Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ein Traum von einer Hotelanlage - Erholung pur

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Das Zimmer und der Strand
Wir haben Ende November drei Nächte im Outrigger verbracht und fühlten uns wie im Paradies. Kaum angekommen wird man bereits einem frischen sehr leckeren Cocktail und feuchten Handtüchern zur Erfrischung empfangen. Das Personal ist unglaublich freundlich und zuvorkommend. Die Hotelanlage ist wunderschön und die Liebe steckt im kleinsten Detail. Täglich wird die Anlage mit frischen Blüten geschmückt, sogar der Aschenbecher! Wir hatten ein kleines Häuschen, das sehr gut ausgestattet und sauber war. In der Lobby kann man kostenlos W-Lan nutzen. Jeden Abend gab es sehr angenehme Live-Musik, die auch für zwei Personen noch spielte. Der Stand ist sehr sauber und es gibt genügend Liegen. Insgesamt ist es ein perfekter Ort für Paare, die sich nach Ruhe und Erholung sehnen. Unser Aufenthalt hätte nicht schöner sein können. Vielen Dank an das gesamte Outrigger-Team!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom GOLD COAST

Quaint Cabins On Quiet Private Beach

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Food, staff, scenery, pool, hammocks, and virgin pena coladas.
Cons: layout of cabins
Location: Maya Bay-where the movie -"The Beach" was filmed is 40mins in junk ,go before 730am to beat the others and the lagoons are a must!
Cute cabins, picturesque resort with amazing food and staff. Nice quiet location away from the party side of PhiPhi only downfall is that you can only swim in ocean for a certain part of the day when the tide is in but the pool is pretty amazing with a slide and swim up bar so that makes up for it. One other downfall was that if you don't book the burets right on the beach- ours was 3 rows back, then your balcony and windows don't face the ocean breeze so to keep cool and mosquitos out (mosies were quite bad), you have to turn on air conditioning -which we don't like. But overall the resort was quite lovely -a little overpriced though - I thought.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Away from the noise of Tonsai Bay

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Beautiful view and the small village behind the resort. Really comfortable rooms.
Cons: The golf cart service is slow to arrive. The hotel says 5-10 minutes but really more like 10-20, quicker to walk unless you've got luggage in tow.
Location: Maya Beach, Snorkeling, Canoeing
The villa was spacious, clean and had a comfortable bed. We arrived late (checked out another hotel in Tonsai Bay and decided not to stay in the area) so we missed their shuttle boat and had to catch a long tail by ourselves (1,000 Baht for a private boat). If you make the hotels it's 200 Baht per person. Even though we arrived late check-in was smooth and they quickly put together a room. Breakfast was good, large selection. Definitely recommend this hotel for anyone not looking to party all night. But if you do plan on going out for a night in Tonsai Bay be aware you have to catch a long tail boat back and depending on weather conditions they aren't always willing to go. We loved being away from the ruckus of Tonsai Bay. There is a small village behind the resort with great restaurants and bars. In the village is Phad Thai restaurant, really good. Ate there 2 nights in a row and skipped the hotels food, looked a lot more expensive and can't imagine it was better. We did the Phi Phi Lae 1/2 day tour (Maya Beach, snorkeling in another bay and lunch on a small beach) through the hotel last minute. It was too late to book anywhere else but I think it's about half price if you do so through the village. BUT it was still a great time and worth the 1650 Baht per person.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2014 by Ruud H, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your nice and peaceful experience from your recent stay at Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort. I am very glad to read you enjoyed your overall stay inclusive your clean and comfortable room and our excellent breakfast. We pride ourselves in providing the genuine warm Thai hospitality and are always willing to go that extra mile to assure our guests leave with positive memories of their stay. I do hope to have a chance to welcome you back to our resort again on your next visit to Thailand and thank you for having stayed with us. With my best regards, Ruud Hulscher Chief Operating Officer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto ontario

Nice Place

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Check in was a bit frustrating as they asked us to show them an email confirmation of our booking but we couldn't connect to the internet. It took about 30 minutes and we were tired and just wanted our room (it was 4:30om). Finally they checked us in with our names and passports which should be how it's done anyway. The bungalow was decent. We only booked the superior bungalow which is the lowest grade I presume, but for $330 dollars Canadian a night I expected more. The bed was extremely hard and would move away from the wall. The drapes were dirty and cheap looking, and the bathroom could be better. However, we considered this place high end camping, as it felt we were in a trailor. In the morning breakfast was included and was a good buffet. The pool was beautiful, we very much enjoyed it. Behind the resort is a very small town where we frequented. You can eat, drink, get a massage etc. the for a littler cheaper than on the resort. I will say that the food was very fairly priced on the resort though and was decent-not great, but good. Over all we enjoyed our 3 nights at the Outrigger but it was definitely not the best hotel we stayed at during our trip to Thailand.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2014 by Ruud H, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort for your recent stay and for taking your valuable time to write your kind review of your experience. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our resort and facilities we have to offer. I regret however the check-in delays which you encountered as well as your perception of the room being dated, my personal apologies for this. All feedback is extremely important to us as they assist my team with an ongoing opportunity to improve our product and services. I will be sharing your feedback with my team so that we can address the issues. I am pleased to share that for next year we are planning to continue to gradually upgrade our room products to bring the interior designs in line with our new Deluxe Bungalows, this will certainly improve the looks and feel of the rooms for next year and beyond. My team and I are dedicated in delivering the very best service in order to exceed guests’ expectations. It is always rewarding to learn that our guests have very fond memories of our resort and staff. I look forward to seeing you again on your next retreat. With my best regards, Ruud Hulscher Chief Operating Officer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Resort, Great Location.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Received a free upgrade because of a wet and rough journey over on the Ferry. Nice swim up to bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2014 by Ruud H, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay at Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort. I am very glad to read you rated your overall stay as very good and that you enjoyed your room upgrade as well as our swim up bar in our spacious pool. We pride ourselves in providing the genuine warm Thai hospitality and are always willing to go that extra mile to assure our guests leave with positive memories of their stay. I do hope to have a chance to welcome you back to our resort again on your next visit to Thailand and thank you for having stayed with us. With my best regards, Ruud Hulscher Chief Operating Officer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Had a lovely stay. The pool area is fantastic. The rooms are very nice but don't expect 5* they were 4* at best. Head out to the village behind the hotel, the food is great and drinks are much cheaper. Overall we had a great 5 days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2014 by Ruud H, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your nice experience from your recent stay at Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa. I am very glad to read you had such a lovely stay and that you enjoyed your room and our nice pool. We pride ourselves in providing the genuine warm Thai hospitality and are always willing to go that extra mile to assure our guests leave with positive memories of their stay. I do hope to have a chance to welcome you back to our resort again on your next visit to Thailand and thank you for having stayed with us. With my best regards, Ruud Hulscher Chief Operating Officer
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2014 by Ruud H, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your nice experience from your recent stay at Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa. I am very glad to read you enjoyed your overall stay inclusive your room and our spacious pool. We pride ourselves in providing the genuine warm Thai hospitality and are always willing to go that extra mile to assure our guests leave with positive memories of their stay. I do hope to have a chance to welcome you back to our resort again on your next visit to Thailand and thank you for having stayed with us. With my best regards, Ruud Hulscher Chief Operating Officer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Horsley

Right on the beach!

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: The pool is quite nice and the tour we did through Outrigger was really enjoyable and the tour staff were great.
Cons: Rooms are a little dated and the ones up the back of the resort are quite far away and a bit confusing to find out at first.
Location: There is a great little restaurant right out the back of the outrigger to check out, Buffalo Head Bar.
This hotel stretches across the beach with a large pool looking out to sea. The rooms are a little older and the air con struggled to cool the temperature in our room. The layout of the resort is quite spread out so some walking may be required but the grounds are pleasant and well maintained.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2014 by Ruud H, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your nice experience from your recent stay at Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa. I am very glad to read you enjoyed our pool the resort layout and our well maintained grounds.I also highly appreciate your suggestions on the room and my apologies for the minor issue you faced. Worthwhile to mention is that we have an ongoing annual preventative maintenance and refurbishment program in place, which will freshen up the looks and feel of our rooms once all are completed We pride ourselves in providing the genuine warm Thai hospitality and are always willing to go that extra mile to assure our guests leave with positive memories of their stay. I do hope to have a chance to welcome you back to our resort again on your next visit to Thailand and thank you for having stayed with us. With my best regards, Ruud Hulscher Chief Operating Officer
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

great hotel, horrible service

Posted Oct 10, 2014
staff has awful attitude. saving grace is beachfront bungalows are amazing and there's a local village behind the hotel with awesome restaurants and small pubs cause there's nothing else around. do island tours and snorkeling trips with the guys in the village and not the hotel. better value and can have a private boat vs 15 other hotel guest. stay 3 nights max.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2014 by Ruud H, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa. Our aim is to exceed our guests’ expectations, I sincerely apologize we fell short in certain areas of your stay including your perception of our staff attitude which I take very seriously. Although normally we receive very positive comments about our staff. I will be sharing your feedback with my team so that we can address the issues. All feedback is extremely important to us as they assist my team with an ongoing opportunity to improve our services. I was glad to learn though you enjoyed our bungalows. I would welcome the opportunity to have you visit the property again and give us the chance to better serve you next time. Thank you for having stayed with us and for sharing your valuable comments. With my best regards, Ruud Hulscher Chief Operating Officer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Excellent Resort

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Stayed 4 nights at Outrigger Resort and had a fantastic time. The setting is great, pool is great and the food wonderful. There is the added bonus of Phi Phi Town just behind the resort. It's like a wild west town with cheap good food and cheap massages. We visited the Outrigger spa called Wana Spa, although a little expensive as most Spa's are it was excellent. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time even though it rained for 3 of the 4 days. Getting to the resort is a bit of a journey but well worth it in the end. Try to organise a speedboat from Phuket if you can,
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by Ruud H, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your nice experience from your recent stay at Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa. I am very glad to read you enjoyed our resort inclusive our great pool and cuisine as well as our Spa. We pride ourselves in providing the genuine warm Thai hospitality and are always willing to go that extra mile to assure our guests leave with positive memories of their stay. I do hope to have a chance to welcome you back to our resort again on your next visit to Thailand and thank you for having stayed with us. With my best regards, Ruud Hulscher Chief Operating Officer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Justinefrom Montreal, Canada

Exceptional Resort!!!

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our time - the resort is perfect!! Restaurants and bars are great, with a lot of choices, The pool is really nice, and the beach area is exceptional! Service is great, we were upgraded for free to take the resort's catamaran on the way back to Phuket, which is great and saved us a lot of time! Excursion to Koh Phi Phi Leh is perfect - it leaves very early so we were alone at Maya Bay!!! The only thing is that we have to take a long boat to go to the pier area (there is no road), so the way to the view point is a bit of a challenge (but totally feasible and worth it).
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by Ruud Hulscher, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience from your recent stay at Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa. I am very delighted to read you enjoyed our resort inclusive our restaurants and nice pool as well as our friendly service. We pride ourselves in providing the genuine warm Thai hospitality and are always willing to go that extra mile to assure our guests leave with positive memories of their stay. I do hope to have a chance to welcome you back to our resort again on your next visit to Thailand and thank you for having stayed with us. With my best regards, Ruud Hulscher Chief Operating Officer