Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Vilas from mumbai

WORST HOTEL I VISITED IN LAST 30 YEARS

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: the terrif shall not be more than1500INR
Location: I have no Bad words to Indicate
Locality is worst, Room is very small Bed is too small,Hardly any space to move around.Bath room islittle biger than URINAL.Staff not in position to respond.OVER ALL not to recommend Expidia for Kolkatta bookin
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Ruchika from Mumbai

Average in every way

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Found the hotel average in every way: room size is not too great, cleanliness is ok, serious lack of fresh air...the locality is very crowded, though close to the park street. The good part is the hukkah lounge and the spa, which made our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sunnie from Chicago, il

Nice oasis off of Sudder St.

Posted Oct 4, 2013
I'd absolutely recommend this hotel if you want to stay on Sudder st. The rooms are clean, relatively large and the bathrooms are beautiful. It is set back just a bit from the street so noise was never an issue. I also felt 100% safe, which was important to me as a woman traveling alone. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel which not only provides a nice place to eat but also to relax and meet fellow travelers. All of the staff that I interacted with with kind and helpful. There is free wifi. The signal was not super strong in my room, but I was always able to get online, it just maybe took a bit for things to load. If you've never been Kolkata can be a little overwhelming at first. Bawa Walson was a nice anchor to set out from and return to everyday.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by gill from edinburgh

poor service and hotel quality

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Moved rooms 3 times due to toilets not working and a\c not working. Beds were held together with tape. Breakfast was a waste of time, no juice and food choice was terrible. Staff were unhelpful and didn't want to be bothered. Also walls in hotel were so thin you heard every little noise. So bad we moved to a different hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from New Delhi

Excellent Location

Posted Oct 1, 2013
The hotel rooms are more than decent and the staff is very good, courteous and ever helpful. The hotel cannot compare to a 5 star hotel in terms of luxury, but it provides a very comfortable and relaxing stay. The best part about the hotel however, is it's location in Kolkata. It is a mere walking distance from some of the most iconic restaurants and shops in Kolkata, like Peter Cat, Mocambo, Flury's and Moulin Rougue, just to name a few.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aditi from Bangalore

Close to the City

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Pros: cleanliness, staff behaviour
Cons: Food menu, should include more cuisines, also breakfast buffet items should be increased
Location: Dharamtalla market is very near by, Eden garden and Victoria memorial is walkable distance, kalighat famous temple is hardly 5 kms from hotel
I liked the hotel and its staff, very freindly people, ready to help 24/7, nice environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nikki from Nishinomiya, Japan

In the Heart of Calcutta

Posted Jul 27, 2013
Pros: Clean, Comfy, Good Value
Location: Nice location in south Kolkatta, with plenty to do in the vicinity. The hotel also arranged taxis for day tours.
This hotel was very nice...fair price, rooms were clean and comfy, good housekeeping. Overall I was very happy with this hotel! But the thing that most made me want to write this good review was the following. I felt the staff was very honest and really cared about their customers. I got a really bad fever right before my flight, and when checking out I asked the young man at the desk what kind of medicine I should get. Right then him & the staff sat me down in the restaurant, gave me chai, water, and brought me some medicine while I waited for my taxi to the airport...and they didn't charge me a thing! Really warmed my heart that they could be so caring! Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Villy from Malaysia

Recommended. Value for Money

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: Location id near tourism spots. Hotel decoration so unique and cozy
Cons: the spring bed is old, so you can feel the spring beneath and it make sound everytime we move
Location: very good location,near market street. 2minutes walking distance only. taking taxy to Victorial memorial only cost 80Rs. 50mins to airport cost 300 Rs
We stayed at the executive room and the room is big enough completed with LCD screen, sofa and mini bar. Overall the hotel valued for money. Breakfast typical Indian veg dishes. western option are only cereal and bread with jam and butter. Location wise, it is very convenient to walk around to the market street for shopping and find food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Sharath from Bangalore

No value for money

Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Expensive, not worth the cost you have to pay for staying there.