Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Crazy check in time

Posted Jul 8, 2013
The only crazy thing was check in time. We arrived at 2PM and they said we have to wait untill 4PM while they took our luggage into the room!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good for business travellers

Posted May 28, 2013
Pros: great breakfast
Cons: no access to the swimming pool
Location: close to convention centre, but not near the hustle and bustle of Downtown Kobe
This hotel is really clean and we were well looked after, I would recommend this to business travellers only, as the close proximity to the convention centre is it's main attraction. You have to pay a fee for use of the swimming pool, which I think it extortionate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommend highly

Posted May 11, 2013
Excellent hotel with quality service . No complaints at all . Has set the standard for future trips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Wouter from The Netherlands

Good hotel but everything inside has a pricetag.

Posted Apr 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall good hotel, view was stunning (21floor, facing port) and the room was spacious and pretty clean. I asked to skip breakfast and get lunch instead which was possible (you get a ¥2000 coupon to spend in one of the three eligible restaurants), I went to 'Soco' (2F) and had a brilliant lunch. Downside of this hotel is, in my opinion, that you have to get out your card for everything in this hotel, except the shuttle bus. I wanted to work out in the gym before going on my flight back home but the price of ¥3150 (€25) for entry is just outrageous. I have stayed at hotels half the price with a bigger gymnasium which where free for registered guest. Instead the gym, maybe hit the pool? Entry fee ¥2100! (€16). I think that doesn't fit the image of a luxury hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Businesstravler from Walnut Creek, CA

Convenient in Kobe

Posted Apr 8, 2013
Pros: Included breakfast buffet with great view and convenient location to train.
Cons: Outrageous price for use of gym and pool
Location: Convenient because of it's proximity to train. Train or shuttle to Sanomiya to eat or shop. Airport bag claim to hotel desk -15 minutes for 240 yen.
The Portopia is nicer than most Japanese hotels. The rooms are of sufficient size; larger than the typical Japanese hotel. Tea in the room is complimentary; however coffee is 350 yen. The Gym and pool are good; this hotel charges for use of each separately - so to use both will set you back 2,000 too 3,000 yen depending on the time of day; the hotel has complimentary shuttle to the Sanomiya train station and is also attached by elevated covered walkway to the train station; this is convenient as it is three stops on the train (8 minutes) to the Kobe airport and ferry that goes directly to the Osaka Kansai airport. The prices of food and drinks in the hotel are the typical high price. They have a very nice breakfast buffet on one of the top floors that offers fabulous views - in the evening you can have drinks there and enjoy the view. The staff is friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lisa from Korea

Lovely hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very convenient - from landing in Osaka Kansai, I was able to get the high-speed ferry and Port Line straight to the hotel. The Club Lounge and my room had gorgeous views and was very comfortable. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. My only regret was that I couldn't stay longer!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from SINGAPORE

Posted Mar 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
DISAPPOINTED AS WE NEED TO PAY FOR THE GYM AND POOL WHICH IS RATHER ABSURD.IN MY MANY YEARS OF TRAVEL AROUND THE WORLD THIS IS AMONG THE VERY FEW HOTEL THAT MAY THE GUEST PAY FOR THE USAGE OF THE GYM AND POOL.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by B.J. from Singapore

Very good internation standard hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2013
Pros: The room
Cons: View of my room to the sea was partially blocked by tall building
Location: Far from Sanomiya but hotel provides free bus shuttle. Or you can take the local train service connecting hotel to Sanomiya station.
The front desk staff told me Portapia has been around for some years already. The recent makeover of the hotel makes it looks new and modern hotel of international standard. I liked the double room with the king sized bed. Room was larger than I expected for the room rate charged. Lots of mirror in the room. It was the first time that I could see myself taking a shower! Bathroom was bright and very big for Japanese hotel standard. The hotel location is far from the main F&B belt of Kobe, like Sanomiya. However, the hotel provided free bus shuttle service every 20 minutes. I took the bus from Shin-Kobe station and it arrived hotel in about 20 minutes. I woud recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a visit to Kobe.