Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Very comfortable with no complaints. Water pressure surged a little but the water never went cold. Phones in the room would be great to order room service and receive messages that the wifi password had changed.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Heatherfrom Canada

NEEDS RENOVATIONS!

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is in need of major renos! Seemed clean but everything in rooms was old! Even the pool towels and loungers were old and need to be replaced. No hand soap in rooms. When we asked the front desk they didn't have any for us. Good things: location was good in Lamai. We rented a moto bike with no problems. We would suggest to stay at Chewang beach. Nicer sand and more shops, restaurants, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Shellfrom Australia

Great location

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was not clean when we arrived and we had to clean it ourselves. Most staff were lovely but the rest looked at you as if you were a nuisance, particularly at reception. The egg cooking chef was fabulous. As was the chap in charge of the restuarant. There was no information in the rooms regarding times etc for breakfast and pool use. The Internet service was woeful but at least included. It would've been nice if they had placed families with children in similar areas and couples in another. We were woken by screaming children every morning for the second half of our stay. They also needed to provide more shaded areas around the pool. They had a DVD library however half the DVDs didn't work properly and there was limited choice. It's great value for money simply for its position in Lamai. So convenient to the beach, the eateries and shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Orenfrom Tel Aviv

The best place to stay at in the Lamai beach area

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was perfect. The main thing about this hotel is its perfect location. It is right on the beach - and it's a beach with no rocks, and quite deep, so you can swim in it. There are other hotels in the area where the water is shallow and rocky, and then you can't swim. But this hotel is right on the perfect beach with the perfect sea attached to it. The pool of the hotel is directly on the beach so you can get out from the pool and dive into the sea. The nightlife and hussly-bussly shopping street of the area is just around the block from the hotel and yet the hotel area is very quiet. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, and the rooms are nice and clean. It doesn't look like the rooms have been renovated in the past few years, but it never bothered us. Highly recommended !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Orenfrom Israel

The perfect hotel for Koh Samui

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
The pictures in the hotel website indeed reflect reality. Very sweet hotel, exactly behind the hussle and bussle of Lamai nightlife street, and yet it is very quiet and serene. Beautiful deck and pool area, on the beach, and the sea is not rocky there so you can swim in the sea or in the pool alternatively. Nice rooms, good price, very friendly staff, perfect location. Highly recommended. We went to see more hotels in Lamai and they were not as well located and in many of them you cannot swim in the sea because of shallow water or rocks. We will surely return to Lamai wanta in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Margofrom Vancouver B.C

Clean and comfy, close to everything

Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
I found the hotel and the staff to be very nice, the breakfast was great and the location was perfect. You're close to everything, the beach, the markets etc., but not in a noisy spot. My room was nice and clean and I have no complaints about the hotel. However, I was traveling alone and I wouldn't recommend staying here if you're alone, I felt really out of place, the other people staying there at the time were couples or families and they weren't very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Kara

Definitely not deluxe...

Posted Feb 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Rather basic and not very well equipped rooms. A very small swimming pool with lots of sunbeds around. No-frills breakfast buffet. All in all, a tourist-class hotel in a relatively quiet location. Staff are fairly helpful but would not go an extra mile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

basic no frills hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Quiet surroundings. Good location. Delivering serice as expected of a mid range hotel. Noting special but nothing to complain about either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by J_California

Nice hotel, beach not so nice

Posted Feb 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, very clean and in the middle of Lamai Beach. I imagine a nice beach in front of the hotel... To my surprise I wasn't able to swim. Ocean was extremily brave in front of the hotel and sorroundings...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gord_Mtl

Great hotel located on the beach

Posted Feb 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Lamai Wanta is located right on the beach and is made up of a few small buildings and several bungalows. I was located in the building at the back of the compound. The room was fine but I would recommend that you request a room in one of the buildings closer to the beach. The rooms were clean and simple and had free wifi and a safe inside. The breakfast was included and had a good selection to get you started every day. Overall, I had a great stay at this hotel.