Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most excellent location.

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Its location and its appearance.
Cons: Needs a bit of tender loving refurbishment throughout.
Location: As noted above. This a very central place. From the main bus train station you could spend fifteen pleasant minutes strolling down through Old Town
The hotel entrance is right in front of Wawal castle. The start of the 'hop on and hop off' bus tour is feet from the front of the door (Forward and to the right.) The streets to the Old Town centre all start here. Take either the park paths or the main shopping street that run in the opposite direction form the castle. I am a keen walker and found the march to the Jewish Area, Ghetto Area, Schlinders factory wasn't to bad at all along the very nice river path. The Jewish area is nonsenses its now like any other shopping square. The Ghetto is all gone apart from one small piece of wall you can see on the Hop on / off bus. The bus also takes you to the square where a monument (Empty chairs) and the Ghetto Chemist building is located. I walked across the road and in abot ten minutes after goin under a subway you arrive at Schlinders factory. Now a museum with I found ok but has nothing to do with the factory and Schlinders courage and more to do with the Ghetto and the evil the Nazis inflicted. Walkfrom her over the bridge (To the Galaxy hotel hop on hop of bus stop) or carry on along the river bank to see great views of the city, the tec, the balloon, the conference centre and the back of the castle including the dragon statue. Walk around the castle and - theres your hotel. The hotel itself is quite dated and needs a good spruce up but it I a beautiful building. The staff all speak English. There is tourist info in the reception (Hop on / off bus map is best)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Hotel is very good. Location , room, building itself is very good. Breakfast was very tasty. We recommend this hotel to everybody.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rasmus

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Trond

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Sentral location

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was my second visit to the hotel. First time I got a well used, but OK room. These time I got a really nice room. The hotel has long corridors and many stairs, and it may be a little difficult to orient in the building. A big plus is the central location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Schleswig-Holstein

Passables Hotel in Top-Stadtlage

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Die Hilfsbereitschaft des Personals. Preis / Leistungsverhältnis
Location: Am Rand der Altstadt
Ausgangspunkt im Zusammenhang einer 3-tägigen Städtetour. Wesentliche Sehenswürdigkeiten sind bequem zu erreichen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Central location, friendly staff

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Located next to Wawel Castle and between the Old Town and nightlife hub Kazimierz, this hotel is perfect for a trip to Krakow. 15 min walk to the main train station, 10 min walk to the central square and 5 mins up to the castle. Staff were helpful and the room was great. Would visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dorotafrom Białogard

listopad w Krakowie

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Byłam z rodziną w hotelu Royal .Pokój mieliśmy rewelacyjny ,cichy . Lokalizacja hotelu - świetna , blisko do Wawelu i do rynku . Obsługa hotelowa bardzo dobra . Sniadania serwowane w formie bufetu szwedzkiego były smaczne . Polecam ten hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Evgenia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

Great food and beer at down at the heels hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: The restaurant--its quality, selections, relative cost, service, and convenience for guests.
Cons: Critical to improve the WIFI service for international travelers. Fix damp smell in some areas. Paint; replace hall carpets. Refinish front door.
Location: See above. Excellent base for sightseeing.
Once an elegant, high end hotel just across from the Wawel Castle, on the main route to the beautiful Old City Square, and convenient to tram lines, the Royal Hotel has been under-maintained for years. It is inexpense, down at the heels, and popular with young families, students, and vacationers. THE RESTAURANT IS GREAT! It's an inexpensive, very popular beer hall with great food in generous portions, and friendly staff. Its breakfast buffet for guests is likewise generous and varied. If you want to allocate your budget to sightseeing and shopping, etc, and minimize lodging costs, this may be a good choice for you. WIFI service is available but limited; expect a bit of frustration. October 2014.