Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

Quick getaway

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Close to the river and the riverwalk.
Location: Tennessee river, River walk, Downtown Knoxville.
This hotel was right next to the river and easy to get to. It was close to the river walk and a few resteraunts.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Hotel is close to the UT campus but needs to be updated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TN

Visit

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness Decor
Cons: Food Atmosphere Rooms not very comfortable for 2 people
Location: Downtown area, too busy to travel any distance comfortably, especially when you don't know the area.
the hotel offers very little in the way of food, and drinks. Prices are too high in the restaurants and absolutely no appeal to the restaurant, especially for evening dinner. No Coke, only Pepsi products. Machines are not readily accessible if you are on the opposite end of the hall. Cold feeling, and temperature wise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, and I'm sorry to hear you weren't pleased with your stay! Guest satisfaction is our top priority, and please feel free to contact us directly to discuss any issues you experienced. Thank you again for staying with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pat from Port Allen, La.

Best Hotel in a week on the road.

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were on the road a week and your hotel was the best of the lot. Stayed two nights! Will be back! Pat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Katie from Charlotte, NC

Overnight business stay

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: I loved the comfortable King Sized bed. Great sheets, pillow, quiet room even near the soda machine.
Cons: I did not ask for a handicap accessible bathroom so that was a bit strange but fine nonetheless. Older smell to the facility, maybe from smoking.
Location: Knoxville is a very easy town to get around in with stress free highways and drivers who drive within the speed limit.
This hotel is an older atrium style hotel in the downtown Knoxville area. I like Marriott brand hotels and would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by jake

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Holly from New Jersey

Beautiful lobby, the staff was very accommodating.

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: I enjoyed the accommodations. i.e. bed linens, clean bathrooms well decorated overall.
Cons: We had to use Taxi's to get around, and the taxi service that the Hotel uses, Sunshine Cabs, was horrendous. The cabs were dirty and reeked of smoke.
Location: The location is pretty good, near the campus of UT.
Stayed for 3 days for graduation weekend. The room was nicely decorated. Bathroom was pretty with granite counter tops. Bed linens were lovely. Restaurant food was fair.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jane from Vermont

Throwback in time!

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel fell far short of our expectations for a Marriott hotel. It was a very large hotel right next door to the convention center. It seriously looked like something out of the early 70's. The room itself was clean enough - at least the bedding was fresh and clean but the furniture was scratched and the door to the armoire was hanging off the hinges and didn't close. The bathroom was a hoot - with a corner toilet that jutted out into the room . Just crazy. We arrived at 8 pm and had dinner in the bar/ dining room which was cold and uninviting. Food passable. If Marriott can't fund the money to fix this place up then they ought to get rid of it. It tarnishes the Marriott image which, up until now, I thought was very favorable. Sorry to be so negative. I have had many wonderful stays at other Marriot hotels .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Cons: Although clean, the hotel seemed a little "old".
Location: Everything else was great!
The staff was phenomenal. The hotel was nice and clean. The beds were super comfy, and the view was view. Did I say the staff was phenomenal!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointed

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Every staff member I passed made me feel recognized and genuinely happy to have me their.
Location: Market Square in Downtown Knoxville is a lot of fun. I especially enjoy the Farmer's Market that runs from Spring-Fall.
My mom worked as a Food and Beverage Director for Marriott when I was growing up. I have this association with the Marriott as being a high standard hotel. However, my recent stay seemed no different than staying at a lower quality hotel. The staff was the defining difference, but the room left a lot to be desired. It wasn't dirty, it just didn't feel special.