Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Anniversary Celebration

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Pros: The rooms, especially the bathrooms are very nice.
Cons: The waiter at the breakfast brunch could have been a bit more attentive.
My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at the American Club. We had a romantic and delicious meal at the Wisconsin Room at a table for two, looking out at the courtyard. We came back to our room to find an exquisite turn-down service. There was a champagne split waiting for us on ice. The maid service had orgaqnized the room and prepared an amazing heart with a rose, made from folded linens. Quite remarkable. We very much enjoyed this celebration. In the morning we went back to the Wisconsin Room for a wonderful breakfast brunch. Definitely 4 diamond service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way too expensive!

Posted Jul 11, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Service and food.
Just not a five star hotel. Check in was at 4, room was not ready until 4:30. Room had such a small window we thought we were on a cruise with a porthole. Plus, no view -- we overlooked the back of a residential house. Housekeeping never replenished the shampoo or conditioner. We had a banquet and the steak was so overcooked, you could not eat it. Just not worth the money!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Houghton, MI, USA

Love! Love! Love!

Posted Apr 29, 2013
Pros: Very clean, quiet hotel. The best!
Awesome weekend! Beautiful hotel & spa! Love! Love! Love!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

BEST Location for Relaxation

Posted Dec 22, 2012
Pros: Everything - Room, Food, Staff, the ability to just relax......
Cons: I have NOT a single complaint!
Location: Beautiful, relaxiing - just love it....
WOW - I have NOT a single complaint. This was my 5th visit and The American Club gets better and better with each stay. The entire experience was wonderful and what a great staff. We will be back and I highly recommend this location to couples that need a short get-away!
3 out of 5
by Yiya from Chicago, IL, USA

Dissapointing for the price

Posted Sep 3, 2012
Way too overpriced for what you get. Tiny room, snacks at the carriage house were very average, and the massage at the spa was lame.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by annie from chicago

first class vacation

Posted Jul 5, 2012
Pros: employees were mostly young college age adults who were very friendly, knowledgable and efficient
Cons: bathroom was a bit small
Location: lovely grounds and the village of kohler is quaint and a picture of americana
we stayed in room at carriage house which included breakfast, afternoon tea and early evening snacks with wine, beer and beverages. use of spa was also included. no matter what we needed or asked for, we were accomodated with a smiling face. this building is smaller than the american club, very personal and all the staff were friendly, and personable. the grounds are beautiful. transportation to anything on the grounds is provided, including to and from golf courses. the carriage house caters to adults. everything was first class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from Chicago, IL, USA

Exceeded all expectations.

Posted Jul 4, 2012
This was our first stay at The American Club. It won't be our last.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Feb 21, 2012
A great weekend for couples. The service is outstanding. The rooms are great. The spa is very relaxing. Highly recommend to couples
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Lake in the Hills IL

Weekend Getaway

Posted Nov 1, 2011
Great weekend, perfect distance from the Chicagoland area for a quick, romantic getaway!
3 out of 5
by Joe from Grosse Pointe, MI

Dissapointed

Posted Dec 8, 2010
The setting was beautiful the main hotel was beautiful but it ended there. Being in the Carriage House was like being in another world. The Spa was expensive, the spa pool was cold there were not enough seats for people to lounge.... All in all it was pretty disappointing.