Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds uk

Mantra

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Great hotel up on the hill Best room facilities on Samui Can't beat free calls to uk and choice of free in room movies we will be back again !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth

beautiful romantic get away

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Amazing views nice spa bath,friendly staff, lovely pool, day spa massages were fantastic
Cons: tv reception and location you can't watch it from bed , bed has large platform around which makes it awkward to get into sun lounger is uncomfortable
Location: on side of a mountain, no facilities within walking distance you need to hire car or motorbike or use transfers which are free but not frequent enough
We had high expectations reading all the great reviews but we're initially disappointed our first room smelt damp and had a drain problem. We were moved the next day to a better room with fabulous view ad spa bath. Facilities a in room were average, small TV bad reception, computer unusable due to poor resolution on TV screen. Bathroom had nice shower but the wooden mat was unstable and kept flipping up. Bed was comfortable but difficult to get into due to wide low platform around bed. Would not recommend for elderly or people with mobility or back issues. Getting around resort was difficult due to steep cliff like paths, you can call for a golf cart to take you up hill, but some rooms have 3 sets of stairs as well. Food was not good value for money in comparison to food at restaurants in town. Breakfast was good with variety, but cooked food was served in small portions, coffee was really good. Pool was breathtaking, but too small for size of resort. Few loungers always taken, not enough room for everyone would hate to be here in high season. Garden was beautiful, location high on hillside quiet and scenic. Access to beaches shops and bars only via taxi or transfers. you can not walk to any facilities not even a shop. Free transfers good but timing seems to miss mealtimes. At a night choice of 5 pm or 8 pm departures. pick up for fishermans village was located in temple with no lights it did not feel safe waiting in the dark.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle Australia

Amazing Hotel, wish we had stayed longer

Posted Oct 17, 2014
We only stayed here for 2 nights so didn't get to experience this hotel for every thing that it had to offer. However, the pool was amazing with lounge chairs and a fantastic view of the ocean. It was right next to the restaurant which had good food and also amazing views. The prices are a bit high compared to what you would get from one of the restaurants on the street though. We stayed in a Love Jacuzzi Room and the king size bed and pillows were the most comfortable we slept on for our 3 weeks travelling in Thailand. We had a jacuzzi on our balcony and although our balcony could be viewed from the pool area and anyone walking up the hill from reception, curtains were provided for privacy. All staff were wonderful and always friendly. One of my favourite things about this hotel is the little personal touches. We found a note in our room on our last day thanking us for staying with them and a candle to take home with us. I only wished we could have stayed here longer and look forward to visiting again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful Hotel with a Gorgeous View

Posted Oct 13, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed the Mantra, everything from it's service (wonderful friendly staff), yummy food with a wide selection of drinks, stunning view from anywhere on the resort, and the infinity pool with a gorgeous view. Little things about the staff such as them remembering your room number during your next visit to the restaurant, being genuinely concerned about your comfort and happiness while staying at the resort, and having 3 staff members try to get a lizard that had crawled into my room out, they all seemed to put in an effort to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The spa is also wonderful!! A bit pricey, but the massage was one of the best massages I have ever had. The resort like home and in the end, I didn't want to leave! Stayed in both the cozy and WOW rooms, and I would have to recommend the Cozy room. Much larger balcony, bigger room, and the bathroom is amazing! The WOW room bathroom the shower ran onto the bathroom floor (not enclosed) so it rather inconvenient to have water all over the bathroom floor when your shower was completed and you were trying to get ready. The Cozy room on the other hand, had a double sink, beautiful deep bath tub and a shower which was surrounded by rocks for drainage (therefore your water didn't go all over the bathroom floor!). The view is beautiful from both WOW and Cozy rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SG

Nice hotel. Beautiful view. Romantic destination.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Very helpful and friendly staff. Very helpful with the planning of daily activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey - Uk

Romantic holiday with my boyfriend.

Posted Oct 4, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Awesome Mantra Samui stay

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Cons: There were a few times the maids forgot to replenish the instant coffee in the room, but when we reported they apologized and replenished it.
Location: Speed boat trips to different islands to kayak/snorkel, massage, Thai massages, Thai culinary class, pancakes from street vendor carts, etc.
We were amazed by the beauty and energy of the place. The resort was very earthy and we loved it. Everywhere you looked there were some mantras written around the resort to remind you of positive and uplifting things. Landscape was beautiful too. The room was gorgeous and romantic. We could make international calls for free. Wifi was a little slow. We had the room with a jacuzzi in our porch with ocean view. Wow! The fitness center was big, full of equipment, wonderful ocean view as you work out, had sauna and steam room, and they provided complimentary laundry for up to 3 pieces of workout clothing per day. There was a yoga class every day at 5 pm. The carts can take you up and down the hill because the location has steep roads but it is not a problem at all. There are also shuttles with convenient regular schedules that take guests to 3 different locations nearby. It is fun to stroll at Fisherman Village a few minutes from the resort, relax and have a foot massage. Buffet breakfast was included. The restaurant had different dinner events a few times a week, great variety, including a free culinary class. What else can I say? We are truly happy with our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Well located hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Well located hotel with excellent facilities including airport and beach transfers. The staff specially Pu Nim, Sai and Ae were very welcoming, efficient and always with a smile. The rooms had magnificent views of the sea and parts of the island. We will highly recommend the hotel to our friends and if we return to Koh Samui we will stay at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dubai

Nice resort with awsome pool and best view.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
we had a good time at mantra samui. Only thing we didnt like was that the way up to the hotel requires some more street lights as its little spooky going up the hill at night. The room was nice clean and has one of the best views on the island.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel but limited facilities

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Setting, views, tranquility
A nice hotel, spectacular location and views but very limited facilities. Pluses: the room are large all with sea views, the staff are efficient and friendly, the shuttle bus service is excellent and helps overcome the small pool area. Minuses: the pool is small and there are only 36 sunbeds which can't be moved for potentially176 guests. When the hotel has high occupancy the restaurant can also struggle to cope with seating. Whilst it is possible to walk down into the town 15minutes down the hill this is only advisable in daylight. The walk back up to the hotel is a good work out. Pricing of food and drink in the hotel is high.