Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frank from Chicago

Great hotel to stay at

Posted Aug 26, 2012
Pros: Location and room
Cons: No restaurant
Hotel is nicely located and staff could not have been nicer. Room was very comfortable. Being near Market Square is a real plus for a number of reasons. Hotel currently doesn't have a restaurant so proximately to Market Square with its restaurants is a real convenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Denise from Maryland

Boutique hotel.

Posted Aug 20, 2012
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Bathroom lighting.
Location: Excellent...convenient to the square. No car necessary for just an overnight stay.
Hospitality could not have been any better. Room was a little tight, rooftop view not so charming, bathroom lighting was terrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mieko from Maryland

Loverly boutique hotel in downtown

Posted Aug 6, 2012
Pros: I just love art deco, boutique hotel where locates in downtown. Many restaurants are in all walking distance.
Cons: A/C thermostat makes noise when it kicks in, the sound of door locks a kind of loud middle of night
I just love this lovely boutique hotel. It is located in center of downtown, everything in walking distance. The staff are all fantastic. Kevin offered to help carry my luggage when I called them for direction from parking lot to the hotel. AJ helped me to fix my disabled keys right away. They were all friendly. The room is decorated nicely and clean. The only few issues I had - bathroom light was not bright enough for me to make up, thermostat makes loud noise when it kicks in, the door makes loud "click" sound when other guests come back. Other than that, it is a wonderful hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Terrific location

Posted Jul 30, 2012
While we have stayed in better hotels - not necessarily the best around! - we all agreed we would definitely repeat our visit. The staff were most pleasant; the atmosphere was charming; the suite was very workable; the location couldn't be beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
A great place to stay....the only thing I would have liked is better lighting in bathrooms. The staff was great and could not thank AJ, Kevin and Michelle enought for all being there when we needed something. Parking was wonderful with the help of Kevin and Michelle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by NCKiwi

Great Place to Stay in Downtown Knoxville

Posted Jul 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a very nice old hotel. The rooms are large and well cared for. The shower was really nice, big, walk-in, plenty of fluids! The hotel is right on Market Square, with good restaurants and street life. I like Tomato Head for dinner, and Pete's for Breakfast. We payed for valet parked which was a must due to the Farmers Market in the square Saturday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann from Roanoke, VA, USA

We will be back!

Posted Jul 5, 2012
Pros: Location, spacious rooms, decor and Peter Kern Library bar.
Cons: Some street noise -- a good deal of construction nearby.
Location: Very convenient to Market Square.
We stayed at the Oliver on a whim instead of the usual roadside hotels we stay at in Knoxville. Boy, are we glad we did. We will definitely return -- in fact, we did just that on the way back home. It is a charming, boutique hotel. We had a king suite with 2 children, and it was perfectly comfortable for the 4 of us. The hotel is a convenient stone's throw from the restaurants and shops on Market Square, so the location could not have been better. We thoroughly enjoyed the Peter Kern library bar. A perfect cool spot on a sweltering day, and the cocktails are some of the best I have had anywhere. Definitely check it out if you are there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Ruston, LA 71270, USA

Pleasant surprise!

Posted Jul 4, 2012
Pros: The hotel bar.
Cons: No negatives
Location: Park and you're done. You can walk for anything you may need.
The staff were extremely nice and eager to help us in any way. The hotel has a unique blend of traditional and contemporary furnishings. The hotel bar inspires conversation and relaxation after a long trip. Restaurants and bars in walking distance. You can't go wrong with The Oliver.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Patricia

A Pleasant Surprise

Posted Jun 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Olliver Hotel 2 nights during orientation at UT. I read reviews knowing that everyone can have a different opinion on the same thing. We were very pleased with our choice of the Oliver. I liked the boutique-y feel - the period decor, the convenience of valet parking and closeness to all the restaurants at Market Square. It was very convenient to the University (a short drive). The room had everything we wanted and needed. We definitely would book again and would recommend.