Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by DWBAKER from London

Great Location

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic Location. West Coast of Zanzibar, you can see dolphins and enjoy Sundowners in the infinity pools which sit on top of the coral reef. The Staff were very friendly and attentive. BUT the hotel is old, tired and rundown. the Pools were not clean, the food was awful, and the fan in our room squeaked all night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014
2 out of 5
by Robert from Dubai

Great location.

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Nice relaxing atmosphere.
Cons: Room facilities were not in great shape with broken toilet seat, leaking drain on the sink. Room was cleaned once in 3 days. Not good value.
The food was disappointing. When the dinner was buffet style there was too little choice with too little food of certain kinds. The à la carte selection was pretty good when it was available but the buffet was offered too often.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PJ from Riyadh

Quite week for family

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Pros: Ability to snorkel right from hotel. Located next to a village that it is possible to visit. not a standard international resort but an atmosphere
Cons: After a week menu becomes quite limited if full board.l Half board might be a good option.
Location: Blue safari, swimming with dolphin, visit the village, spice tour, visit stone town
We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel nested next to a fishing village. We happennned to be there in a low period which made it even more pleasant. The facilities were always clean and staff was friendly. It is clear that a 5* is not to be expected but for those wanting a simple relaxing place this excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Bill C.

better than advertised

Posted Jan 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
This resort is a treasure; it's off the beaten path (though well-marked and easy to locate if you're looking for it), and the 3.5 rating it's achieved on this site made me a bit wary of what we might find upon arrival. Hakune metate, no worries, my friend. This is such a tropical paradise, it borders on cliche. Thatched cottages with verandas facing the ocean make for truly spectacular sunsets. The entire resort is situated on a coral cliff about 8-10 feet above the water; no beach during high tide, but long tidal flats at low tide. There are two piers, each featuring a catwalk out to a sizeable covered pavilion/gazebo with stairs that provide access to beach during low tide, pick-up and drop-off for boating excursions, or simply access to wade in and start swimming/snorkeling just steps from your front door. In the still heat of the day, sitting or lounging on these pavilions is the ideal spot to catch the breezes. Restaurant is perfectly fine; I'd recommend signing on for full board, since it's pretty inexpensive and there aren't really any other options close by in any event. Vincent and his staff were very attentive and always helpful. The activities coordinators are very capable and reasonably priced. Even the laundry service here is a bargain. Our stay was top-notch in every way, and I can unreservedly recommend L'Oasis -- just don't tell EVERYONE, Ok?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by DB from New York, NY, USA

Good quiet place to relax

Posted Dec 31, 2012
Pros: Great staff. Access to the sea. Good accommodation.
Cons: A bit too expensive. Pay cash in shillings or face the ridiculous exchange rates and credit card tax.
If you don't expect "luxury" accommodation (i.e. A/C everywhere, fridge in your room, full breakfast buffet and food anytime) but still a good hotel in a quiet and beautiful environment, that place is for you. After all, if you chose southern Zanzibar you should know what to expect. Great staff, nice clean room, great sea view, small swimming pool(s) a nice touch, decent food. A bit of an isolated place but it's part of its charm and still some activities available (dolphins, snorkeling, scuba diving, etc.) No beach per se (coral cliffs rather) but easy access to the ocean if you want to swim and snorkel (and you should, the sea life is really good if you like to explore a bit). Overall rating 3 only because a tad too expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

great hotel great staff great location

Posted Dec 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
L'oasis is a little paradise in the South of Zanzibar, it is very peaceful. The pools are wonderful especially if you have kids. The food is fresh and tasty. The staff are super friendly... all except for a man allowed by the hotel to promote his activities ( Spice tour, Boat trips...) He is very expensive, quite pushy and his boats are not safe. You are better to see with the villagers some have safer boats and will charge only half of his price. We highly recommend L'Oasis - we went to other hotels in the island and this one was by far the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Fia

Posted Dec 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotels location is amazing for relaxing. It's possible to go on excurtions to se dolphins among other things. The swimming in the ocean is depending on the tide water, but when it's low tide you can walk on the "beach" and collect seashells. The food was AMAZING and not to expensive! Over all it's a good place for a relaxing vacation with family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bojan from Serbia

Very,very good hotel!

Posted Nov 16, 2012
Excellent and very nice hotel,with very friendly staff!