Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisa from New Zealand

10 yr Wedding Anniversary

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: The quality and services in the hotel were very good all around.
Location: We went Scuba Diving and did a Sea Safari Tour. Both of which we were picked up at the hotel.
A nice quiet part of the island to stay. Hotel amenities were very good. We enjoyed the sunsets and the quiet restful feeling of the area. The pool was clean and long enough to swim a few laps. Cocktails were delicious and the breakfast buffet made a great start to the day. It was a very romantic place to be. Quiet and relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Shanghai, China

Nice hotel on the beach with beautiful sunset view

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Nice hotel, decent size rooms, nice beach, beautiful sunset view.
Cons: The TV in the room is too old, out of date, with very limited programs.
Location: The hotel location is a bit isolated, but peaceful and quiet. Nearby are other hotels and one or two good restaurants.
Hotel is nice with beautiful sunset view. Hotel staff is very friendly in general. In particular Oliver and AOM are two staff members who have gone the extra mile to help us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C from Australia

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Beautiful place to stay, the staff & hotel were wonderful. I asked for a bottle of wine to set up in the room one night to celebrate our 2 year anniversary & the staff made the room stunning with rose petals on the bed & the jacuzzi. Really made our night special
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing place to stay

Posted Dec 12, 2013
Pros: Friendly helpful staff, kyaks and bicycles and daily activities provided free of charge to use, quiet and restful
Cons: Massages and food were expensive compared to other places.
Location: There was a great restaurant called i-talay about 300m down the beach on the beachfront which was much cheaper than the hotel and had great food.
Was a great place to slow down and see the other side of the island away from the busier areas the beach was lovely and it was great to bicycle around the local area as there was a lot less traffic. We enjoyed using the kyaks as the water was very calm and was also lovely for swimming. It was also good to use the lounges around the pool while we sipped cocktails and ate food that was bought to us at the poolside. Staff were friendly and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice hotel by the ocean

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff was very accommodating to our needs, and were very friendly. They even host different classes everyday. They post the classes, along with Sunrise and Sunset at the front desk. Breakfast is served every morning. They will make you eggs made to order. The spread was fabulous, even after being there for 7 days. Evening meals were excellent. My hat off to the chef. Each meal we had during our stay was well worth the price. Be prepared if you stay in the Garden villas. The bathrooms are outdoors types. You still have privacy, it's just they are outside of the room. Took me by surprised, but they are wonderful. Was thinking why am I taking a shower when it's raining outside! If you have never been alone in the bathroom with you significant other get ready if you stay in the villa types. The other rooms available are not set up the same. Walking to the beach is so easy. In fact you have to pass by the large pool on the grounds. I was thinking why would anyone want to swim in a pool when you have the ocean, but you don't swallow salt water. We did swim in both places and was great. They supply plenty of towels and they were always clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends, just like it was recommended to us and I'm glad it was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Special Honeymoon

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: We liked the staff, and the location was perfect. The jacuzzi was a brilliant touch.
Cons: Maybe a free hotel shuttle would be nice
Location: Location was perfect for us although it was a bit far from the main tourist locations. But that did not bother us. Alot of water activities.
We came here on our honeymoon and words can not describe how amazing the staff, room and scenery was. The hotel was isolated away from the tourist area which was perfect for us. We loved every minute staying in this hotel as it helped us relax. We also loved the food and we came at the right time as we took part in celebrating the annual staff day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hideaway resort

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff Affordable activities and spa menu Free wifi Internet Beautiful location
We went there for a week & didn't want to leave, the staff are super friendly and helpful. We stayed in the garden villa which spacious, modern. The villa was air conditioned and well equipped with little extras like fresh fruit and minibar, great bathroom, and a great private day bed and jacuzzi outside the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andrew from Holland, MI

A boutique feeling resort - well worth it!

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved our stay at the Sunset Beach Resort and Spa! The stay was incredibly friendly and the resort offers an nice variety of amenities on site to help make your stay exciting. We took a long tail boat trip. The prices we fair and well worth it. It is a quiet feeling hotel on the sleepier side of the island but it was a highlight of our trip!
3 out of 5
by Hammer from Kuala Lumpur, Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Good but not great

Posted Aug 3, 2013
Pros: The staff are wonderful!
Cons: The beach is rocky and corally.
Location: Isolated, peaceful, quiet.
This is a small property with just a handful of rooms, one restaurant, a pool, a gym and pretty much nothing else, which is located on the secluded Taling Ngam beach. The hotel van picked us up (for a 1,200 baht fee) at Samui airport - a bit creaky, but serviceable vehicle - and we arrived, about an hour's drive later, for a relatively painless check-in. "Sunset Jacuzzi" rooms are very spacious, overlooking the ocean, with a large bathroom area, with a shower and a Jacuzzi. The mattresses have seen some use, the furniture is quite dated and sparse. There are split air-conditioners in the rooms, and the one in number 11 didn't work very well. They tried to fix it a couple of times but, in the end, we had to make do with a floor-standing fan that they gave us from their office.  The pool looks much bigger in the photos than it is, but it is adequate. They keep it clean and there are plenty of loungers. Some of the tiles have come off, though, which shows the age of the property. Not bad enough to impact the pool's utility in any way - you can still safely enjoy a swim - but it looks horrible. The pool bar has a "happy hour" from 5:00pm to 6:30pm every evening, when drinks are all half-price! The best thing about this resort is its staff. They are all extremely friendly, eager to help and, by and large, very competent. From the front office to the restaurants, from the pool to the spa, we found the Sunset team did everything that they could to make our stay comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Jul 13, 2013
Generally very pleasant, nice sea view. The beach is not suitable for swimming