Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jason from Trinidad

Sheer excellence

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The most beautiful place ever. The food was exceptional.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Debayan Biswas from New Delhi

Average resort - exorbitant prices

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
This certainly does not qualify to call itself a 5-star resort. The only reason it ranks itself high is because of it's beautiful location and the "heritage" label. Rooms are mediocre, definitely not commensurate with the price you pay for the same. We stayed in a "Heritage Villa with Private Pool" and paid a cool 18k per night for the 3 nights we stayed there. The least that you would expect after shelling out that much would be privacy - which is a luxury here. The balcony falls right on the busy pathway overlooking a dirty canal and the lake. When in the pool, you can hear your neighbours! Surprisingly, even the service was lax and very person dependent. Some were very prompt - the others indifferent. The food, for it's taste/quality is exorbitantly priced - imagine 1800 bucks pp for a buffet dinner! The pity is is, being in the middle of nowhere, eating here is pretty much the only option you would have
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by blg134 from oxford UK

A week in the sun relaxing

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: Peace, choice if food, pleasant staff
Cons: More cupboards in the bedrooms, better bar facilities
Location: Backwater trip us a must, bird sanctuary at this time if year is fascinating.
An excellent hotel which in many ways exceeded our expectations. The day on the backwaters was magical and disruption caused by royal visitors kept to a minimum. Thoroughly recommended .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Viswanathan from Philadelphia, US

Very good for couple and families

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: Landscape of the hotel
Cons: Food
We booked the pool villa. The villa are built like a traditional kerala house and the pool is a nice add on. The resort is well maintained and the staffs are polite and informative. The resort has a beautiful landscape overlooking the lake. On the whole we had a wonderful time. Now something to improve, the food is not upto the mark and its a bit costly and doesnt worth the cost. This is to Kerala Roadways. Unfortunately I decided to travel through road from Coimbatore to Kerala as it said in papers just 210 KM in which around 180 KM is NH 47. But I never had the idea about how worst is NH47, it took me 7 hours for my return journey the highway (please change the name) is full of signals and passes through all the big cities in Kerala. Overtaking al those trucks were biggest nightmares. Please stay away from NH 47.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S. Madhavan from Bangalore

KLR really pampers you

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Room Service Extremely friendly and polite staff
Location: Bird Sanctuary
I am extremely fascinated with the kind of experience I felt there. I have an eye for detail. I was very observant everywhere to see if there is anything or anyone that creates an unpleasant experience. There was none. All of them were well trained and well mannered. Me being a Mallu, there are several places in Kerala I have been and I was always able to find something unpleasant in my experience naturally. But here, I adore the staff mannerisms, their friendliness and how open they are. God Bless your business. The food was ecstatic lil pricey but I dont mind that because of such a paradise you have made. Anyways, Cheers keep it up!!!! ME & FAMILY will visit you again. Thanks, S. Madhavan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Best. Best hospitality. Private pool was the best part
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Navy from Oslo, Norway

Good resort to relax.

Posted Sep 26, 2013
Pros: Lake Pool
Cons: Food quality and choice
Location: Location is for people who want to relax in the resort and see the few nearby attractions. If you want to see the city/beaches etc. don't stay here.
The good: - Daughter of 8 months was well taken care of (baby sitting while we had dinner, cleaned bottles, helped with food etc.) - Always smiling, friendly and helpful staff - Good place to relax in The bad: - Expensive food. Not much choice in food. I've had much better food in normal restaurants. (Quantity is great though!) - Private pool was much smaller than I had thought. Its good, but not awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best resorts in that area.

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: The staff are all well trained and friendly and very attentive to your needs and wants.
Cons: The restaurant menu prices were a tad bit too steep for our liking.
Location: If you are interested in exploring the area and tasting the local cuisine taxis available at the resort can take you into town and bring you back.
We spent 2 days at the resort and the whole family enjoyed the stay. The 'thattu kada' open air restaurant offers traditional Kerala tea time favorites. Special mention must be made of the complimentary boat rides, and the special music and shows every night at the main restaurant. The complimentary breakfast is also a big deal - very elaborate and satisfying. Kudos!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarah from Guildford, Surrey, UK

A great place for families with older children

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Swimming pool location
Cons: No pool side bar
Location: Stunning
Excellent location and superb service and food. We enjoyed the games room, free pottery class, sunset cruise and thought the swimming pools were magnificent. The tea shop was good fun and the snacks delicious. The staff were all very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Packs of cards in the games room would have been good and a pool side drinks bar would have added an extra touch to the wonderful setting and experience. Bathrobes in the bathroom would also have been good. The beds were the most luxurious we have ever slept in. The cottages are simply amazing. We loved every minute. Thank you Kumarakom!