Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
2.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Birmingham, UK

conveniently situated in Central, Kolkata

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Very pleasant staff
Cons: General appearance, cleanliness
Location: conveniently central, but quiet at night. transport readily available
taxi drivers had some difficulty finding hotel. Staff very obliging, but the hotel needs a little TLC. We had booked in for three separate stays and we decided not to change these arrangements. Beds were clean - although lacking top sheet, which was immediately supplied on request each time. Would only be able to recommend if some improvements were made.
3 out of 5
by Timbofrom Wales

Hotel in the backstreets of Calcutta

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Lovely people working there
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Very near to Mother Teresa's house but up some very dodgy backstreets
A hotel ran by lovely people. However it was filthy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ramfrom Trivandrum

Good budget hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed in hotel for a day during my official trip. Although surroundings are not so great but the overall location is very good. Almost everything is easily accessible from this hotel like part circus, Victoria memorial, national museum, esplanade etc. The service and support from the hotel staff is very good. They are very co-operative. They have arranged a taxi for my out-station trip at very nominal price. In short I can say that if you are not much bothered about the surroundings, this is very good budget hotel. I would definitely recommend it.
1 out of 5
by 1/2dfrom Los Angeles

Not a clean place. Rude front desk staff.

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: I liked checking out.
Well, this was a last minute booking (minutes before jumping on a plane from Bangkok to Kolkata). I blame myself for waiting until the last minute, and Expedia for showing this hotel as an option. To begin with, I was traveling with a friend, I booked a double room. Upon arrival, there were two men at the front desk (one appeared to be either the owner or the manager). First thing they do is tell us that my reservation was wrong, that I booked a single room and, if we wanted a double-bed room, we would have to pay extra money. When I explained that I had booked a double room, they simply replied by saying that their reservation system received a request for a single-bed room. If they received the wrong information, it was not their problem but mine. After a few minutes, I was able to connect to the web and I showed these two men the Expedia reservation that clearly stated "double-bed room". Well, unfortunately that was not the end of the argument, they now argued that the reservation was made for one person and not two people. The fact that I reserved a room with two beds was to be set aside, they said. After pushing and pulling for a while, we ended up paying about $5 USD extra to be allowed into our room. The room was not clean. The sheets had not been washed, they had hair and other stuff. We requested new sheets and the ones brought looked as dirty as the previous ones. Never going back...
1 out of 5
by Subratfrom San Francisco, CA

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: It was close to the area i wanted to live in, it had a website, it has a visible entrance and close to main streets. It had an attached food service.
Cons: The cleanliness, lighting need to improve a lot. Bathrooms : dirty, old, broken. no toilet paper stand, showers, 1 phone line, WiFi is weak
Location: Location - chaos, too crowded, heavy traffic, nothing to do nearby. close to us consulate for Visa interviews.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by vivekfrom delhi

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
good at hotel, staff also good , valuable if you can avoid surroundings and window
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by msfrom usa/india

good party hall, yummy food

Posted Nov 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Canadian stdntfrom Toronto

Good for by Indian standards.

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Pros: I liked it's location and price.
Cons: the room service took forever. cleaner than the average dive but still not up to western standards. bring your own towels, TP and a sheet
It is not a bad place to stay, it's close to a lot of the places everybody wants to see while in town. Some people said it was hard to find but I never had a problem.
1 out of 5
by Kalam

Crowdee

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Horrible & Terrible Not suggesting this hotel to anyone