Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nico from Melbourne, Australia

An Island Paradise

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the ocean, the cocktail list, the food menu, the staff (Fantastic English), the view, the rooms,
Cons: Nothing
Location: Just a short tuk-tuk ride to the main strip.
My time at The Koh Tao Hillside Resort was without a doubt one of the finest holiday experiences of my life. My favorite feature, first and foremost, was the location of the resort itself. The establishment itself was unique, in that it had actually been built into the landscape, incorporating boulders and cliffs into the actual architecture. We could literally walk into the ocean from our bedrooms at anytime of day and go snorkelling. As an Australian, I love to swim and explore coastal reefs - the amount of sea life here was breath-taking. With crabs, sea slugs and fish of all kinds - I've never seen a resort like this in my life The staff were all attentive and welcoming - they truly make you feel relaxed and at home. Not to mention, they run a high quality restaurant and a top notch bar (all at decent price too). There's nothing like watching the sun set over the ocean with a delicious cocktail in your hand and fine food in your belly. I recommend this place to anyone staying in Koh Tao, whether it be for a romantic get away, a scuba journey or a trip with friends. Definitely the highlight of my trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For the fit

Posted Dec 20, 2013
It's quite a nice lace to stay. The staff are really lovely and friendly. Check in was good with a free pier pick up, welcome drink and refreshing towel. Our cabin was basic but sufficient with a good veranda to sit out on. The pool and pool area is really nice I enjoyed swimming here. Food was expensive but nice. Communal lounge area had an excellent view and could be a relaxing place to sit. The main issue is you can't walk I between any of these places without a strenuous up or downhill walk. There is a golf buggy to carry your luggage and yoursf if you request it at certain times (no phone in the room you'll have to find a member of staff - but they're quite often walking around). Not many people were staying here so it felt a little like a ghost resort at times! To get to the main eating/drinking/shopping area it's an up and down 20min walk or rip off taxi ride for Thai standard (£3 each). There is a free shuttle 4 times a day which coincides with boats coming to the pier. I would recommend booking 1 or 2 nights and then deciding if you want to stay longer or move. We booked 3 then moved to the amazing but more expensive cabana resort. In summery: great views, great pool, great staff. Compulsory excersise, expensive food and mini bar, and a bit out of the way.
3 out of 5
by Nobby from Australia

The Hillside resort...

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: The views and common areas
Cons: The hills! The reception staff!
Location: Peacefull, about a 15 minute walk into Sairee. Hire a scooter and all's good.
Our initial experience was the reception hut which was ok, maybe a little charming but the reception staff definitely need to be trained better and raise their game to give the tourist a nicer experience when arriving and departing from this resort. The girls on the desk weren't particularly good and their grasp of english poor. We were then taken by a golf cart down a very steep incline and round the houses to find our chalets. Quite a scary experience but the porters were very friendly and helpful. Chalets were very basic, too basic really with few mod cons. Bed was comfortable (very hard) though and air con unit good. We had a nice view from our balcony as well. Common areas were really good. Pool is lovely, two restaurants are good and the seating area above the top restaurant is very good. Restaurant staff were very nice and helpful. Biggest problem for us was the hills between your chalet and wherever you went. Very tough in the heat! By the time we had walked back up to the reception hut we were dripping. Can't really do much about this though so maybe the resort should focus on upgrading the accommodation and improving the technique of the reception staff. This would go along way to making this resort much better value. After all that we kind of quite liked it but we wouldn't go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with amazing ocean views

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: The ocean view bungalow has amazing views with a great porch.
Cons: If they could provide transportation up from the bottom that would be great. It's very tiring and steep
Location: Quick 5 minute drove to Sairee beach. There is a small mini mart across the street but other than that it's all private hotels
This hotel has great bungalows all with great views of the ocean. The restaurant sits over the water and is very romantic (and its decently priced!). The pool area is right by the water and has a great sun deck. Overall we had a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Views..!!

Posted May 30, 2013
Pros: View and the sound of the ocean
Cons: The beds were hard
Location: Good. not to far, not to close
The main areas were amazing..!!! i could have stayed there my entire time on koh tao. I was in water front bungalow and it was cozy but the beds are hard. but i did enjoy me stay ans will return :-)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Meg

Posted Feb 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
My partner and I laughed when we read people complaining about the walk to the hotel when we knew it was less than a km to Sairee Village, we were not laughing when we got there. Koh Tao hillside is literally perched on the edge of a cliff, ABSOLUTELY STUNNING un-interuppted veiws of the ocean. BUT I have climbed ladders less steep than some of the hills we had to climb not just to get there, but to get from our room to reception/restaurant/pool/out of the hotel. We are both quite fit people but after 2 days we were exhausted. Seems like there is a bit of work going on, our bungalow was one of the smaller older ones and is probably needing a bit of a facelift in the bathroom and was VERY small. This is a lovely place but would suggest staying in one of the newer bigger bungalows closer to reception. Getting to Sairee Village is only about a 15min walk downhill/ 20min uphill. Suggest either hiring a moped or taxi service. Walked it twice and was knackered :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bri from Jackson, WY, USA

Really great stay!

Posted Jan 29, 2013
Really beautiful hotel! The staff were really nice, the food was great and it's a super quick long tail boat ride to Nang Yuan Island, which is a must-see! The sunsets were incredible and the sitting areas and restaurant provide a really pleasant place to view them. Nice sunning deck and pool and there's also a tiny beach if you want to get in the water. It's a close taxi to town. For what we paid for we were very pleased with our stay and I would love to go back again. Koh Tao is amazing!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to be

Posted Jan 15, 2013
The facilities itself are great! anyone I would asure will love it. Very nice and friendly staff as well. The bungalows are nice, big enough and basics. The place it's quite far from the beach. Theres lots of stairs to walk dow to reach the reception plus another lot to your bungalow.