Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

Helpful Staff

Posted May 24, 2015
Had a great stay. Staff were helpful about dining choices as well as things to do when asked. Room and hotel was what as expected and a little more. Breakfast was very much on the "continental" side
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night stop

Posted May 17, 2015
Older facility. Mattress was terrible. Funny smell in room and hallways Breakfast was ok but had to ask for trays to be refilled and waitress wasn't helpful. Hostess was friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2015 by Denise, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am sorry your stay was not a pleasant one. Your comments will be posted for all to see to make improvements. I appreciate you mentioning our friendliness.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing experience

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Cons: Do whatever is necessary to clear the public areas of cigarette smoke. This is in no way acceptable to no-smoking travelers.
The room was clean and comfortable until the toilet seat broke and housekeeping skipped us that day. We were given another room, which meant moving all our photographic gear and luggage. The overriding issue was that although we had non-smoking rooms, we had to go through the lobby and halls, which reeked of stale cigarette smoke. I would not go back. When we arrived, the hotel was holding a smoking room for us, as requested by Expedia. However, we had signed up for a non-smoking room when we made the reservation through Expedia. The desk clerk said this is a common occurrence. We were able to switch to non-smoking because the hotel was not busy. In other seasons, it would have been ugly because I would not accept a smoking room. This is my last reservation through Expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Denise FD Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. I apologize for the Housekeeping error. I am glad to hear your room was clean and comfortable, and the Front Desk Associate responded immediately by giving you another room. I want to let you know our motel will be completely non smoking when our scheduled remodeling project is completed. I hope this changes your mind and you stay with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bobbyfrom Wheatland

thanksgiving

Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was OK.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2015 by Denise FD Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a thumbs up!
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom corning,ca

Decent hotel.

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: The breakfasts and the fact the maid doesn't just walk into your room and asks if you want service if you are staying multiple days.
Cons: Internet service and cleanliness.
Location: It is north of Klamath so it is a drive back into the main part of town, but there is a movie theater nearby.
It is not a bad place to stay. Our room had a lid from a yogurt container under the bed. Makes me wonder how long it had been there. The Internet went out and due to not paying the bill for tech support when we complained the night clerk was rude. That was really not appreciated. I'm thinking a new place to stay is in order.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Denise FD Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. Housekeeping will be reminded on the importance of being thorough. I apologize for you not being able to use the Internet. It is so important when traveling to stay connected. The Front Desk staff will be counseled regarding how our guests should be treated. We are scheduled for remodeling. I hope you stay again to see the changes.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by James Dfrom Surrey, BC

One of the worse hotels I have ever stayed in

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was an embarrassment to the Super 8 chain. The hallway carpets are old, worn and stained, the room carpet wasn't much better. The mattress had seen better days and was lumpy and very uncomfortable. Even though the hotel was less than half full the breakfast service was out of supplies by 7:00 (had only opened at 6:30) Had reserved in advance a non smoking room but when I got there they tried to put me in a smoking room. When I complained they tried to explain that that was how they got the reservation. Clerk did err in admitting that they try to give out the smoking rooms first to save the non smoking rooms for late drop ins.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2015 by Denise FD Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know where we can improve. Please feel free to let the Front Desk know if breakfast items need restocked. The Breakfast Room isn't easily seen from the Front Desk. Many reservations enter our system smoking. If a non is available, we will accommodate. I have spoken to the Front Desk about this. Our motel scheduled for a remodeling project. Next time you come to Klamath Falls, drop by. See the changes.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Tolerable, but sketchy

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Typical budget hotel, but right next to a truck stop and away from town. Sketchy characters in and out at all hours; noisy hallway on the second floor; no elevator to heft heavy luggage to 2nd and 3rd floors. TV worked and was good. Shower okay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Denise FD Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the truck noise. Please contact the Front Desk with any concerns you have . They will be addressed immediately. I am sorry we do not have elevators. I am glad you liked the tv and the shower.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Improving......

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was great after a day on the road. Room was quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was rather disappointing, but better than most inexpensive motels in the area. Nice front desk clerk who really cleaned up her act and finally put me in a NON-smoking room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2015 by Denise FD Supervisor, Hotel Management
I am happy to hear you were comfortable. We are in compliance with Brand Standards regarding our breakfast, but I am sorry you were disappointed. After our remodeling, we will have only non smoking rooms. Thank you for commenting on your stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was a stop for the night to sleep, and then continue on to our destination. Our room was clean, and the breakfast was very good, however, the hotel halls smelled strongly of cigarette smoke.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Room was clean and bed was good.
Cons: I love my coffee in the morn. When that does not work out, it casts a long dark shadow.
Location: That worked out just fine, everything I needed close by.
I would suggest clean the equipment in the room(coffee pot) and make sure all the parts to it are there.