Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the edge of shark bay

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: The gardens were beautiful. Pool was good
Cons: The hotel offers free shuttles too and from the main pier - it would be better if they offered a return shuttle to the hotel on an evening
Location: A little isolated and only one restaurant easily accessible - Eagle view which was very nice
Stayed at Jamahkiri for 7 nights. Paid extra and stayed in a deluxe pavilion which gave us 180 degrees sea views - very nice. The snorkelling from the hotel pier was very good and we saw lot lots of reef sharks. We went in the off season so the grill was closed which meant eating at night was limiting unless you went to town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful private abodes overlooking ocean bay

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Cons: The menu in the main restaurant was half western, half Thai cuisine whereas I would have preferred more local options.
Nothing quite summarises what a beautiful location Jamakhiri Resort is set in which has been impressively camouflaged under foliage on a hill side of a fantastic snorkelling bay. Given the huge amount of trees in and around staff are twice a day brushing leaves from paths [Even on Christmas day!], hosing down areas when they get sandy and generally making sure the resort looks as special as it can be. I would heartily recommend this resort - my only point to mention as a warning for any that aren't the fittest people in the world is that none of the other reviews quite cover the sheer steepness and effort that is required to actually get up some of the stepped areas. I am a 26 year old 13 stone male and found myself regularly out of breath by the time I got the restaurant. Me and my partner enjoyed the exhilaration of the exercise and with such great views to see from the restaurant and such great food it more than makes up for it - but please do beware that you may leave with sore knee's and ankles!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury on paradise

Posted Dec 7, 2013
It was quite quiet which was nice. Relatively pricey but worth the money. Happy hour from 5pm til 9pm was well worth it. With Awl and Soi behind the bar who were both great! Bit out of town but with shuttles, etc it wasn't a problem plus by the pool is a perfect sun trap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by jeppekani from praha

A bit boring spa on low season

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
The atmosphere and surroundings are good, the view from the room fantastic. Unfortunately pretty empty during low season and therefore many of the facilities were not available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by YI HU from CHINA

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
good,good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michelle

Incredible views!!

Posted Mar 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Jamahkiri was by far one of the best resorts we stayed at on our trip around Thailand!! The views from the resort were incredible!!! Upon arrival by ferry to Koh Tao we were surprised to find Jamahkiri staff were already waiting for us and had us down for a shuttle transfer (which was free!) to the resort (we hadn't organised this prior to our stay either!!). Staff were very friendly and helpful with any of our requests. Our spacious standard room was amazing, and well exceeded our expectations of what a standard room would include. The balcony directly overlooked the water and had views of the entire cove. Buffet breakfast had a great variety of food and the restaurants food was delicious!! The resort pool was amazing as well. As the resort is on a hill there were an incredible number of steps so it probably wouldn't be suitable for anyone with mobility issues but I'm sure the staff would work to accommodate this! The only thing we really didn't like was smoking being permitted in the restaurant and around the pool. We have no hesitation in recommending Jamahkiri to anyone and will definitely return here on our next trip to Thailand!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Scott from Sydney NSW, Australia

Great view

Posted Apr 30, 2012
Pros: The view and service! The pool bar staff were excellent.
Cons: The wifi wasn't working in the hotel wing during my stay, but at the restaurant and pool it was fine.
Amazing location, great staff. Beautiful villas, great rooms. There are LOTS of stairs, so factor that in. About 15-20 minute 4wd ride to town, but they are currently concreting the road, which will make the journey easier. The breakfast is excellent and dinner in the restaurant was equally good. Transfers to and from the ferry was hassle free.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by PA from Santiago, Chile

Not as good option as it should be

Posted Feb 9, 2012
Good hotel and excellent views. Clean, in good condition and upkeep. The staff is friendly and the manager very dilligent and supportive. Two relevant problems: no access to a real beach and the road to get to the hotel. Although it is very close to the village, it is quite hard to get there due to the very bad condition of the road. They definitely should improve the frequency of the free shuttle bus in and out to the local village that conects with the rest of the island. You have to take into account that a round trip to the village using a taxi will cost you USD 40, for a trip that does not take more than 12 minutes in a pick-up truck, but should take 5 minutes with a decent road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Jamahkiri Resort & Spa in Koh Tao

Posted Aug 22, 2011 on Hotels.com
My girlfriend and I loved this resort. The staff at the front desk and the marina were very helpful. The resort has breathtaking views and we loved going to the beach next door. The restaurant staff was hard to find after you sat down, though. Overall it was a great experience.