Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ahmedabad

stay with comfort

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: staff service and hospitality
warm welcome with taking care of comfort tasty food service .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tirtha Rokafrom Gorkha Nepal

Old hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: hospitality
Cons: Must have to improved all the facilities , better renovation
Location: Location is good , near sea
What I expected from Taj Group of Hotel was not that , very old hotel but staff was really great , nice hospitality
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by piyushfrom gaborone, botswana

Took extra time

Posted Apr 13, 2014
The manager made an extra effort to give my parents a comfortable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth every single penny

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Worth for money you spend there.Hotel staff is super good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by SVGfrom Kent

Convenient stopover between Kochi & Goa

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not a major tourist destination more of a stopover between Goa & Cochin (Kochi). Probably not much other choice in town, but this is not up to usual very high Taj Standards. Looked tired and as if Taj had just taken over an old Days Inn. Chipped and faded paintwork, bathrooms in need of a refit. But most people stopping here would not be expecting the Ritz Carlton or similar. Nor was I, but it could do with a lick of paint and some updating. Lovely enthusiastic and very helpful staff; the state of the bathrooms is not their fault. Key didn't work the 24 hours we were there and we had to be let into the room with a master key every time. Good internet but I do resent having to pay for it. Many good chains offer it for free
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Virinder

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Arjunfrom Bangalore, India

A decent place to stay in Calicut.

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: The kitchen and restaurant staff were very good.
Cons: Condition of the bathrooms.
The staff was very nice, the Chef went out of his way to make us a cake at the last minute for a birthday we were attending and the entire restaurant staff was very accommodating and friendly. The food was excellent too. However, the room was a little disappointing. the mini-bar was empty, house-keeping had not attended to our room until 4pm in the afternoon, and fittings like faucets, shower heads etc in the bathroom were obviously very old and not properly maintained. The pool too was not available as the circulation equipment was out of order and the water had taken on a scarily green hue. All in all, it was a decent stay made better by the staff and the food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karthikfrom Bangalore, India.

Hotel is just 5 minutes walk from Calicut Beach.

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: Close proximity to the beach and bus stand is just 2-3 kms away. Room price is worth paying Rs.3,600 for a stay at a 5 star hotel like Taj Gateway.
Cons: Gateway Restaurant's Ala Carte food menu price is quite on higher side and dinner food quality was average and not that great for the price charged.
Location: Hotel is located inside city and close to Palayam bus boarding point. S.M street for Halwas. Kappad Beach is just 20 kms from hotel & worth a visit.
First of all the contact phone number listed on Expedia itenarary was incorrect. I visited hotel's website on my smartphone and got the correct phone number. Though I stayed there for only one night, I had a great time at Taj Gateway Hotel located on P.T.Usha Road, Calicut. Even though it is not a beach resort, the hotel is just 5 minutes walk from Calicut beach. Being a 5 star hotel, the facilities and services offered are of high international standards which we can expect from Ratan Tata's Taj group of hotels. The hotel staff were very helpful and always smiling. They have a nice Ayurvedic massage and treatment center. Hot buffet breakfast is served in morning and really loved the uthappams and vattayappam. The chef personally came and inquired about the quality of food, and if I required anything of my choice. I felt as if I was some celebrity or a prince. regarding the swimming pool I think the water had too much chlorine content and my eyes had a burning sensation as soon as I got into the pool water.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Okay ..

Posted Aug 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel seems to be below par for a "Taj" brand .. Also it was the monsoon period .. So that could explain the musty odors in the rooms. Restaurant is good and up to the Taj brand .. Lobby area etc is pleasant .. Staff English is basic though most can speak well enough ..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Squirrel05from UK

The best hotels in Calicut

Posted Jul 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
I had a very enjoyable stay here and they have lots of facilities to take advantage of. Very quick room service too and very friendly staff. The only negative is you cannot adjust the temperature on the air conditioning so for me having it on got too chilly and having it off,with no ceiling fan, got too stuffy. I think robes should also be provided so after a massage you don't have to struggle with your clothes and oily/wet Hair on them. Other than that, the food selection was great and to a very good standard. Thanks for making me feel welcome in your hotel.