Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ankita from Boston, MA

Great Service and Amazing Hotel in Koh Lanta

Posted Mar 21, 2014
I have nothing but great things to say about my entire experience at this Hotel. It made my trip to Thailand so lovely. I'd recommend it to anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: The style and the staff.
This place looks like a Bond villain's holiday home - in a good way! It was a welcome haven from the chaos of Phi Phi and we were glad to find it - we didn't venture out of the hotel complex for three days, we were that content. Peace and quiet, a nice small pool, great views and comfy loungers. It's small in an exclusive way and looks great - if you're looking to chill on Lanta, look no further.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Wawne UK

Excellent in all areas

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Cliff top with the most relaxing views and relaxing town and beach on doorstep.
Other hotels around the world should take lessons from the staff at the Houben. It was almost embarrassing the amount of effort they made to make our stay perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Outstanding stay

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Houben is the perfect hotel for those wanting personalized and world-class service. There are only 15 rooms, so you really get to know the staff and they you. The staff (particularly Shana and Yindee) go above and beyond ot make sure your stay is confortable. They even booked all of our activities and transportation issues for us, so there is literally no stress. The location is gorgeous, quiet, and secluded. The only reason that I did not give 5 stars across the board is due to the fact that the hot water never really gets completely "hot". I am guessing that this is due to the fact that they heat their water with solar heating, so to me, the environmental benefits more than outweighs the slight inconvenience. And you are still able to have a comfortable shower, so it really did not take away from our experience at all, but I just wanted to give full disclosure. I can not recommend this hotel enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by delroba from London

Lovely boutique hotel, perfect for a romantic stay

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Well-designed hotel with a lovely pool with the sunset over the cliffs. Really nice and helpful staff, who always made us feel attended to. It's a perfect hotel for couples - there's a no children allowed policy making it really relaxing and romantic. We left just as it was getting busier and we liked it more when it was still during "low season", as the hotel was slightly more peaceful. Breakfast was of a good standard. In terms of location, we really liked it as we came here to unwind but it depends what you're after. It's not a party place, it’s more about the laid-back and relaxing atmosphere. You've got a fair few local restaurants (&bars) in the village by the hotel with some great food (e.g. Phad Thai Rock 'n' Roll and Drunken Sailor). There is also a 7-eleven super market and places to rent scooters and book tours, if that's what you want. The beach is within 5mins walking distance, and although it might not have the white sand and crystal clear water, it was a lovely secluded beach, where you could always find a private spot just for yourselves. All in all, we would definitely come back! P.s. in terms of transport to the hotel: if you want to get the cheaper, shared shuttle service (ca 500Baht/person/way) from Krabi airport, ask the hotel to book this for you in advance, as there is nowhere at the airport to book this directly. Instead you get a bus down to Krabi, and then wait up to 1 hour for a shared service to arrive, it’s more expensive plus it wastes your time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What's not to like

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness
Cons: Tv reception poor...........but who needs it?
From pick up to the morning of departure Shonna and her staff looked after us superbly. We had the lowest grade room on the ground floor a few steps from the wonderful pool and with a great sea view. The room was fantastic, huge bed with lovely soft pillows, very spacious and good bathroom. Breakfast was very good with enough choice for most people and the sunsets were just heavenly. We only stayed four nights but would recommend this place to anyone wanting to escape for a bit. The beach is available if you want it......about 10 minutes gentle amble down the hill and there are plenty of restaurants and a few bars to choose from as well as a convenience store and pharmacy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg from Ballarat Australia

Great hotel beautiful sunsets

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: Everything, Service,Location,Food,Pool Views,Staff
Cons: We were there during the green season so a little bit of maintenance was being done, fixing cracks etc. Superficial only but hadn't been re painted.
Location: The hotel is an easy 5 minute walk to Ba Kantiang Bay and shops and local eateries. Food here is magnificent.National Park is close and beautiful.
The Houben certainly lived up to the reviews provided by other travelers who have stayed there. Great views, quiet location, magnificent pool, comfortable and spacious room with friendly and attentive staff. From the time we arrived until we left we enjoyed our interaction with all staff from Shanna through to maintenance and cleaning staff all smiling all welcoming. Yes the restaurant at the The Houben is quite expensive compared to local eateries but having said that the The Houben's food was just as delicious and offered a completely different dining experience compared to the local eateries. We ate at the The Houben night of arrival and had breakfast package so had breakfast every morning. You must try the watermelon juice and fruit platter. Magnificent!!!. We tried to eat at the local eateries every lunch and dinner. Also Magnificent food!!!. The hotel provided hire of motor scooters to ride and explore the island. We rode to the lighthouse national park. Beautiful scenery and monkeys.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anna from London

Beautiful boutique hotel with excellent service

Posted Oct 21, 2013
My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights at the Houben, and loved every minute of it. The service is top notch - we emailed the Houben before arriving to ask for help with transfers. In fact we did this with several hotels (we moved around in our trip) and the Houben was by the far the best at responding and were extremely helpful. The design of the hotel is beautiful, and the room took our breath away. Furthermore the attention to detail is exceptional - for example each evening when we were at dinner room service would prepare our room for the evening, by drawing our curtains and putting water on our bedside table - it was a lovely touch that represents just how much the Houben cares about its guests. The food at the hotel is also lovely, and we very much enjoyed the island. The Houben helped us plan some activities which we thoroughly enjoyed. We highly recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ash from New Zealand

Beautiful view

Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel has a beautiful view. Our room looked over the ocean and we couldn't have asked for a more spectacular sunset. The room is well furnished and very comfortable. The staff however needs to be trained as the chef cooks dishes however he feels like (noodle soup without noodles ?) and the waiting staff is sometimes not up to the standard you would expect of a hotel with this calibre. Other than that, the entire property is a delightful experience!