Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from warragul

Great potential but disappointed

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Architecture was lovely and restaurant in next resort was lovely. The service next door was excellent which showed up Royal Lanta.
Cons: Breakfast was very ordinary- hardly any variety and it was all a bit tired eg juice was not on ice so if you came for breakfast late, juice was warm.
Location: Snorkelling trip to 4 Islands was great. Black Pearl restaurant was excellent
We recently stayed in low season so hotel was very quiet. We were disappointed in the service at breakfast/ cafe as there never seemed to be anyone serving and the restaurant was in darkness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tovah from Miami, FL

Paradise, great resort

Posted Jun 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was great, clean, spacious rooms, had very helpful staff, and located right on the beach. Our trip was during the low season so other resorts and businesses were closed. The staff helped us everyday by offering tours and different activities to do. The only downfall was that the spa and massage area was being renovated during our stay.
3 out of 5
by Rich from Harrogate, North Yorkshire, UK

A bit drab

Posted Jun 20, 2013
Pros: Rooms were spacious and well furnished
Cons: The restaurant and spa were closed and the cafe on a minimum menu
Location: Well located for shops and restaurants but there is not much going on on Lanta anyway
The hotel is described as a resort and we were disappointed as the restaurant wasn't open and more than half of the food and drink in the cafe were not available. The spa was also closed. The hotel was on the beach fromt but the beach was dirty and a mess. The rooms themselves looked quite nice but smelled damp. I think this all has to be taken in the context of June being low season and with better weather and more atmosphere, with the amenities and services open and operational this might be a nice place but I can only rate it on the basis of our experience. Lanta itself seems generally quiet with not much going on but again this might have been because of it being low season. However, phi phi had a completely different feel two days later so it can't all be blamed on the season. Personally, I wouldn't bother going back to this hotel or Lanta.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great family getaway spot

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Beautiful beach,very soft waves. Great for families. Loved both pools. The only downside is dark rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mr Potatohead from Dubai

Nice resort close to the beach

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Pros: Nice layout of villas in the garden - lots of trees, flowers, pools, etc.
Cons: Hot water in the shower was variable (not always warm).
Location: Local shops & restaurants on the road behind the beach. We went in low season so several of them were shut but there were enough places open.
Pleasant villa-style accommodation right next to the beach. Pool & restaurant on site. Breakfast was fine. Close to local shops & restaurants on the road behind the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for Ko Lanta

Posted May 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Ko Lanta is not Phuket or Ko Phi Phi or Ko Samui; it is much more laid back and much less touristy. If you go to Ko Lanta, the Royal Lanta resort is a good hotel to stay. Wherever you stay in Ko Lanta, you will need to rent a motorbike (a nice motorbike rental shop is a few meters before the hotel on the small road from the main road). The hotel is a series of bungalow; no water view from the bungalows, but the hotel has a nice garden with pool, coffeshop and restaurant that are open to the ocean; very nice sunsets over Ko Phi Phi in the distance. The hotel is not far from the pier (maybe not even one km); do not buy a taxi ticket on the boat (I paid 150 THB for the taxi ticket on the boat); you should pay a max of 50 THB for a tuk tuk on the pier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Greg from KL

Lovely relaxing place

Posted May 2, 2013
Location: Convenient
A lovely low-key resort with friendly staff and beautiful grounds right on the beach. We enjoyed our stay at this great, relaxing place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Great value resort.

Posted Apr 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a great resort with it's own private beach and nice comfortable garden bungalows. I really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely stay again.