Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Stranded in the rain

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I understand it was low season but it really sucked arriving at the hotel finding out that no one was there to welcome me and I thought I had paid in advance for a hotel which was closed. After a lot of confusion and almost booking a room at the neighboring hotel, the owner Mama Terry arrived and things were eventually good. The breakfast was nice but I don't really see any point of going to this place if you're not going to swim with dolphins (which I did). The mosquito nets were broken in the room and the surrounding area is quite dull and not so scenic. An average stay, in the end.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by MJE

Domain Beach Zanzibar

Posted Nov 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
The village was magical and the dolphin experiences wonderful, the hotel was a small family run business. The room was very basic and sadly the air conditioning did not work properly making it very hot all night. Value for money was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
excellent staff and food was fantastic. Location did not give you a view of the ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Vibeke

Great hotel!

Posted Jul 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
Wonderful small hotel. Delicious food and very friendly staff. Cosy room with nice view and very clean. Can absolutely recommend this place if you do not care about a big, fancy hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tisa from Geelong VIC 3220, Australia

Our stay at Kizi Dolphin Lodge

Posted Feb 19, 2012
Pros: The rooms, staff, view and activities offered.
Cons: Lack of payment options.
Location: The hotel is an hour and a half drive from Stone Town. There are 2 restaurants nearby. The ocean water is crystal clear and beaches are clean & white!
The service was excellent and the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. There were no credit card nor cash-withdrawal facilities. The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and exquisitely clean - some hooks to hang towels/clothes and a door stop for the room door would have been useful. No ash trays were provided for the smoking rooms. Regular power cuts needed some getting used to. There were not many tourists and the peace and quiet met our needs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
Weird staff. Shabby hotel. Would definitely not recommend this place to anyone. Felt uncomfortable during entire stay. Staff needs training.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dubai, UAE

The Mids of No-where

Posted Sep 26, 2011
After arriving to Zanzibar (make sure you have your yellow fever vaccination record on you) I got on a taxi for over an hour long journey to Kizimkazi beach. It is located down south from Stone town in rural areas. The Kizimkazi village has max 1000 inhabitants and it is a very simple living. There is one small nursery, school and besides Dolphin lodge, another two small hotels. No tourists around. Kizi Dolphin is a nice small and very well maintained house. The room has its own bathroom with flushing toilet and no water flow disruptions. Spacious and little harder bed with mosquito nets feels almost princessy and I personally recovered my huge sleep deficit during my two nights there. Everything is spotlessly clean. Staff is very friendly and you can expect anything but anonymous atmosphere of big hotels. It feels more like coming to stay in friends family house. There is a descent meal menu, breakfast full of fresh sweet fruits and juices... heaven. Downturn are the occasional power outages, especially in the evening. Location is great, right by the beach, but you have to reach the strip where fishermen dock their boats. Owner of the place also organizes trips tao snorkel with dolphins in open sea, trip to Stone town or romantic dinner on sand banks for couples. It was not a matter of luxury and spoiling in its five star meaning. Zanzibar is still developing and life in the rural areas is very simple. People though are extremely friendly and security was no issue.