Ratings based on 376 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Beckum

Schönes Hotel etwas sehr abgelegen

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Die Poolanlage
Das Hotel ist gut, mit guten Service und einem schönen Pool an einer einsamen Bucht gelegen. Bei Ebbe zieht sich allerdings das Meer ca. 500 Meter zurück, da die Bucht sehr flach ist. Im Hinterland gibt es fussläufig ein kleines Thai-Dorf. Sehr nett und fast so wie im Märchen. Echtes Thailand sieht anders aus, wir waren auch mittelschwer verwundert. Im Hotel scheint es viele Pauschaltouristen zu geben, die dann wohl glauben, dass ist Thailand :-) Sowohl im Hotel, wie auch in dem Dorf sind alle Preise ziemlich überteuert, da keine Konkurrenz. Wir waren nur auf einem Stopover für 3 Tage im Hotel und waren froh, als es weiter ging. Uns war es zu einsam, aber das ist natürlich Geschmacksache.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely resort right at the beach

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Beautiful resort and up-to-date.
Cons: A little bit pricey.
We spent a week of our honeymoon at this resort, and we had a wonderful time. The huts are lovely, clean and well maintained, with really sweet touches like the notice of "Hello, I'm Mr Lizard" letting you know not to be worried if one accidentally finds its way into your hut. The restaurant selection is varied and delicious, and the service is impeccable. You are welcomed with a drink and offered a seat, while the check-in is sorted, rather than queuing up after a long days travel. There's lots of activities to get involved in; scuba-diving, sea kayaking, boat trips, hikes, yoga, tennis, but lounging by the pool or at the beach is equally tempting. This is definitely a place for couples and families. If you're looking for a full-moon party, this is not your choice. The stay was not budget, but once you were there, you didn't have to spend that much. We would definitely go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2015 by Ruud H, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your nice experience from your recent stay at Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort. I am very glad to read you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us inclusive our friendly service and excellent food amongst others. I am very pleased that you chose our resort as a destination for such a special occasion. We will certainly share your kind comments with the team who shall be delighted! We pride ourselves in providing the genuine warm Thai hospitality and are always willing to go that extra mile to assure our guests leave with positive memories of their stay. I do hope to have a chance to welcome you back to our resort again on your next visit to Thailand, thank you for having stayed with us and for your kind contribution. With my best regards, Ruud Hulscher Chief Operating Officer
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Buenos Aires , Argentina

Caro para Tailandia

Posted Jan 11, 2015
El hotel esta bueno, nos pareció caro para el general de Tailandia y fuimos a 5 estrellas mejores a mitad de precio
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2015 by Ruud H, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your nice experience from your recent stay at Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort. I am very glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us despite your perception of our hotel and service being relative expensive in our class. We pride ourselves in providing the genuine warm Thai hospitality and are always willing to go that extra mile to assure our guests leave with positive memories of their stay. I do hope to have a chance to welcome you back to our resort again on your next visit to Thailand, thank you for having stayed with us and for your kind contribution. With my best regards, Ruud Hulscher Chief Operating Officer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Paradise Destination and Quintessential Hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: The quintessential, tasteful 'hut' style rooms surrounded by palm trees and tropical plants and birds. The quiet beach. The stylish pool.
Cons: I'd move this place next to London. You need to get a ferry to Tonsai Bay from Phuket/Krabi, then a long boat transfer that waits at the pier for you
Location: Things to do: visit local islands (including Maya Bay), snorkel, dive, walks with view points, tennis, cooking class, shopping at Tonsia Bay market.
Reasons I would recommend this hotel: 1. Paradise desert island feel. Private beach just for the hotel. Outriggers owns the whole beach. The beach was really quiet and is complete with a chose of hammocks. The pool is also really tasteful. 2. Quintessential. The hotel is a village of quintessential, tasteful 'huts' on stilts surrounded by palm trees and tropical plants and birds. I felt like a member of the Swiss Family Robinsons. 3. Comfortable. Although the rooms look like huts, the beds are comfy and the rooms tasteful and pristine with wood floors and daily fresh flowers on the bed. Good spacious showers with rain heads (I think that is what they are called). 4. Location. 20 minute speed boat ride to 'The Beach' (Maya Bay). You get there before the crowds arrive from Phuket and Krabi so get a much better experience. Also, trips to James Bond Island and Bamboo Island are also beautiful. Good snorkelling. Boat drivers feed the fish so you get to watch a busy flurry of colourful tropical fish so close that they actually bump into your goggles! 5. Great food. Four restaurants offering a range of food. High quality buffets on offer (with themes such as 'Around the World' and 'Taste of Asia') as well as just ordering from the western or local menus. 6. Friendly. The staff and locals are full of smiles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It is a delight to hear that we had exceeded your expectations in every aspect of your stay at Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort. I have personally shared your comments with all departments. Feedback like yours makes us very proud of our continuous efforts in providing the best of service to our guests. I look forward to welcoming you back again and will endeavor to make sure that your next stay will be as memorable as your first.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our resort as paradise, welcome refreshment, friendly staff, clean room, beautiful ground. It is always a delight to learn that our guests leave with a great memory of their stay. I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Phi Phi
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It is a delight to hear that we had exceeded your expectations in every aspect of your stay at Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort. I have personally shared your comments with all departments. Feedback like yours makes us very proud of our continuous efforts in providing the best of service to our guests. I look forward to welcoming you back again and will endeavor to make sure that your next stay will be as memorable as your first.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ein Traum von einer Hotelanlage - Erholung pur

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Das Zimmer und der Strand
Wir haben Ende November drei Nächte im Outrigger verbracht und fühlten uns wie im Paradies. Kaum angekommen wird man bereits einem frischen sehr leckeren Cocktail und feuchten Handtüchern zur Erfrischung empfangen. Das Personal ist unglaublich freundlich und zuvorkommend. Die Hotelanlage ist wunderschön und die Liebe steckt im kleinsten Detail. Täglich wird die Anlage mit frischen Blüten geschmückt, sogar der Aschenbecher! Wir hatten ein kleines Häuschen, das sehr gut ausgestattet und sauber war. In der Lobby kann man kostenlos W-Lan nutzen. Jeden Abend gab es sehr angenehme Live-Musik, die auch für zwei Personen noch spielte. Der Stand ist sehr sauber und es gibt genügend Liegen. Insgesamt ist es ein perfekter Ort für Paare, die sich nach Ruhe und Erholung sehnen. Unser Aufenthalt hätte nicht schöner sein können. Vielen Dank an das gesamte Outrigger-Team!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2014 by Ruud H, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your nice experience from your recent stay at Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort. I am very glad to read you enjoyed your little paradise here inclusive our friendly service, our great location, your comfortable and clean as well as our private and pristine beach. We pride ourselves in providing the genuine warm Thai hospitality and are always willing to go that extra mile to assure our guests leave with positive memories of their stay. I do hope to have a chance to welcome you back to our resort again on your next visit to Thailand and thank you for having stayed with us. With my best regards, Ruud Hulscher Chief Operating Officer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom GOLD COAST

Quaint Cabins On Quiet Private Beach

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Food, staff, scenery, pool, hammocks, and virgin pena coladas.
Cons: layout of cabins
Location: Maya Bay-where the movie -"The Beach" was filmed is 40mins in junk ,go before 730am to beat the others and the lagoons are a must!
Cute cabins, picturesque resort with amazing food and staff. Nice quiet location away from the party side of PhiPhi only downfall is that you can only swim in ocean for a certain part of the day when the tide is in but the pool is pretty amazing with a slide and swim up bar so that makes up for it. One other downfall was that if you don't book the burets right on the beach- ours was 3 rows back, then your balcony and windows don't face the ocean breeze so to keep cool and mosquitos out (mosies were quite bad), you have to turn on air conditioning -which we don't like. But overall the resort was quite lovely -a little overpriced though - I thought.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. Firstly, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience about our hotel location away from the party side of Phi Phi. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room, food, staff, scenery, amazing pool, swimming up bar, hammocks, and virgin Pena Coladas. I thank you once again for your review and hopefully we will have another chance to welcome you back. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. Firstly, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience about our hotel location away from the party side of Phi Phi. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room, food, staff, scenery, amazing pool, swimming up bar, hammocks, and virgin Pena Coladas. I thank you once again for your review and hopefully we will have another chance to welcome you back. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Away from the noise of Tonsai Bay

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Beautiful view and the small village behind the resort. Really comfortable rooms.
Cons: The golf cart service is slow to arrive. The hotel says 5-10 minutes but really more like 10-20, quicker to walk unless you've got luggage in tow.
Location: Maya Beach, Snorkeling, Canoeing
The villa was spacious, clean and had a comfortable bed. We arrived late (checked out another hotel in Tonsai Bay and decided not to stay in the area) so we missed their shuttle boat and had to catch a long tail by ourselves (1,000 Baht for a private boat). If you make the hotels it's 200 Baht per person. Even though we arrived late check-in was smooth and they quickly put together a room. Breakfast was good, large selection. Definitely recommend this hotel for anyone not looking to party all night. But if you do plan on going out for a night in Tonsai Bay be aware you have to catch a long tail boat back and depending on weather conditions they aren't always willing to go. We loved being away from the ruckus of Tonsai Bay. There is a small village behind the resort with great restaurants and bars. In the village is Phad Thai restaurant, really good. Ate there 2 nights in a row and skipped the hotels food, looked a lot more expensive and can't imagine it was better. We did the Phi Phi Lae 1/2 day tour (Maya Beach, snorkeling in another bay and lunch on a small beach) through the hotel last minute. It was too late to book anywhere else but I think it's about half price if you do so through the village. BUT it was still a great time and worth the 1650 Baht per person.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2014 by Ruud H, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your nice and peaceful experience from your recent stay at Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort. I am very glad to read you enjoyed your overall stay inclusive your clean and comfortable room and our excellent breakfast. We pride ourselves in providing the genuine warm Thai hospitality and are always willing to go that extra mile to assure our guests leave with positive memories of their stay. I do hope to have a chance to welcome you back to our resort again on your next visit to Thailand and thank you for having stayed with us. With my best regards, Ruud Hulscher Chief Operating Officer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto ontario

Nice Place

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Check in was a bit frustrating as they asked us to show them an email confirmation of our booking but we couldn't connect to the internet. It took about 30 minutes and we were tired and just wanted our room (it was 4:30om). Finally they checked us in with our names and passports which should be how it's done anyway. The bungalow was decent. We only booked the superior bungalow which is the lowest grade I presume, but for $330 dollars Canadian a night I expected more. The bed was extremely hard and would move away from the wall. The drapes were dirty and cheap looking, and the bathroom could be better. However, we considered this place high end camping, as it felt we were in a trailor. In the morning breakfast was included and was a good buffet. The pool was beautiful, we very much enjoyed it. Behind the resort is a very small town where we frequented. You can eat, drink, get a massage etc. the for a littler cheaper than on the resort. I will say that the food was very fairly priced on the resort though and was decent-not great, but good. Over all we enjoyed our 3 nights at the Outrigger but it was definitely not the best hotel we stayed at during our trip to Thailand.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2014 by Ruud H, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort for your recent stay and for taking your valuable time to write your kind review of your experience. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our resort and facilities we have to offer. I regret however the check-in delays which you encountered as well as your perception of the room being dated, my personal apologies for this. All feedback is extremely important to us as they assist my team with an ongoing opportunity to improve our product and services. I will be sharing your feedback with my team so that we can address the issues. I am pleased to share that for next year we are planning to continue to gradually upgrade our room products to bring the interior designs in line with our new Deluxe Bungalows, this will certainly improve the looks and feel of the rooms for next year and beyond. My team and I are dedicated in delivering the very best service in order to exceed guests’ expectations. It is always rewarding to learn that our guests have very fond memories of our resort and staff. I look forward to seeing you again on your next retreat. With my best regards, Ruud Hulscher Chief Operating Officer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Resort, Great Location.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Received a free upgrade because of a wet and rough journey over on the Ferry. Nice swim up to bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2014 by Ruud H, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay at Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort. I am very glad to read you rated your overall stay as very good and that you enjoyed your room upgrade as well as our swim up bar in our spacious pool. We pride ourselves in providing the genuine warm Thai hospitality and are always willing to go that extra mile to assure our guests leave with positive memories of their stay. I do hope to have a chance to welcome you back to our resort again on your next visit to Thailand and thank you for having stayed with us. With my best regards, Ruud Hulscher Chief Operating Officer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Had a lovely stay. The pool area is fantastic. The rooms are very nice but don't expect 5* they were 4* at best. Head out to the village behind the hotel, the food is great and drinks are much cheaper. Overall we had a great 5 days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2014 by Ruud H, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your nice experience from your recent stay at Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa. I am very glad to read you had such a lovely stay and that you enjoyed your room and our nice pool. We pride ourselves in providing the genuine warm Thai hospitality and are always willing to go that extra mile to assure our guests leave with positive memories of their stay. I do hope to have a chance to welcome you back to our resort again on your next visit to Thailand and thank you for having stayed with us. With my best regards, Ruud Hulscher Chief Operating Officer
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2014 by Ruud H, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your nice experience from your recent stay at Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa. I am very glad to read you enjoyed your overall stay inclusive your room and our spacious pool. We pride ourselves in providing the genuine warm Thai hospitality and are always willing to go that extra mile to assure our guests leave with positive memories of their stay. I do hope to have a chance to welcome you back to our resort again on your next visit to Thailand and thank you for having stayed with us. With my best regards, Ruud Hulscher Chief Operating Officer