Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful retreat with lovely decor and beach

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Overall experience was great. The Scent hotel is a great haven for chill out and relaxation. Food tasted great, however expensive, breakfast A+++!
Cons: We would like to see staff a little more empowered to made decisions and find solutions for customers quicker.
Location: We wanted to explore so rent scooters for 200tbt a day from a place recommended by The Dream Fields Resort down the road. Taxis from hotel expensive.
When we arrived at the hotel early we were not surprised that we would have to wait 1hr and a half until checkin time for access, this wait was extended by half an hour because the room was not ready at checkin time. We were offered 20% off food at Le Jaroen however we hadn't really planned on eating lunch there and the menu was expensive. The food was tasty, however, we were a little disappointed at the small offer (20% off voucher) for our wait. The decor and ambience of the hotel is absolutely beautiful and bar staff are attentive and well mannered. Our room was always cleaned to a high standard and we were left little sweet treats ie.sponge cakes by the maid each day. Pool, dining area and private beach are all relaxing and beautiful. After being stuck in monsoon conditions on our bikes after a day out we returned to the hotel with two friends absolutely drenched. We asked for extra towels at the reception reluctantly we managed to get afew more so our friends could use our facilities to freshen up. Given that we had been stuck out in the rain we found it a little unfortunate that the receptionist was not so accommodating. We had to leave a day early and as we had pre-paid for our room we informed reception that our friend would be staying instead. When we eventually spoke to the manager (5 hours later) we were very pleased with how accomodating she was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Very nice hotel, pleasant staff

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Very nice staff, loved the style of the hotel, nice pool and restaurant area. Kayak for the guests to use was nice as well.
Cons: Our room was a little bit dark up in the back corner, some extra lighting for the bathroom would be good. Restaurant prices, could be better.
Location: Fishermans village just up from the hotel is a must, chaweng bay is worth a visit.
We stayed here for 4 nights on our trip around the islands. Nicely tucked away hotel not too far from anywhere you'd want to go - we hired a scooter and would recommend this to others. Lovely surrounds and awesome style. Restaurant prices were a bit excessive (same or more than at home) so we ate out. The general vibe of the place and the way we were treated by hotel staff was fantastic, would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Location

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Friendly helpful staff, beautiful bathroom, tranquillity, pool, breakfast
Cons: The first room we were in was a bit exposed to other guests - people walking past - but they quickly offered us a more private room
Location: Fisherman's wharf is a few minutes by open taxi - lots of restaurants/shops/tour operators etc. Chewang is a bit further - cost us 200 baht.
At first we were a bit disappointed that we didn't seem to be very close to anything, but this turned out to be a real bonus. We quickly discovered that Fisherman's Wharf was a few minutes - and 60 - 100 baht - away from us and it had wonderful restaurants and plenty to see and do. Spent a day in Chewang, but were pretty happy to get back to the peace and tranquillity of the Scent. Staff were delightful. Breakfast was the best anywhere we stayed in Thailand. Very peaceful stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Poor hotel don't know how it got its stars

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Checked in late at night staff showed us to terrible room 114 - told if we weren't happy we could move the next day. Bedding smelt of mould and damp, room almost derelict looking. On ground floor, floor to ceiling windows with curtains that didn't cover the windows - no privacy. See through blinds over windows in the shower and toilet room. Bath and safe didn't work, no hot water. Exhausted so stayed the night. Woken up at 3 am by other guests shouting and swearing, banging on our doors/windows. Only good thing - breakfast delicious! Walked down the beach in daylight - dirty and loads of building works starting at 8am. Of faded glory, baffles me that ratings are so excellent. Right on a busy road (which we heard all night and morning) - little to do unless you get a taxi out each time and road to dangerous to walk on. Hotel manager offered upgrade but we were too unhappy to even see it. Refund issued and moved to Resotel on chaweng beach - gorgeous clean beach with plenty to do but also peaceful. Private mini pool overlooking the sea - which was excellent. The scent needs some serious work, also big shame about the location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Fantastic hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: The staff went out of their way to be helpful. It's a beautiful place.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to beach which is great. On site restaurant. Need a taxi to get to sites/ tours/ other places to eat
The staff here were very welcoming and helpful. The room was beautiful and very clean. I enjoyed the pool and easy access to the beach. The breakfasts were delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Faenza, Italy

Romantico al tramonto

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Profumo che avvolge tutti gli ambienti e l'atmosfera al tramonto
Cons: Manutenzione della spiaggia
Location: Hotel riservato, non lontano dai moli che portano alle altre isole. Occorrono pochi minuti di taxi per raggiungere città è vita notturna
Ingresso anonimo per un piccolo hotel con meravigliose stanze affacciate ad una bella piscina. Colazioni in riva al mare (personale un po' lento) ma frutta buona e freschissima. L'hotel ha una sua spiaggia anche se non curatissima nei lettini e la sabbia non è la migliore dell'isola anche se bianchissima. Sicuramente un posto confortevole e d'atmosfera ottimo per chi viaggia in coppia. Il centro 'mondano' necessità di 5 minuti di taxi ma non ci sono problemi. La spa è piccolina ma offre tutti i trattamenti e per chi non ne fosse contento può trovarne una lussuosissima nell'edificio accanto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Unbelievable service from the hotel staff!

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Slight smell from the bathroom...not sure if this was part of the experience or something that they were trying to cover up. Either way, didn't mind!
Location: Fisherman's village is within walking distance if you wish and is a great market at night!
From check-in to check-out, the hotel staff at the Scent Hotel were world class. They helped us with everything we could possibly need! From motorbike rentals to massage specials, this place is on point. Bravo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Best resort I've stayed in. Would HIGHLY recommend

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Amazing place, food, service, experience. Couldn't recommend highly enough! Friendly staff, amazing outfit, comfortable beds, good breakfast, relaxed atmosphere and intimate setting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

A pure delight in Koh Samui

Posted Jun 5, 2015
My partner and I stayed here for 6 nights, and they were 6 magical nights. The hotel itself is boutique. We stayed in room 111 a beachfront suite. The room was huge. Our door opened up to a patio and down a few steps to the beach. Breakfast included daily and half price cocktails all day. The staff were friendly and happy. We did not want to leave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taiwan

Quiet and relaxing

Posted Jun 1, 2015
It's quiet and close to the beach! Quite close to the airport, too! If you are looking for a auiet place for your honeymoon then this place is perfect!