Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Romania

Nice hotel with great view and surrounded by natur

Posted Jul 5, 2014
I have been coming to this hotel for quite some time... I just love it.. I am a single traveler looking for privacy and jungle experience.. Upon arrival the staff helped me to a wonderful room with ocean view. I had a great stay.. On the way to the small street with many restaurants, I've discovered Tew Lay bar . I enjoyed cocktails under the stars, listening to the sea waves... view is unbeatable, especially when the tide is high.. the music is great ... As I minus, poor breakfast choice , staff can not speak English very well so if you have a more elaborate request... Prepare a dictionary ..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great View Guest House

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Once inside the Bungalows are really nice, very large. The food is very good, better than many restaurants around
Cons: Many things. It was a building site when we were there. They ran out of beer at 19:00 at night.
Location: Too far out from a decent beach for me, but it is remote and very quiet which is a plus. Nice walk into the main part of Railay, but its a good 20 min
This Hotel is a long long way from the main part of Railay beach and bars, restaurants. The Bungalows are mainly up a very steep concrete path. You have to be very fit to get there. There is no beach, its on a dead reef which most of Railay is and can have a lot of silt and goes to depth very slowly, I wouldn't swim there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from London

Quiet good location

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Staff, location
Very nice place to stay. Check carefully which best way to get to the resort as you will have to take the boat. We had to walk with our bags inside the sea to get to the boat when the tide was quite low which was a bit of drama. Hotel facilities, staff etc are very good. You will also have to walk to the near beaches Railay east, cave etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from Minneapolis

Great - once we got there

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Beautiful individual cabanas on stilts, with, of course, great views from the porch. Big bathroom, comfy bed, clean room. Nice breakfast buffet.
Cons: My only complaint is the mix-up with the booking. We only had 3 days in Railay and had to spend too much time horsing around with transferring.
Location: A bit removed from the "town" so nice and quiet. Easy to walk everywhere. Great hike to the lagoon, beautiful swimming beaches, lovely sunsets.
Although I had contacted the hotel re: transportation from the airport, I never heard back. We arranged our own and arrived, tired and hungry, about 8:30 p.m. Upon arrival we were informed that due to a "thunder clap" there was no electricity in our room and we would be transferred to the Railay Princess. When I asked how there could be a "thunder clap" during the dry season, suddenly no one spoke English anymore. We ate dinner at Great View (the manager said he would buy us a drink but not dinner). The other hotel was NOT at all what I was looking for. We called the Great View the next morning and - surprise! - they had a room for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by smo from UK

Nice hotel on east railay beach

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Cottage/villa was nice, private and clean. Nice view from hotel pool. There is a beach near hotel, however not the best. It was not a problem for us as really nice west railay beach was in walking distance. There was hotel boat going to Ao nammao pier and other side of east railay beach a few times a day, unfortunately I had not the most pleasant experience with it as we have decided to use this service our last day and the hotel staff overloaded boat with people and luggages so badly that most of the passengers got soaking wet on the way to the pier so I had to get my clothes changed just on the pier because I looked like I jumped into the sea with clothes! My backpack got wet too. Everything else was ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lilly from london , Uk

Nice hotel great view, very peaceful

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Be aware that you will have to take a boat to get there after the taxi dropped you of. Restaurant a bit to expensive for what it is. Hotel is very last hotel in the island but walking distance to the nice beaches west and east Railay
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Ottawa

Fantastic Rooms, Some Climbing, No Internet (Yuck)

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: fantastic views, lovely cabin -- fine if all you want to do is relax without computer; noise from long tail boats not a problem
Cons: Wi-Fi did not work, even though advertised, and a key reason I chose this hotel -- had to change hotels
Location: location is gorgeous; easily accessible snorkeling is lousy; bars and restaurants 0.3 to1 km walk; Phra Nang cave cool; rock climbing
First impression: tropical paradise. Excellent view of the jungle and bay. Room was lovely - comfortable bed; shower, but no bath even though advertised; vanity, but no proper desk and chair; adequate AC and fine balcony. Floor bouncy-floor joists inadequate for North American building codes (easily visible since "room" is actually a cabin with front up on stilts; backs into hill side). Nice pool with water jets and great view. Dining room also has excellent views. Getting there: long walk (0.7 km?) on level concrete path from central part of Railay East, but then 2 to 5 flights of stairs equivalent steep walks to reception and to cabin. Major problem-Wi-Fi did not work. Learned by chance that Sand and Sea hotel on Railay West had same owner, so changed hotel after 2 days. Breakfast quite reasonable, but had beef dinner one night at 180 Baht, had better beef from street vendors in Bangkok for 20 Baht. (n.b. 180 Baht = ~$6) Getting from Krabi airport: be sure to go to Ao Nam Mao pier to catch long tail boat; I ended up at Ao Nang(?), and was way over-charged to get to Railay. Was keen on snorkeling; hotel recommended Phi Phi day trip, which was very nice but snorkeling was mediocre-some nice fish, but corals were lousy. They only provide masks, no flippers. Tried to book some better snorkeling, but no luck. Main lesson-do good research and book something better in advance if you want good snorkeling. Sand and Sea: good view from dining, much better beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tom from England

Make sure you're fit!

Posted Sep 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. Railey is a beautiful place with some stunning views and beaches, which was perfect for us after the hustle and bustle of Bangkok and Chiang Mai beforehand. For those of you that don't know, be aware that you can only get to Railay by long tail boat so expect to have to wade out into the sea, maybe as high as your waist depending on the tide! The Railay Great View Resort and Spa is the last resort on Railay East and be prepared that this means a long walk that is also very steep at times! We were a little worn out when we got there but the resort itself is very nice; the bungalows are spacious with comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. We didn't have a great view from our balcony but it appeared that some others did. It should be pointed out that you can here the longtail boats very easily so if you are a light sleeper some ear plugs maybe a good idea! The pool is lovely, a good size with a nice view over the sea. Breakfast was okay but nothing more, a choice of fruit, continental, western and Thai cooked options. We never ate dinner there but the menu looked encouraging. It is worth noting again though how much of a walk it can be and how steep parts of the resort are so if you do plan on staying here be prepared for this!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by MN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels.com