Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great Hotel with excellent staff

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Club rooms are perfect
Cons: The cooked buffet breakfast lacked a little in quality.
After finding it slightly difficult to enter the hotel from the main road I was then delighted with the quality of everything. My club room was fantastic - contemporary, chic and spotless. The staff are great and bar some bizarrely salted scrambled eggs at the buffet breakfast, the food was excellent. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ealing, London

Welcome break in a delightful setting

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: The staff were the most excellent part of our stay. They were really superb at every level. Well done to all!
Cons: I can't think of a single thing that I would want to improve.
Location: We were staying at The Mere to attend a relative's wedding. If we had more free time I think we would have tried to take in the gardens at Tatton.
Our stay at The Mere was 'superb' in one word. We were greeted on arrival and were made to feel special every step of the way. Reception were attentive and polite and ensured that our check-in was smooth. Brown's restaurant staff at breakfast and in the evening when we enjoyed our evening meal were excellent in every way. Particularly impressive was the fact that everyone seemed to get involved despite their position in hierarchy. Standards were very high and it was obvious that all staff were working towards that goal constantly. The leisure complex was equally superb. High standards, friendly and discreet staff every step of my visit. I used the facilities twice during my stay. Each time the service was faultless and of a very high standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Pool and spa stay

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Clean quiet.
Cons: Please fix grill at main door. I caught my heel and lifted the whole thing out. Not good as I was hobbling anyway. Reception staff had to put it back.
I booked a visit to use the pool and spa while recovering from a back issue. The pool is easy access and the heated lounger was greatly used by myself. Be warned the sauna is quite possibly the hottest ever known to man. I went on a Thursday with my sister and can say the pool area was busy at 3pm but by the time we left at 7pm was almost empty. I could imagine at weekends loungers would be an issue but the facilities are great and being purpose built better than many other hotels. My sister did feel the signage could be more obvious but I had no issues. Food was good and breakfast was all anyone could need or eat
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cheshire

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Luxury hotel but staff do let the hotel down. On arrival only one receptionist booking in guests at 6pm. Breakfast staff - not attentive. Ordered poached eggs and they were brought straight away whilst we ate our cereal - therefore cold when we came to eat them. Also we had to clear our own dishes to another table. Cooked breakfast was self serve but sadly cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom b

Great treat night

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Fab room very friendly staff polite and professinal Relaxing health facilities Breakfast of kings fresh and good quality Would definitely stay again
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Dissapointing

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: Tatton park and Knutsford vey good for restaurants and high end shopping
We booked this hotel expecting a 5 star experience and sadly it was very dissapointing. They took every opportunity to add on extras such as a £5 "tray charge" for ordering room service; and putting soft toy in the room for your chils...at a cost of £25!! The service was slow and the bed gave us backache. The pool facillities are not attached to the hotel but across a car park. The pool itself was very good. Not family friendly. Definitely not a 5 star!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Spa Facilities & Great Food

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Spa facilities are varied. Food value for money. Rooms cosy but modern.
Cons: Breakfast staff were disorganised and inattentive - largely self service, but staff slow to clear plates, refill coffee, attend to special requests.
Location: Would make an excellent pre flight hotel as Manchester Airport is 20 mins max....only you won't want to leave !
Lovely room, though we didn't have a bath/shower combi this visit, just a walk in shower (be sure to request one if this is important to you). Welcoming staff and lovely meal at Browns. Spa facilities are excellent - there are so many different spa experiences (free) at the pool - better than most luxury cruise liners ! This is our third visit in 12 months - speaks for itself !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Anniversary

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
nice bedroom Common parts dated Staff lovely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
Amazing hotel, friendly staff and extremely clean. Facilities are fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels.com