may experience the changes. Sincerely, Domini Baldasaro General Manager