Ratings based on 472 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Room and bathroom size very spacious, very nice decor.
Cons: Room service was not a good experience.
Location: KL Tower, Twin Towers. Shopping centre and restaurants.
Staff always very pleasant and helpful. Hotel very close to tourist spots, restuarants and shopping. Breakfast excellent. Great holiday experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Istana Hotel KL Malaysia.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The Hotel Lobby, The staff knows to smile and talk to the guests. When I say staff, right from the top management to the all the way down.
Cons: Breakfast time in the restaurant.(the space).
Location: Convenient location
I have been in this hotel few time and I am known to the staff. They look after us well that makes me to go there agian and again.All of them are so friendly and have a smile on their faces.They all look happy and smiles are good. With their smiles, the guests can feel relaxed and wanted.The staff at the restaurant and the lobby need a special commendation. They are sooo good and care for you so attentively. The reception staff are great, It is amazing to see the waiters and waitresses caring for you, well mannered and absolutely courteous. But sadly must mention one lady receptionist or she is a cashier I am not sure, she needs little descipline taught, to be courteous and do not display or bring her domestic problems and moods to the guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good option in the heart of KL

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location and Ambience
Cons: Room amenities - Toiletries
Centrally located in Raja Chulan, Hotel Istana provides easy access to some of the tourist attractions in KL. The Hotel itself provides good amenities and facilities to make your stay comfortable. I was there for 2 days and enjoyed every bit of my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by david from gladstone australia

excellent location in the city centre and restaura

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: the staff....the old world charm and standard of service which is non existent in newer and larger hotel chains
Cons: not much overall....
Location: location is the best in Kuala Lumpur close to city centre and restaurant precincts
this hotel is getting a little tired around the edges....but it was not built yeaterday....have stayed here five times over the last several years...would not reccomned any other hotel in Kuala lumpuir......the stafff at this hotel are beyond reproach and are excellent.....have nothing but praise for them
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by THOND .CHINNIAH from SINGAPORE

CLEANINESS SHOULD BE IMPROVE.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: EXTERNAL VIEW ONLY
Cons: SWIMMING POOL SHOULD BE EXTENT THE TIMING.
JUST NICE TO STAY AT NIGHT ONLY. PRICE MUST BE COMPEITIVE WITH OTHER HOTELS. DIRECT CHECK IN RATES ARE TOO EXPENSIVE COMARED TO ONLINE BOOKINBG. 10-15% REDUCE DOWN.
2 out of 5
by Richard from UK

Getting Old

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Staff Politeness. Central location
Cons: Rebuild the hotel and change the staff.
Location: It does have a good central location to restaurants, night-life and shopping.
I have stayed in Istana over the past 15 years, unfortunately although adequate to it's purposes in past it is just getting too old and tired and even though the staff are very polite the obvious lack of communication and back house management has mean't that the overall client services and support are wanting. There were too many organizational and logistical problems that occurred during our stay to make the stay even minimally acceptable. Rooms were old, bathrooms dated, plumbing was bad, airconditioning did not work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bahadir from Istanbul-Turkey

No wifi in rooms

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Room cleaness and A/C silent and not directly blowing onto the bed unlike in many other KL hotels.
Cons: Wifi.
Good but not a 5 star hotel for sure. No wifi in the rooms.Free wifi in the lobby cafe with poor connection. There was a big ancient 'tube' TV in our room. These look odd when considered our cheaper stays in other Kuala Lumpur hotels with lower number of stars as they all had flat screen TVs and free,good connection wifi in th rooms. The breakfast was good for the price. We requested a call to a local tour agency in Kuala Lumpur from the reception and without warning in advance, after our call finished they demanded 5 usd for a 3 minutes local call. it is greedy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George from Vancouver Canada

Great Location

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and very helpful.
Cons: To get wifi we had to go downstairs to the lobby, not available in the bedrooms.
Great location, we walked to the Twin Towers,Pavillion Shopping Mall and the Lot 10 Mall. Monorail station is just across the street. Breakfast was good, lots of varieties, and eggs made on the spot to your preference. The next time we visit Kuala Lumpur , we will make this place our choice of stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paul from Australia

Attentive Staff

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, fantastic staff, facilities and amenities first rate could not fault. Location of the hotel is ideal for catching the KL hop on hop off bus .Breakfast could have had a better variety of western foods but overall the Istana is a great place to stay.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by SJ

great location, comfy beds

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel location great Room Preparation v poor