Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Edward3c from Alexandria

Indifferent staff

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel for locals, staff indifferent to none Thai guests. Rooms lift open after maid service had finished.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Okay for a few nights.

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
A little out of the way from everything, which could be a great thing. Mae Haad and it's 7-11 are fairly close, especially when walking along the beach. Rooms were big and relatively clean, although the sheets had spots and a stain that could not possibly have been missed by house keeping. Pool was a combination of salt water and some serious chlorine. Okay if you're staying a night or two, but there are better on the island.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Islandhopper2013 from London

Stay on the other side of the island... not here

Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
This place may once have been nice... Not now. Curtains in tatters (view nice) room was not cleaned... bathrooms dirty, sheets dirty, cleaners just changed towels daily and sprayed some aerosol. Internet did NOT work in our room. No facilities and very disappointing. There are much nicer hotels than this on the other side of the island. Don't stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mino from Mumbai

Good semi-luxury stay at affordable prices

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Stayed for four days in the main hotel, not the bungalows. Great pool, good size rooms, accommodating staff and proximity to the town center.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice place, hard bed, no hot water.

Posted Jan 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice place, hard bed, no hot water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lee B

Ko Tao reviewer

Posted Jan 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Regal was a good hotel.The room was good value,large and clean.The pool was nice,and location to sea was excellent.i would recommend this hotel for family's and couples.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Aldershot, Hampshire, UK

Good base for a holiday

Posted Jan 3, 2013
Pros: The setting and staff
Cons: dark corridors, power cuts
Location: excellent base
Our stay at the Regal was enjoyable, we are thinking of returning in May this year. The staff were very friendly and the setting very good. The hotel overall could do with some TLC, we found the corridors very dark despite lighting which was of a poor level. The amount of power cuts whilst short was frustrating. The building work being carried out was frustrating but we are sure when finished will add a lovely area. We only ate in the hotel for breakfast and whilst this was of a reasonable standard the choices were limited.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Life enjoyer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Koh Tao Resort is very conveniently located to the Crystal Dive shop for all who come here to dive. It is not what I would consider a resort however. Hallways were dark, A/C in room only stayed on if key was inserted ( so not on while you were away) and the room got hot quickly, hallways very noisy due to tile floors, staff spoke limited English, etc. Restaurant opened at 6:30 am but dives started at 7am so en tho it's billed as a partner to the Crystal Dive shop,you coudn't eat before a dive there. Fortunately. The Crystal Dive restaurant was open early for divers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, UK

Had a lovely stay here

Posted Apr 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay here and it was actually quite good value for money compared to many other places on Ko Tao. The island itself is more expensive and there is a lot of price fixing compared with other Thai islands. Lovely, spacious and clean rooms. Beautiful balcony, pool and beach setting. Friendly staff and well located on the quieter area of Mae Haad but with lots of bars and restaurants around.