Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Cosy Resort

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Ambiance
Cons: swimming on the beach
Location: location is perfect for a quiet getaway. Close by to most sites and amenities.
Situated in a convenient area between main town and Fisherman's Village. Resort is lovely with very good staff and very nice rooms. Beach is the only drawback as it's too rocky for swimming, however there are 2 great pools and also villa private pools.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great honeymoon destination!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The hotel is quiet and clean with friendly, helpful staff.
Location: Choeng Mon is a 10 minute walk away and Chaweng 10 minutes by car. We loved Fisherman's Village for choice of good, reasonably priced restaurants.
Beautiful hotel in a quiet bay between Choeng Mon & Chaweng. The staff were all very friendly and the rooms and grounds were spotlessly clean. We loved our Spa Experience and dinner at Ochos steakhouse was fantastic. We used the free shuttle to Chaweng and used the hotel transport to go to Fishermans Village & a return trip to the airport. Yes this is more expensive than using local taxi's but it's the same for all hotels. It was easy to get a taxi if preferred. There were a couple of minor things- the decking area of our pool villa was needing some maintenance and the service in the restaurant during the middle of our stay was not always as efficient as we would have liked. However, this improved over the course of our honeymoon and we were happy with the service when we left. Thank you to all the staff who looked after us. We would love to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel with privacy

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Restaurant food was superb and bar staff very obliging.
Cons: The electric box of wires was exposed on the side of our pool and it did not work (just as well!) but this was immediately repaired.
Location: Coarse sand on beach but a lovely quiet bay with great snorkelling to the left by the far rocks accessed using their kayaks.
Staff could not be more helpful. Rooms very private with decking and plunge pool. The walk in shower and bathroom were very spacious but the concrete walls could do with brightening up with white paint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by hthacker from London

Wonderful hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Would really recommend this hotel for a relaxing break. The rooms are very comfortable, the included breakfast is amazing and the staff couldn't be friendlier. Occasionally there were a few communication difficulties with some of the staff, but everyone was very keen to give great service. The hotel is not in a built-up area and is very peaceful as a result. I would really recommend hiring a car through the hotel, you can probably find much cheaper deals around, but it is very convenient getting your car dropped straight to the hotel within 10 minutes of ordering and they were flexible with where we dropped the car off. We only wish that we had booked at Akaryn for even longer. The hotel was very clean and had a nice spa (with some complimentary classes each week - yoga/pilates/aqua aerobics). The beach has rocks on either side, but it's great to be able to walk down to on a warm day to cool off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg

Very nice, but very expensive food

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Swimming pools
Cons: The food was expensive, for the price of two cuppacinos, you can enjoy a meal for two in town.
Location: Chaweng night life, fishermans village
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel, the staff was very friendly, but struggled to speak english. This was not a problem except at breakfast. This impacted the serving time. The breakfast variety was very impressive. The " what to expect" pics on the website shows a lady relaxing in a bathtub when looking at the pool suites. The pool suites do not have bathtubs. Thanks for a good relaxing experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recharging Trip - some bumps.

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: The pool villa
Cons: Clean up the adjacent beach. Trash and empty viles made our walk along the beach a cautionary experience. Better Thai food; food in general.
Location: Rent a scooter. Taxis are outrageously overpriced. Not much you would want to walk to in the heat, though nicely placed between great locations.
It was a revitalizing trip. Upon arrival, we were caught slightly off guard as our view was some shrubbery obstructing, slightly, the walkway to/from reception/everything else (though some could reach their rooms via a different route). Expedias photographs are excellent, though slightly misleading. Although, we did spend most of the time in the room with pool and had a great time. That aside, we had a great time when we were at the resort. The staff was helpful and happy. We had a late flight and were somewhat dreading not being able to checkout later than 2pm, but akyran offered us their spa shower to get cleaned up before our flight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rob from Perth, Australia

Nice boutique hotel, ideal for couples of all ages

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: The rooms, breakfast, pools and staff.
Cons: The southern end of the beach was untidy and needed rubbish cleared. Probably not their beach or responsibility as such but something should be done.
Location: Chaweng Beach had good night life and shopping. Fishermans Market on the Friday night is also well worth while. Great golf course!!
Great hotel suited to couples I would think rather than a family. Staff where very friendly and helpful when needed. The fitness centre was very small which in its self wasn't a problem but the equipment was poorly maintained and only the cardio equipment could be used. The only other real complaint would be the beach, I did exspect it to be a bit rocky given the reviews I had read and it was "very" rocky indeed. No big problem just don't exspect to put your feet on the bottom and by no means a beach for kids. The far end of the beach was very untidy, not in front of the hotel at all but I think an effort should be made to clear the rubbish etc off the beach. Granted most of the rubbish has been washed up but even still I think it could be done. Some rooms were not that private around there pool area but over time as the shrubs grow I'm sure they will be great. Our room was fantastic with its sea views and I would request this room again should we stay again. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Clesio from Tokyo, Japan

Nice little hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Good service, location, small.
Cons: Cleanness could be improved
Location: Near to downtown Chewang with many restaurants and shopping. Also close to the Big Buda and Fisherman's Village, nice night market on Fridays
Nice hotel with excellent staff. Location is great with a private beach. Since the hotel is small, you never feel that it's overcrowded and you can experience a more personnal service. Each room has its own jacuzzi outside and the villas have their own swimming pool. Maybe tha's the reason why it's never overcrowded by the beach. Two restaurants offer good options for food. The breakfast though, is too repetitive. Great menu for lunch and dinner. We were there over Christmas. Our mistake was staying for the Christmas dinner... Food was terrible and overpriced. The hotel is close to Chewang with easy access via taxi or hotel shuttle. If you are looking for a calm place to stay with a relaxing atmosphere in Koh Samui, this is the place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sam from Abu Dhabi, UAE

Great and unforgettable experience...

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Pros: From A to Z, there wan nothing to dislike...
Cons: They are doing a great job, just keep it up
Location: Small island, but Akaryn was very close by to do everything
We celebrated our 24th Anniversary in Koh Samui and Akaryn Resort was the perfect match and it was all of what we expected and more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful setting, close to sandy beach

Posted Oct 11, 2013
The room was awesome. The private Jacuzzi was a big plus. The view of the sea from the room was breathtaking. the personnel (reception, house keeping, and waiters) were all smiling, helpful and pleasant. the food was exquisite. We had great time. We might come back.