Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
I would book again for this price
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laurence from United Kingdom

Old but adequate

Posted Jun 11, 2012
Pros: Cheery helpful staff
Cons: Nothing really, just needs updating.
Location: Fine if you don't mind a quick tram ride into town. a 72 hour travel pass was only €7 so cost isn't an issue.
Okay for what I paid, but it's really showing it's age, it's like stepping back in time to the 70's complete with Communist style furniture and decor. Staff were friendly, cheerful and helpful, and checking in and out were very no-nonsense, but the inclusive breakfast is definitely straight out of the Stalin era. I only wanted somewhere cheap to dump my kit as I was out and about in Krakow most of the time so it was fine for me, very basic but clean and tidy. However if you are planning a Romantic weekend where the hotel is an integral part of the experience you should probably go a bit more upmarket because your missus won't be impressed if you bring her here! About a 15 minute journey from the city centre, but the tram (route 12) stops right outside the front door. Big 24 hour Tescos next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rando from Preston, Lancashire, UK

Value for money

Posted May 29, 2012
It's what u expect. I went with a group of mates, we needed something cheap at the end of the day. For the price this is excellent, the rooms wer fine, location is great as there is a tram service outside that takes u to the centre for next to nothing. There is a tesco round the corner which is great. Staff wer very helpful and even made us a brew when we returned from a night out. Probably not for women, but we enjoyed our stay very much. Krakow is also a great place and the people wer friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
great will do it again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2011 on Hotels.com
The room was dirty, tv not working, I had a flea on my bed as well! Girl at the reception was nice and lady who was serving breakfast as well. I would never stay there again, it wasnt pleasant... The hotel was not as described on the website!! The place looks like its falling apart where on pictures looked quite ok.... Do not recommend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Taranaki, New Zealand

Poor Value for Money

Posted Sep 15, 2010
Only two good things about this hotel.1) The friendly and helpful staff - despite their dingy workplace, and 2) the proximity to Tesco (next door)- very useful for stocking up on all essentials including electronic,cellphone etc requirements. The hotel is very big and caters a lot for student groups who were noisy throughout the night. My window didn't even shut properly which was a bit of a concern although it couldn't (supposedly) be reached by ground. My room stunk of stale cigarette smoke, but on the plus side, had a great shower. I relocated after 2 nights (original plan) and got ten times better value for money from a similarly priced hotel. I did walk to the centre of town but it was a reasonable hour long hike. The free WiFi internet was the other good feature (common in hotels across Poland). i'm not very fussy, but this hotel was not really up to scratch.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wyoming, USA

True 1 star.. or maybe a bit less...

Posted Sep 1, 2010
The problem with this hotel is its cleanliness. It just wasn't clean. Having said that, neither was it disgusting! The carpets in our room were dirty and it appeared that no one had cleaned underneath the beds in a long time. However, the bathroom had been remodeled and was very clean. The beds were very basic and hard, but the sheets were clean. The windows would not open and our south-facing room was hot on even a mild day. The outside of the Hotel was perhaps the most outrageous. The place looked abandoned! Weeds were growing everywhere and the lighted hotel sign was only partially lit. The old and stained window shades and siding give the place a solidly dingy appearance! Having said all this, the hotel was less expensive than others, there was free parking and, as noted, the bathroom was clean and very functional. Our stay was acceptable. Plus, it was next to a Tesco were we purchased supplies. It would be a difficult and distant walk to the city center. But, there was a tram stop next to the hotel which traveled directly downtown. This place is good for backpackers and other travels who are not picky and just need a cheap place to lay their head. It seemed safe and was not gross. But I really wouldn't recommend it for other travelers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Basic but ideal for a budget break

Posted Oct 26, 2008 on Hotels.com
A friend and I stayed at hotel start for 4 nights this week. I had read some terrible reviews about the place and had contemplated rebooking somewhere else. The hotel is basic, if not a bit dingy, however the rooms are warm and very clean, as are the en-suite facilities. My main critisism of the hotel is its location, you have to get a bus or tram in to the centre, if the hotel was closer to the centre then I wouldn't hesitate in staying there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Cheap for a reason

Posted Oct 15, 2008
This hotel is fine if you are on a budget, it is very cheap. The rooms are simple (ones by the road are very noisy) and tidy but quite run down. The building itself looks like a run down block of flats. On the plus side there is a large Tesco next door and a tram and bus stop across the road.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in

Posted Oct 9, 2008
I do not recommend this hotel. MINUSES: the bed was hard and very unconfortable. The curtains are thin and falling apart, and therefore there was too much light coming in from the street which made it difficult for me to sleep. The windows are thin and not airtigh, too much noise was coming in from the street. It was cold in September and the heating was off, the room was too cold. The restaurant was cold, and the breakfast was aweful. PLUSES: The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathroom was nice and clean. It is not too far from the train station. It is close to Centrum Tesco, a shopping mall. It is close to the tram stop. Tram 19 takes you to the old city centre in about 20 minutes. There is one Internet Station in the lobby. You can buy tram tickets at the front desk.