Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic room design in a great location

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: The combination of the beach and jungle activities in an excellent location.
Cons: The hotel was close to perfect.
Location: The orangutan rehabilitation experience was well worth the trip on its own.
Hotel is located in a beautiful and relaxing setting. The room was large, comfortable and perfectly designed. The beach was very wide and great for walking and swimming. In addition the food at the variety of restaurants was first class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Great hotel, amazing beach

Posted Aug 8, 2014
When I checked in I was asked if I wanted an upgrade, but they asked for an additional 70 Ringots per night. Would have been a nice gesture to be upgraded and not asked for the extra amount. Same happened 5 days earlier in KL. A wider choice of food would have been appreciated. Great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Great Improvements

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Everything clean and in great working order which unfortunately is not always the case in Asian Hotels
Great for Golf and a quiet rest in luxury will try and get back when things are quiet and all facilities are free just when you want to participate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great get-away

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff
Cons: 0
Location: Mari Mari culture village - excellent !
Wonderful resort and many options to keep busy - need no more to be said
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by k from brunei darussalam

great beach side location

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: location, satff, rooms and facilities
excellent beach side location with water sports and kids zone 5 choices of food outlets but the indian restaurant was closed for 2 days during our stay very helpful staff only problem is that it is very far from the town centre and airport. if you land during office hours it can take more than 1 hour to reach. though convenient taxis are available, you cannot got to the town centre if you have few hours at your disposal. overall a great and memorable experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place, great staff

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable and friendly staff
Just had 4 days at Rasa Ria, we found the staff extremely friendly and happy to engage in conversation. The food was great and our room, rainforest view, was very comfortable and clean. Great pool and the happy hour was very welcome. Access to the Orangutang orphange was fantasic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CJ from USA

I actually stayed at Shangri-La Tanjung Aru.

Posted May 24, 2014
Last time I stayed it was a beautiful tranquil spot. No more! A water park has been installed and the hotel is now infested with screaming children! All tranquility has vanished. Too bad, hopefully Rosa Ria has maintained its peace and beauty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Costas from Singapore

A nice hotel on the sea with no beach...

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Its location and the friendly staff.
Cons: The use of the sea to swim and the food at the restaurants was not at the level I was expected. Especially the local cuisine was mediocre.
Location: Not much to do near by, unless one takes the organised tours. Shuttle to the city is 45'.
A very nice location, great sunsets. I am a swimming addict, and found the pools very small and fragmented. Although there is a great sandy beach in front of the hotel, then have separated a small rectangle in the sea about 50x80m were they allow you to swim. And the reasons they claim is that they can see the swimmers in this area. Eventually I managed to swim around and I found the rocks on the right side towards the end of the small peninsula fascinating with hundreds of fish etc. No danger at all. All sand and at a depth of 1.5-2m. There are no currents. So the only possible reason for scaring people away from the sea might be the occurrence of jelly fish. But they come in large groups and they know when they are there. Also this happens few days a year. So if one has a mask it should be not an issue to get into any unexpected danger. In few words, among all the people staying at this hotel, I was probably the only one that enjoyed the sea... everybody else should either stay around the pool or take the expensive organised snorkelling trips. Besides the swimming issue and enjoying the sea, I have a very good experience with the hotel. The breakfast is fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rhonda from Sydney, Australia

Fantastic resort

Posted May 18, 2014
Set along side a jungle nature reserve, this place had activities galore; fire fly night treks, canopy walks, village visits, orangutan sightings & for the kids ranger for a day & kids club activities including how to shoot blow darts. Beside all this action a beautiful beach & two poolsides to laze around & relax. Restaurant buffet with every choice you could want. Friendly staff & luxury service. Don't usually go to the same place twice but I will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Zosiaa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com