Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from dubai, uae

Beautiful boutique hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The rooms
Cons: Beyond the control of the hotel, but the beach is not the best in Koh Samui. Also the hotel seems to charge a higher rate for taxis than on the road.
Location: You'd need a taxi to go to nearby attractions.
We loved the hotel from the moment we arrived. The rooms were fantastic so well decorates and the pool lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Singapore

On beach, otherwise quite isolated

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Design and accomodation
Cons: Reception staff could be more helpful
Nice hotel - on beach, incredible and well apponted rooms. Small hotel - only 14 rooms which makes it more pleasant. It is a bit isolated for dining options if you dont have a car and always have to move in taxis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Simon M from Singapore

Still the best

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our 3rd time to The Scent (we go every year for our anniversary) and it is still our favorite destination for the ultimate relaxation. The service and food available is top notch, and you wouldn't regret spending a whole day or 2 just at the hotel to just relax and enjoy the best that Thailand has to offer, perfect service and dining! we will keep on coming here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tensai from Australia

Tastefully furnished excellent 4 romantic get away

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
It is very tastefully furnished perfect for couples would wanted something different. Rustically furnished with excellent scent in each room located at a quiet area make it an ideal place relax with your special someone. I was here with my family and booked 3 rooms. One of the rooms is at least 4m sqr smaller but it was fully booked and they can't change the room for us. The beach is very shallow with rocks in them that make it not ideal for swimming. Nice place to have a swim in the pool, check out the nice in-house French restaurant, and relax for a few days to experience something different.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by D&D from Minnesota U.S.A.

Charming

Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved the ambiance and the staff. The rooms exuded "old world" charm in its décor and design. The chef's options were excellent but a more expensive choice than most island dining. Unfortunately we were there during a high tide and northern wind period, so the beach was less than spectacular. Biggest disappointment was the couples massage which ended up being the most expensive and worst massage received while in Thailand. I liked the proximity of the spa to the room - unfortunate that the masseuse cared so little (took phone calls during the massage, left for the bathroom, spent much of the time coughing, knocked items to the floor...and did not pay attention to requests for more pressure). Location allowed us to walk to restaurants and shops.
2 out of 5
by Frederic

Overbooking on the 1st night

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: Design, small size.
Cons: Service, service, service together with proper understanding of what "hospitality" means.
Location: 10' from airport with direct access to a beach. However the beach was not cleaned and far from the ideal picture of a pristine, tropical place.
The Scent is a member of the famous Relais & Chateaux network and we were more than astonished upon arrival to discover that the sea view with balcony suite had been overbooked and would not be available until the next day. Overbooking is certainly not expected from a member of the R&C network, especially for the top-end room paid in-full in advance!!!!!! Furthermore, the certain lack of care which was displayed by the staff regarding this issue did not reflect favorably on the hotel management and overall understanding of what "hospitality" and services really mean. Compensation was obtained for the room downgrading for one night after much discussion, rather than being offered up-front!!!!! The hotel is extremely well-designed and the sea-view with balcony suite is one of the most comfortable that we stayed in worldwide. The swimming pool, although small is very nice for relaxing and cooling-down in the afternoon but contained too much chlorine (or similar). The breakfast and restaurant are nice but lack certain important details for a property which intends to compete in the high-end market i.e. Lipton tea rather than tastier blend, slow service, canned fruit juice on certain days rather than fresh, a dinner menu focusing on western taste rather than displaying an innovative reinterpretation of Thai cuisine, etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Fann from Singapore

tastefully room design, comfortable bed

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room - my room is european mixed thai style design, love the bathtub and king size bed. Welcome fruits and snack + night turn down service is good. The only minus point is the bathroom hardware need refurbish, and the water pressure is not consistent. Hotel - romantic surrounding made us don't wanna leave this hotel! Small hotel and relatively quiet, which is what we looking for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Janet from London

Fabulous food

Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Scent Hotel is a fabulous quirky little hotel, doesn't look like much from the outside but is an oasis of calm and comfort on the inside. The rooms are highly individualised but are a little too dark in their lighting options for my taste and showing a little wear but otherwise lovely. The food however, is to die for and the service and friendliness is great. I would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by joanne from new york

Luxurious botique hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2013
Pros: Design of the rooms with free standing bathtub.
Cons: The French resturant. Food was okay, would've preferred if it were a Thai menu at night, similar to that at lunch time.
Hotel was absolutely beautiful from the moment we stepped in. We stayed in the Chinese room and couldn't have been happy. Great place to stay if you're interested in relaxing. Like other reviewers beach isn't great, but the pool area makes up for that. We would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great service and comfy beds

Posted Jun 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel has a lot of charm that differentiates it from the big chains. As it is a small hotel with only 13 rooms, the great quality service had a personal touch that other hotels lack. The food in the restaurant, although somewhat expensive, was very good. Some of the fixtures (like the showers) were a little worn around the edges and there was not enough lighting available in the rooms. The room could have also done with a full length mirror. The location was ideal as it was very close to Bophut and had direct access to a beautiful beach.