Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very niCe resort

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Great resort and friendly staff. 25-30 min walk into town not 10-15 but great for anyone that wants a villa style resort. They have a shuttle leaving every hr but the return shuttle is not frequent enough
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by candice from Adelaide

A beautiful resort

Posted Jun 16, 2014
The resort was superb. The view of the mountains was stunning and the staff were wonderful. It is just off the Main Street in AoNang (5mins). I really loved the atmosphere here, quiet and natural. It would be great for a wedding!!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely setting

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: The setting
Cons: The rooms are in need of refurbishment, all staff need to improve their English skills, especially the restaurant staff and the towels need replacing.
Location: The location, whilst very beautiful, is certainly not walkable into Aonang. A courtesy 'bus' is provided, which is a must.
The mountain setting is beautiful and the staff very friendly. There is a definite language barrier with the restaurant staff and the advertised evening buffet wasn't available as there were too few guests - this was something we had looked forward to as the reviews were very good and you didn't always want to take the courtesy bus into Aonang itself for a meal. Whilst the hotel offered a la carte dining, the service was painstakingly slow, the language barrier awkward and no air conditioning and a reluctancy to have the fans on (only switched on once during the 5 days)! The breakfast was very poor for English people but I understand and accept that we are the minority guests. Also, the cleaners could do with using some cleaning products, eg bleach, as the toilet in our room smelt of stale urine for the duration of our stay and there was no smell whatsover of cleaning products having been used. The rooms are too dimly lit but I think this is to disguise the need for refurbishment. Finally, the sheets were not changed once and the towels need replacing and the shower heads cleaning so that you can have a proper shower!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by nina from mississauga, on , canada

ms, mensah

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: the view points, and the spacious rooms
Cons: need full length mirrors and extended kitchen hours
Location: quick ride a towards the town , with markets and nice entertainment
Although my stay was short this hotel gave me a new perspective of the beauty Thailand has to offer. stark contrast from the hostel life. I would highly recommend this hotel clean and spacious rooms. the only thing was we wanted food and the kitchen just had closed and they would not make us food. The first order of business is pleasing the customer going above and beyond. we were not asking much, that was the only disappointment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gradon

Great hotel for long stay

Posted May 13, 2014
Most comfortable, very beautiful, great stay. Just far from aaonang beach but good for motorbike experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paras from Singapore

lovely view to admire

Posted Apr 10, 2014
my trip to krabi was amazing.... especially when i first stepped into ao nang phu petra hotel.... it was truly a view so beautiful....a scenic place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ZY from singapore

Quiet and relaxing stay

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Although it may be a bit further from the beachside, we enjoyed walking through the entire streets to get to the beach. Room is spacious, very clean, and the decor creates a relaxing mood. The cleanliness of bathrooms is very important to me, and I found this one perfect. Great view of the cliffs from the poolside. Very pleasant staff. Had an enjoyable stay and would definitely recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by RC from sg

Nice hotel, value for money

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Nice hotel, great staff, excellent restaurant: much better than the outside ones for authentic Thai food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JimDems from Windsor, UK

Tranquil, beautiful location. Great hotel.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Very friendly, helpful staff. Lovely pool. Beautiful rooms & bathroom. Stunning gardens & mountain backdrop. Perfect if you like to be out of the way.
Cons: Breakfast expensive at 350bht per person. Good selection but we don't eat much for breakfast so we gave it a miss. Vary the piped music a little! :)
Location: Around 2km from beach, stunning mountain location. Distance no problem as free shuttle runs all day & only 1/2km from edge of town. 100bht for tuktuk
Loved this hotel and absolute bargain at £46pn! Plus we got a free upgrade to a stunning pool-side room when we arrived. Particularly loved the huge bathroom. Nothing too much trouble and even a minor confusion over breakfast was efficiently sorted out by the lovely receptionist. The Thai banquet evening was worth doing - great food, live traditional music and releasing Chinese lanterns around the pool side. We hired a scooter through the hotel which was great value and well organised. Delivered to the hotel in 10 mins with helmets for 300 bht/day. Well worth doing - we had a great day exploring Khao Phanom Bencha national park. Other amazing trips included Kayaking in the mangroves at Ao Thalane, Krabi Cookery School, 5 island sunset boat trip, Railay beaches (by longtail from the beach). We booked our trips in advance but the hotel will arrange this for you. Also Ao Nang is a nice town to explore with monkeys on the beach at the far south-eastern end. The Beach Bar serves great cocktails and has good live music.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Aonang Phu Petra = Poo Petra

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Cons: Cleanliness, helpfulness of staff.
I write this email to expedia: As someone who booked the majority of my Cambodia/Thailand trip through your website as well as multiple other vacations and have agreed with its ratings, I wanted to contact you in reference to the Aonang Phu Petra Resort in Krabi, Thailand where I stayed from 1/9/14-1/12/14. This hotel was $250/night and rated at four stars but it did not come close to the expectations set by our other stays through your site. To start, while the room is large it is quite outdated - not the biggest deal if that was all. There are stains on the sheets as well as the bed canopy and black stains on the white walls in multiple locations in the room. Not scuff marks - dirty. The mattress is also incredibly hard. Like, really uncomfortably hard, not good-for-your-back hard. My husband took a shower - not only was the shower head pointing at the ceiling and thus sprayed a water arc which soaked his towel, it is partially calcified so water doesn't even come out of all of the water spout holes. Best part, however, is when we notice ants crawling out of the toilet tank. When I asked the desk if there was another room to move to they politely said they were at capacity it handed us a can of ant poison spray for the ants. We aren't divas and can certainly spray ants on our own with our fully-functioning arms but this is not what $250/night should get you. My husband reports there is a smell but I can't confirm as I have a stuffy nose at the moment :(.