Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Incredible experience

Posted Jul 4, 2015
We were originally planning to stay here for 3 nights but extended our stay after the first day because we loved it so much. Our hut was right on the water and tucked away in the rocks. It took about 10 minutes to walk from the reception to our hut but it made it all part of the experience. Jansom bay was a 5 minute walk away and was absolutely incredible. The restaurant was also very good. Bamboo huts made our experience at Koh Tao amazing. We loved the rest of the island too. Highly recommend Bamboo Huts!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The location, service and huts. Janson Bay is beautiful and right at your fingertips.
Cons: Be prepared to do a lot of walking, the resort is sprawled along the rocky coast.
Location: Not far from the port and a 15 minute walk into town.
The location and bamboo huts themselves are amazing, but what amazed me first about this hotel was the amazing customer service. They have a great staff, but I would like to especially thank Khim for making our stay outstanding. There was a driver awaiting our arrival at the port the morning we came in, we were fortunate and did not have to wait until the afternoon to check in, and when we saw the room we immediately decided to extend our stay and booked a few additional nights. The waves lapped at our bedroom window and we had the most amazing snorkeling on the island right outside our private sunning deck. It was heaven. In addition the food at the restaurant was good and they even provided room service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Voltaria

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels
O hotel é maravilhoso! Tem uma praia particular mt boa! Quartos confortáveis, com vista mt linda.Os quartos sao bem heterogeneos, o que eu fiquei era otimo, mas alguns sao bem inferiores e tem o preço igual. Pontos negativos: distancia do centrinho( taxi é caro, ubs 300 Bah o mais barato), equipe fala mt mal ingles, me cobraram 350 bah pporque quebrei uma saboneteira no quarto...td no quarto tem preço...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

The Bat Cave

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful location. The bathroom is 'open air.' Unfortunately mine doubled as a literal bat cave at night. Every night several bats hung from the ceiling and used my bathroom as their bathroom. It was really gross. Getting up to use the bathroom in the middle of the night was terrifying and gross. Also, the restaurant isn't very good. The staff is lovely. It's secluded and one of the most beautiful locations I've ever been to though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Arinpapa from Bangkok

Fantastic View but lots of steps, walking

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels
Jansom Bay is great. The room is clean but room# BB7 cannot access to the sea. The rock is too high to climb down. Great view. Starlight restaurant is quite expensive. Overall is OK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steph & Liam from London, UK

Amazing Experience

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Rustic charm, great food, friendly staff, stunning views, access to nature. Great for snorklers and scuba divers.
Location: Hotel very close to town, which was not too touristy but had plenty of places to eat, drink, get massages and shop. Would recommend Karma Bar.
Both Koh Tao and Bamboo huts much nicer than expected; very quaint, beautiful scenery, relaxed and charming. Ferry was half an hour late and our taxi driver was not around to collect us, but once we phoned to say we had arrived, the driver came to pick us up within ten minutes. We were taken straight to the reception at the resort and luggage taken straight to our room while we checked-in. Manager took us to our room showing us the resort on our way, and introducing us to staff members. This was very helpful, as it immediately gave us some bearings and friendly faces to rely on. The bamboo huts are situated in the rocky cliffs, so can be a tough walk to get anywhere, but everything else outweighs this as an issue! Room was very pleasant with a fantastic view of the sea and sunset from the balcony. Main beach on resort is Jansom Bay; a lovely beach with crystal clear blue water, palm trees and tropical fish. Food on the resort is of a very good quality. Scenery and setting of the Starlight restaurant lovely. Breakfast in a nice setting with a bespoke omlette chef made the best! Price for food and drinks is very fair and broad ranging. All the staff on the resort were very friendly, helpful and naturally courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Greg from Chicago, USA

Stayed for 3 nights, didn't want to leave.

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed in late February for 3 nights of our honeymoon and this was definitely the highlight of the trip. We're in our early 30's, looking to relax, snorkel, eat, drink, and enjoy nature. LOCATION: Super easy to get to with free shuttle pickup to and from the ferry. Amazing from-the-beach snorkeling to your left (nice walk to Sai Nuan beach... secluded, clean, beautiful) and to your right (Jansom Bay... super close and with a bar/cafe right there). In 3 days, we felt no real need to visit the town, but did book a day trip to Ko Nangyuan because we wanted to see it (the onsite dive center happily arranged this for us and it couldn't have gone smoother). THE ROOM: Plenty of privacy to enjoy incredible sunsets from your huge balcony and outdoor shower. Super comfy with A/C, fan, flatscreen TV (no need unless its raining), stocked minibar, and a big bed with mosquito net. We had no real issue with bugs, and any ambient sounds (lizards, waves, boats) just added to the experience. AMENITIES: Speedy room service, beautiful views from both restaurants, nice bar, good food, onsite dive center, spa (great outdoor or indoor massage), friendly staff, quick/convenient car service from huts to reception. Bit of a hike to get around but truly lovely, paved and well-lit, so no complaints. We both had a really wonderful time and would love to stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gwen from Nancy

Bon hôtel

Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels
Au début, la distance et les nbreux escaliers entre les chambres et la réception/petit déjeuner/restaurant est un vrai point négatif, puis on s y fait et on apprécie même le calme d avoir un pavillon à l écart ayant son propre accès à la mer. La salle de bain en extérieur avec vue mer est très dépaysante également. Les poissons multicolores sont au rendez vous en bas du pavillon, et la plage est à 5 minutes (sportives) à pied . Bref un bel hôtel au calme, vue splendide et personnel très sympathique .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Paradise

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels
Our room was much larger than expected, had its own deck with sunbeds (totally worth paying extra for the upgrade) and had all the amenities you need, while still being very rustic. It's the perfect combination of luxury and nature. Yes, the walk to the breakfast restaurant is about 10minutes, but we loved the adventurous path through the jungle (plus a little extra exercise on vacation never hurts). The beach (Jansom bay) has the perfectly clear water and was never too crowded, even though we visited in high season. The water is very clear and having the reef right there makes great snorkeling without taking any extra trips. The breakfast was pretty amazing and had variety of thai and western dishes, with delicious fresh eggs made to order. We were surprised by the service and amenities of this level from a 3 1/2 star hotel. It's truly one of a kind place that deserves only raving reviews!