Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from Canada

Nice place, quiet nights

Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wicked food, a little pricey but worth it. Free shuttle in to lamai three times a day, super friendly staff. 7/11 and family mart just down the street ( for cheap booze and drinks/ snacks). Nice big pool, private beach, ample loungers . Rooms are good size. I booked a villa but next time I would just get a hotel room( bigger bed) believe it or not. Free buffet breakfast ;)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Nathakan Thongsuk, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, thank you for spending your valuable time review our beach hotel on expedia. It's been a pleasure to know that you were having a wonderful time at Fenix Beach Resort. I'm looking forward to welcome you again soon. Next time if you would like to choose room on the building because of bigger bed, please go for Superior Sea View. It's also come with a panorama sea view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice friendly staff but pool needs serious

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Close to beach staff can't do enough for you , but pool needs re- tiling as daughter cut her feet nearly everyday
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2014 by Nathakan Thongsuk, Hotel Management
Dear valued guests, thank you for staying at Fenix Beach Resort Samui and your valuable time reviewing our resort on expedia. I do apologize for a poor condition of our swimming pool The management does take this problem serious and it's already scheduled for renovation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CZ from los angeles

Great rooms, great view, traffic noise isn't ideal

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Beautiful beach view and nice pool. No hot tub. Small but efficient gym. The food was just okay but they have a 2 for 1 happy hour at the bar daily, so that helps! Everything is so cheap it's hard to complain! Staff was friendly, room was perfect. You can hear the street traffic though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from Hong Kong

Good overall hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2013
We chose the hotel primarily because it had a good sized pool and was not too expensive (we were only there for a weekend whilst attending a wedding elsewhere). The pool was a good size although I think it needs re-doing soon as some of the little tiles were coming off and the material around the edge was quite rough. There were also some sun-loungers looking out to sea which was nice. Our room had a good view of the sea. The hotel is a little out of Lammai, but it was very easy to get a taxi/tuk-tuk. There wasn't much of a choice for breakfast, although they did have someone cooking eggs which was good. Some members of staff didn't speak much English. For what we wanted, the hotel was good overall and I would consider staying there again for a similar type of trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from London, UK

Fantastic 1 Year anniversary

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Pros: The size of the bed was spectacular, i still wonder where they get bed lining to fit the large sized beds, and so comfortable.
Cons: The breakfast wasn't that great, the food was surrounded by flies & if you arrived late at the dinning area you will have a limited choice of food.
Location: Decent location, nice area limited things to do, but enough to keep you occupied.
Fantastic Hotel, my wife and i stayed here for our 1 year anniversary, and we thought it was amazing. The staff were very kind, nice and warm, also welcoming. on arrival since it was a special occasion they upgraded us to a see view room which was beautiful. There is a cinema night every Monday which comes with free popcorn, lol this made our stay extra special. we both throughly had a great experience at the Fenix hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor and expensive breakfast.

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: the bed
Cons: receptionist
Poor and very expensive breakfast. The reception, as a first impression was very weak. The receptionist seemed bothered by our presence and did not support us to find the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel, Good Location

Posted May 14, 2013
Booked this for our stay in Samui as this was one of our many stops in Thailand for our anniversary. Great location, with many shops, restaurant etc a few minutes down the road. Hotel is right on the beach, clean and very helpful staff. We were here for 5 nights and had a fantastic time. Recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alicia from Singapore

Fenix Villa Review

Posted May 10, 2013
Pros: Pool and beach bar food.
Cons: Air con temperature in the villa was not strong enough.
Location: Away from the crowded area hence may need more travelling time.
Went there for a stay for 4 days 3 nights. Beach bar food was good, morning breakfast at the restaurant was alright (western breakfast). The pool was great except that it could get crowded when there were more people. One of the hotel staff was quite stern, probably she could smile more to look more friendly. We stayed in the villa, only complaint was the air con was too hot though we fixed it to be the lowest temperature. Besides that, it was relaxing at the resort but the beach scene was ok view only. Location wise was away from the crowded area (chaweng) and we had to rent a car to travel around. When we did the checkout, the hotel staff told us that the beach bag was missing. The beach bag was not there in the first place! In the end, they did not request us to pay which I found quite impressing. Though I told them they could check our luggage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Glen L

Lovely hotel & great service

Posted Jun 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
Just returned from a trip to Hong Kong & Thailand, during which we stayed 5 nights at the Mercure Samui Fenix, to go to a wedding at nearby Rocky's Resort. The hotel was fabulous, lovely room overlooking the pool and beach, very large and comfortable bed, great bathroom and shower. The staff were always very friendly, and very helpful. The hotel is a bit of a drive to Lamai or Chewang if you want busier nightlife, but the hotel do a shuttle service and taxis or tuk tuks are inexpensive. Go for it, you won't regret it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Australia

Mercure Hotel Lamai Beach

Posted Mar 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel was ok with large light bright room with view over pool and sea. Pool and garden setting was great but the beach was poorly maintained ie washed up rubbish. Location was outside of Lamai by 5v minute scooter ride. Scooters for rent over the road.