Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by James from Canada

The hotel was a 3 dressed up as a 9.

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: It was quiet and peaceful.
Cons: Lower the prices for drinks and make the hotel restaurant more Asian not so Western.
Location: Rent a scooter and explore Island.
The hotel overall was OK but the food and drinks were overpriced. We left the hotel for food as much as possible. The scooter rental was good, it gave us a chance to explore the Island as the beach in front of the hotel was not for swimming.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Molly from Minneapolis

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was very excited to go to Koh Yao Yai after reading other reviews and looking at the beautiful pictures. Unfortunately, I was disappointed by a few things: The hotel is very secluded, which is great if you just want a quiet getaway for relaxation but doesn't allow the authentic Thai experience, in my opinion. We paid a small fortune for one of the island trips, which was okay but way overpriced compared to other day excursions we could have done through other vendors. The food was fine, nothing great. I would have liked the flexibility to eat elsewhere, but based on the location it wouldn't have been very feasible. The pool was really nice, but the beach wasn't very suitable for swimming. Overall, it was completely adequate, but not what we were looking for on our Thai vacation. f you're looking for a western-style resort amidst beautiful scenery, this place is great. If you want a beach, great Thai food, local flavor, and reasonable day trips - look elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sasha from London

Lovely resort

Posted Dec 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The bungalows at Koh Yao Yai village are lovely. We had a seafront one with a separate living are, bedroom, kitchenette and bathroom. The kitchenette and bathroom are quite "open", allowing geckos to walk in (and out) freely. They provide mosquitoes tablets for the night which seemed to be working as we had no mosquito problems. During our short stay there were some works to improve the beach and the bar area so those should look brand new for the high season. Koh Yao Yai island is lovely. There is a restaurant further along the beach (to the left, facing the sea), 10 mins walk away if one has enough of the resort food (or is looking for cheaper prices). Staff were all lovely and welcoming, trying to accommodate special requests (e.g. vegetarian food not on the menu). Loved the infinity pool as well as the seemingly endless beach. Would definitely return for a longer stay to explore the island a bit more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Isabelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maria from London

Wonderful experience!

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice resort! Surrounded by forest on the sea shore in spacious bungalow you feel very special and close to nature. Huge territory , amazing pool, all you need facilities. Restaurant with delicious food! Best thai massage (slightly expensive - but worth it!!!) . The only thing is that the water is very shallow and not clear - so guests use swimming pool instead. However you can always go to nearby islands and enjoy a clear see ! Highly recommend !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alp from Istanbul

Excellent

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel for honeymoon or romantic gateway.
3 out of 5
by Dmitry from Moscow, Russia

Nice resort without beach

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: Expedia
Cons: river should definitely be moved out of the the hotel, or hotel should be moved
Be aware hotel doesn't have any beach at all. You can't swim in the sea, only in the pool. Also hotel has very bad wifi connectivity. There is no restaurant in the area, so you will have breakfast, lunch and dinner in the same place. The restaurant is little bit overpriced comparing to another places in Thailand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Audy from Singapore

Must Visit - Rated 4.5

Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Positives; 1. The Resort - Beautiful, Well maintained, Luxurious 2. Bungalows - Clean, Comfortable & Cozy, Price Worthy 3. Staff & Service - Excellent, Hospitable & Friendly 4. Spa - Wide Array of Services, Reasonable Prices(with the 1+1 discount) 5. Restaurant - Elaborate Menu, Reasonable Prices Drawbacks; 1. Full Drop/Pick Up Service - Not worth the 1000 THB per person (Was piled on to a boat with locals with no place to sit and put our luggage) 2. Local Pier Drop/Pick Up Service - Should have been free (100THB charged, though your visiting/leaving their resort specifically on this island) 3. The Island - Not much activity in the island, outside the resort 4. Motorbike/Bicycle Rental - Over priced 5. Special Table Booking (by the sea) - Limited to One per day (Book before arrival to ensure you get it!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kristin from USA

Amazing hotel!

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful time at Koh Yao Yai Village. I would highly recommend the beach view villa. It is worth the few extra dollars for sure. One thing to know is that you have to be in Phuket by the afternoon in order to make it to Koh Yao Yai. Our plane got in to Phuket at 7 and we were not able to make it to the island until the next day. It was pretty disappointing. We weren't upset for too long though, because once we got to the island, we had a wonderful time. Make sure to check out the spa and the pool bar happy hour!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Dorset UK

Ideal Thailand holiday

Posted Mar 8, 2013
Pros: The room; the pool , the excursions
Cons: none.
Location: On an island off the east coast of Phuket. Individual chalet style rooms in a jungle setting.
From the mment we were met at the Ferry terminal to be taken to the island till the time we were transported to Puhket airport , we were looked after superbly. The rooms were large and had a private veranda. The bathrooms were huge with an appropriately large shower. The beach near the hotelwas sandy and very flat, ideal for a walk when the tide was out.Views from the hotel were excellent, as was the food. We took 2 day trips out to the islands. Although a bit on the expensive side, we were looked after at all times but a very pleasant english speaking Thai guide. The main swimming pool (there were 2) was very clean and also very large. Overall, we had a superb time and would recommend this hotel to anyone.