Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Central location - LOVE it

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Love the location, double beds are comfortable and the showers powerful (can't stand weak pressured showers) majority of breakfast items tasty.
Cons: Single beds not as comfortable. Breakfast needs to be replenished more often as tend to find empty serving dishes and empty juice jugs.
Location: Central krakow, town square, boat rides, castle, trips out to salt mines and Auschwitz
Stayed at this hotel both with friends in November 2013 and with family in 2014. It's fantastic for the price...staff are friendly and helpful, the location very close to the town square without actually being in the town square.
1 out of 5
by Joan from California

Our reservation was not honored

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Cons: Duh!
We stopped at the hotel Classic 2 days before check in to get tour information for a date during our stay. The day before check in we stopped at the hotel desk again to make another tour reservation. Both times,they checked our reservations. When we got to the hotel to check in, we were told that the hotel was overbooked and they would transfer our reservation to a "5 star" hotel. The "5 star" hotel was a long way from old town Krakow, it was a very large hotel with lots of tour groups, and worn and outdated. It was also in an industrial area. We were very disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Virginia Beach, VA

Nice hotel close to Old Town

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: friendly and helpful staff, good rate
Cons: WiFi was not working throughout the whole hotel, only in spots
Location: very close to the main square in Old Town Krakow; tours to the nearby Auschwitz concentration camp and museum are highly recommended
A friend and I stayed at the Hotel Classic on a short two-night excursion to Krakow. The hotel is very well situated, just a few blocks from the main square of the Old Town and easily reachable from the airport in about 20 minutes. We were warmly greeted upon our arrival, and both ladies working the reception desk during our stay were eager to help with whatever we needed. They answered all of our questions and provided any information about Krakow and local tours that we needed. My friend's room was on the top floor and was very comfortable. He was quite pleased. I stayed on the third floor. My room was equally spacious and very clean. Having spent a lot of time in Eastern European hotels over the past decade, I can confidently say that the bathroom in my room at the Hotel Classic was quite large and well-equipped by comparison to others in countries further east. I was pleasantly surprised. Breakfast was included in our room rate and offered plenty of choices with plenty of quantity. We left the table satisfied. My one complaint with the hotel was the advertised free WiFi. The hotel has four different networks for use by the guests on different floors. My friend was only able to connect after a long wait the first night, but I was never able to connect on my floor for the duration of our stay. I heard other people on my floor complain about the same inability to connect. The WiFi in the lobby was working fine and was fast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but was expecting more for £130

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: Location was good. Friendly and helpful staff. It was quiet so had decent night's sleep
Cons: The price - far too expensive compared with other places A bottle of water in the room would have been nice as would tea/coffee making facilities
We travelled to Krakow for a wedding and booked a family suite at the back of the hotel to stay in the night before. This had a decent sized double bed and a small sofa bed which my 5 year old son slept in. It was adequate but for the price I paid I was expecting more. The room backed on to a derelict building site but thankfully there was no work going on at the time. Probably the best thing about it was the bathroom - the bath was almost like a hot tub. However, there was no soap so we had to ask reception for some on arrival.The Wifi signal was poor due to the fact that we were at the back. Another gripe was the fact there was no spare key to the room which meant that I had to walk all the way back to the hotel with my girlfriend when my son wanted to go to bed and then back to the square to rejoin the wedding party. These are all things that you sort of take for granted when you pay that sort of money for a night in a hotel wherever it is. The price may have been inflated by the fact that I booked it only a few days before me stay. In fairness to the staff they were friendly and did their best to help wherever possible. The breakfast was nice. It is also a good location as it is near the square but we didn't experience any noise in spite of there being a couple of nearby bars and clubs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adrienne from Nova Scotia, Canada

Great hotel right in Old Town

Posted Jun 30, 2013
Great location. Great price. Staff very friendly. Room very spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg from Melbourne

Does the job - and well

Posted Apr 5, 2013
Cons: The only problem was that the wifi did not work in my room - I had to go to the stairwell to use it.
It's a clean, pleasant place between the railway/bus station and the central square (both easily reachable by foot). The rooms are simple but pleasant, and the staff helpful. Breakfast is basic but edible; the attendant is very friendly and gives good tips for what to see in the city. It's not a spectacular choice, but it is a good solid one. Just across the road are some good eating options, including Dog in the Fog, which serves excellent Polish food at a good price with English spoken well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a very central location

Posted Mar 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel has 24 hour reception with very friendly English speaking staff. Breakfast was nice but the waiter always seemed to be under pressure to keep everything stocked up and a two slice toaster really isn't adequate for a hotel of its size, this resulted in long waits for toast. The rooms were nice and clean as were the toilets/shower. It would be great if the rooms had tea/coffee making facilities, yes you can purchase these in the lobby for a very small fee but it would be far more convenient in the rooms. We had a front room and there was some mild noise from the street on the Saturday night. The TV was fine with the standard few English speaking news channels and a host of Polish? channels.The only real problems we had with the hotel was the bed. We had booked a double bed but were given two singles together which was bearable, but each bed had a single sheet and duvet on them. We asked at reception about getting double beds only to be told that all rooms only had this setup. We accepted this and asked for a double sheet to be placed over both beds which was done but it seems that the hotel doesn't have double duvets, which I find very strange. Also the pillows are very small and are more like sofa cushions than pillows. Other than the bed issues we found the hotel very good, it is in a fabulous central location only a few minutes walk from the main square (no need for any taxi's). Its on a quite street that has a few lovely small cafe style bars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

convenient location

Posted Dec 21, 2012
A well located hotel within comfortable walking distance of the main square. Conveniently located for access to the Railway and bus stations, even wit luggage.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by CW

Posted Dec 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
After staying at Hotel Wawel the previous week, the condition of hotel Classic reminded me of a Youth Hostel. Outdated and worn out furniture in the hotel room and hallway. Breakfast was good but they were unable to serve us early even though we had requested it the night before. Hotel is close to St. Mary's and the square.