Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from London

Nice hotel in central Kolkata

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Did anyone notice that the soap holders in the bath/shower are both on a tilt? Soap just slides off them - pointless.
Friendly and helpful staff, fine room and a lovely breakfast.
5 out of 5
by steve from sydney

Nice hotel excellent staff

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: location , cleanliness and excellent staff
Cons: previous a free drink voucher at the Big Ben pub was given out at check in I would have liked this to once again be available
Location: Close to Victoria monument a Yoga training clinic that runs 21 day courses located nearby as well
All the staff in every area of this hotel are excellent It was a year since we last visited and we were treated like family by everyone. The driver Mr Hardev was excellent considering the Kolkata traffic is a free for all we felt very safe with his driving and comments on all points of interest and local culture of Kolkata, Mr O'Donahue from the front counter felt like my long lost uncle upon our arrival and Maryann in the dinning room made breakfast enjoyable every morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mario from Perth, Australia

We enjoyed it

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Making sure booking issues do not embarrass the guests and make them feel at fault, when they're not.
Location: Good location. Victoria Memorial walking idstance as well as Park Road for shopping.
Initially the hotel made a big error and only gave us 1 of our 2 bookings whenwe arrived at 1am in the morning, even though all my paperwork showed otherwise, then we were told we'd need to pay for an extra bed, for the thin matress on the floor. The next day the manager sorted out the confusion and gave us a suite, still only 1 room with an additional bed, so we didn't get the 2 rooms as we needed, but the space of the suite was comfortable enough. Other than that the hotel was pleasant to stay at, clean, friendly staff, good breakfast selection and good options to dine inhouse - not cheap though. I'd stay there again if I went back to Kolkata.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ron from Manchester

Excellent hotel in an very good location.

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Our choice is we visit Kolkatat again.
Cons: The bar prices are a shade on the high side.
Location: Excellent location for restaurants and transport.
We stayed seven nights during January 2014. The hotel is impressive, clean, good facilities and friendly & helpful staff. Most of the night life is a ten minutes walk away and the route is busy and safe. The bar prices are on the high side compared to some. However, there is a a very long "happy hour", some hours long, and free nibbles. There is a culture thing you may need to come to terms with, in as much that, you will be expected to share tables with others for breakfast, something we had no issue with. We eat in the hotel on only one occasion, towards the end of our trip. It is a very good quality buffet and good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Farahnaz from Boston,Massachuttes

Very good hotel close to all shopping mall etc.

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: Lawn and bar b q place.
Cons: They should have something called pick up and drop from and to Airport. If anybody book this hotel through online, they should get this privilege.
Location: Shopping places and department stores.
We will definitely stay in our next trip. Staffs are very friendly. Our stay were a comfortable one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by amiya mishra from hyderabad

Good location; Pleasant stay

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location: very strategically located right in the downtown. Plenty of shopping and eating options within 10 minutes of walking distance. The nearest metro is also less than 5 minutes walking. Checkin/Checkout was a jiffy. The lady who handled my check was extremely proficient. She handled all my request, including late check out promptly (without any usual let-me-check delays). Food is good. The breakfast buffet spread is also pretty decent. Room size was smaller than what I expected, although not at all claustrophobic. The furnishings are very tastefully done. The toiletries are also good. The only unpleasant experience was the Spa guy. At the time of Checkin, I was promised 10% discount for all spa services. While settling the bill at checkout, the guys started putting in disclaimer clauses to deny me the discount. I had to put it sternly in a firm to stop the nonsense after which he gave the discount. I think the hotel could have done away with this nuisance from an otherwise very pleasant experience. Other than this incident, I would highly recommend the hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2013 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review on this public forum. Located in the heart of the city, Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata is a popular choice amongst business and leisure travellers. We are glad that our service offerings matched your expectations and that your stay with us was comfortable. Also, it’s a pleasure to know that our location added value to your stay. However, we noted your concern regarding the spa service and would like to inform you that we are investigating the matter. We thank you for sharing your review and look forward to welcoming you with a perfect stay experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by D. Ray from St Louis

Boutique hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice place with proximity to many points of interest. All the service of more upscale hotels with the friendliness and helpful attitudes from the doorman to the housekeepers, to the front desk to the restaurant serving staff. Would stay there again and recommend it to friends! And don't miss the pub like atmosphere of the bar!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2013 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review on this public forum. Located in the heart of the city, our hotel in Kolkata is a popular choice amongst business as well as leisure travelers and I am glad it added value to your stay. At Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata, we are committed to offering a memorable experience to our guests and your kind words of appreciation have motivated the entire team. It’s a privilege to receive a recommendation from our esteemed patrons. We thank you once again for your custom and look forward to your continued visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anand from Bangalore

Best hotel at best rate

Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very courteous staff with very clean rooms with awesome breakfast and food.Highly Recommended to one and all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2013 by Management, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and recommending it on this public forum. Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata is a sought after hotel in the “City of Joy” and your testimony is an acknowledgement of its stature. It is a pleasure to note that you were more than satisfied with our amenities and service and your kind appraisal has been shared with the entire team. We thank you again for your valuable recommendation and hope to welcome you back at our hotel in Kolkata.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by jay from canada

can do better

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
it was nice but nothing special . needs to up grade for 4 star competition ,very ordinary standards , but the staff selection was good