Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Well designed resort with great staff

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Spacious, great breakfast, great staff
Cons: The private beaches are very small and rocky, the one with sand wasn't used at all for sunbathing when we were there.
Location: Saladan is the place to eat cheaply. Very quiet mid August, this is not a night life location. There are ferries daily to other islands.
We stayed as a family of four (two teenage daughters) in August, we wanted a relaxing few days in between two trips to Singapore, and pretty much got that. The resort is well laid out and feels spacious but it is set on a steep cliff and the steep walks may not be suitable for less mobile people. The hotel operates a number of buggies around the site if needed. The staff were excellent during our stay, helpful and polite. The rooms are large and comfy rather than luxurious, but we were in the most basic near to the lap pool. The breakfast buffet was extensive, with western and Thai options available, the cooked to order pancakes and waffles were a hit with us. The only disappointing thing was the hotel beaches, one is only rocks, the other is a small bay with some sand but rocky also. There is a very long public beach accessible from the hotel but at the time of our stay it was very dirty, covered in rubbish, despite many other hotels fronting onto it. If you stay here and want pristine sand the go on an island hopping tour - there are many trips available and also ferries from Saladan. The main pool area is very nice though, and there is a small deck area near the lap pool for sunbathing. We used the spa for massages which were very good and professional. We used the hotel shuttle bus into the town of Saladan quite a lot, its also easy to get a tuk-tuk taxi in and out. The travel shops in the town are much cheaper than the hotel for day trips, hotel/airport transfers etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from thailand

Nice view 2 sea side

Posted Aug 17, 2014
This hotel was great. Room is clean and big. Good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from singapore

Relaxed

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Clean, very comfortable bed. We booked a massage session for two hours and it was totally worth the money spent. About S$88 per pax
We were there for our long overdue break and have to say that the trip help us to relax thoroughly. No stress, everywhere is quiet, partly also because we were there at their low season and this according to the hotel staff. We went for kayaking and a little island hopping. The last time I had such an experience was probably 20 years ago. Totally love it. When we left, we felt that we should have extended the stay for another couple of days as we were just getting the hang of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay!!!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: We loved everything about the hotel. Right from the rooms to the pools to the restaurant. It was just perfect!!
Cons: No they are just perfect
Location: Can visit the awesome beaches, the Seladan town is quaint and nice.
We stayed in Crown Lanta from 7th August 2014 till 9th August 2014 and it was like a dream. We had a pool access room and it was just fabulous. The room was clean and in excellent condition. The access pool and our very own sun deck was the main attraction for us. We spent a lot of time there. The hotel staff were very very cordial and friendly and I need to mention the name of a staff called Eye who was really very helpful and went out of her way to show the entire property to us. Also need to mention about the Reggae Bar which is really really awesome. The bar is situated almost on the beach with a low sitting arrangement, candle light and great music. We had our share of special moments there. Over all we had a great stay at the Crown Lanta and we will surely recommend all our friends and family to visit. This place is simply magical!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Everything very good

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Very good, nice hotel, clean and the people is kine. Was a really good experience. I recommend very much
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Low Season Review

Posted Jul 28, 2014
An enjoyable stay, at a resort with superb and attentive staff. Be careful if booking outside the high season, as much reduced facilities are available, eg: one restaurant, one pool side bar and no evening bar facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Secluded slice of heaven

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Quiet, private and well organised. My partner proposed whilst we were there and the hotel gave us complimentary (decent) champagne and cake!
Cons: The bathroom had a little bit of mould on the ceiling, and the restaurants / bar don't put their service charges as part of the prices - which is odd.
Location: The complex is very private. It has been built on a tiny peninsula, with stunning views over the ocean. We did the long boat trip - well worth it!
We arrived after staying in two other parts of Thailand, and I can honestly say - this was my favourite place! We stayed for 4 days in total. On arrival we were given a drink and a cooling flannel to freshen up - which was very much appreciated! We had organised a transfer from Krabi airport directly with the hotel - which we would recommend as it would have been way to much hassle to do it on our own. We chose the poolside rooms that you could walk into the pool from your terrace - this is awesome! It was low season, so luckily the hotel was only half full. It meant that we had the pool to ourselves most of the time. The Peak restaurant serves an amazing buffet breakfast (and is where you can dine in the evening) - I don't think anyone would have problems finding something they like to eat during breakfast, but understandably they serve mainly Thai cuisine in the evening. We went to the Cliff restaurant for lunch twice - they are very generous with the portions and do an amazing burger. The Reggae bar over the beach is worth checking out as well. We stayed with another couple and us girls had a manicure in the Spa. It seemed as though the staff were trained experts in Thai massage, but other beauty treatments were not something they did regularly. It has got a few steep hills that can make getting from one end of the complex to another a bit of a mission, but you can call for a buggy to drive you for free if you are feeling lazy - which we did most of the time!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Very isolated hotel with private beach

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Hotel staff were not friendly generally. No initiatives at all. Have to travel by car within the hotel. Hotel is big. Breakfast with little choices.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Almost a 4/5

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The spa, the breakfast with the view, the housekeeping staff.
Cons: Transportation. It's a 4.5 stars. Most of hotels that range provides complimentary transportations especially outside the hours.
Location: Unfortunately, transportation was limited, we haven't seen much which was the main priority when we choosed to go in Koh Lanta.
The hotel is very nice and the breakfast was definitely a plus. But we won't come back for the only reason that the hotel (4.5 stars indeed) doesn't provide any transportation that allows you to go in and around the island. It's like a trap due to the location and they know it, so you'll have to get through your wallet if you need to access the hotel. We had to hitchhike 3 times for a 2 hours drive until we got to the island and then the hotel because there were no transportation at all (public and private) at the time we arrived around 6pm. We had a chat with the staff in our late arrival hoping they will help when we leave but they haven't seems to be concerned. Even though we insisted, we had to hitchhike again for leaving the island. I'm not surprised the hotel was almost empty. A big ++ to the massage team, they were amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by CMS79 from Essex

Fantastic Hotel

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed our stay, we had a private pool outside our patio doors. The hotel was really helpful and attentive, clean and the beds were comfy and big. I would definately recommend.