Ratings based on 447 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good option in the heart of KL

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location and Ambience
Cons: Room amenities - Toiletries
Centrally located in Raja Chulan, Hotel Istana provides easy access to some of the tourist attractions in KL. The Hotel itself provides good amenities and facilities to make your stay comfortable. I was there for 2 days and enjoyed every bit of my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by david from gladstone australia

excellent location in the city centre and restaura

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: the staff....the old world charm and standard of service which is non existent in newer and larger hotel chains
Cons: not much overall....
Location: location is the best in Kuala Lumpur close to city centre and restaurant precincts
this hotel is getting a little tired around the edges....but it was not built yeaterday....have stayed here five times over the last several years...would not reccomned any other hotel in Kuala lumpuir......the stafff at this hotel are beyond reproach and are excellent.....have nothing but praise for them
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by THOND .CHINNIAH from SINGAPORE

CLEANINESS SHOULD BE IMPROVE.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: EXTERNAL VIEW ONLY
Cons: SWIMMING POOL SHOULD BE EXTENT THE TIMING.
JUST NICE TO STAY AT NIGHT ONLY. PRICE MUST BE COMPEITIVE WITH OTHER HOTELS. DIRECT CHECK IN RATES ARE TOO EXPENSIVE COMARED TO ONLINE BOOKINBG. 10-15% REDUCE DOWN.
2 out of 5
by Richard from UK

Getting Old

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Staff Politeness. Central location
Cons: Rebuild the hotel and change the staff.
Location: It does have a good central location to restaurants, night-life and shopping.
I have stayed in Istana over the past 15 years, unfortunately although adequate to it's purposes in past it is just getting too old and tired and even though the staff are very polite the obvious lack of communication and back house management has mean't that the overall client services and support are wanting. There were too many organizational and logistical problems that occurred during our stay to make the stay even minimally acceptable. Rooms were old, bathrooms dated, plumbing was bad, airconditioning did not work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bahadir from Istanbul-Turkey

No wifi in rooms

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Room cleaness and A/C silent and not directly blowing onto the bed unlike in many other KL hotels.
Cons: Wifi.
Good but not a 5 star hotel for sure. No wifi in the rooms.Free wifi in the lobby cafe with poor connection. There was a big ancient 'tube' TV in our room. These look odd when considered our cheaper stays in other Kuala Lumpur hotels with lower number of stars as they all had flat screen TVs and free,good connection wifi in th rooms. The breakfast was good for the price. We requested a call to a local tour agency in Kuala Lumpur from the reception and without warning in advance, after our call finished they demanded 5 usd for a 3 minutes local call. it is greedy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George from Vancouver Canada

Great Location

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and very helpful.
Cons: To get wifi we had to go downstairs to the lobby, not available in the bedrooms.
Great location, we walked to the Twin Towers,Pavillion Shopping Mall and the Lot 10 Mall. Monorail station is just across the street. Breakfast was good, lots of varieties, and eggs made on the spot to your preference. The next time we visit Kuala Lumpur , we will make this place our choice of stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from London

A brief visit to KL, my first trip

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: The food was excellent and the pool area superb, and had the quickest checkout I have ever experienced.
Cons: Transfers from the airport.
Location: The Petronas Towers and the Bird Garden. Take a trip out of town to the caves as well if you get the time.
We didn't catch the city at its best... a heavy rainstorm on the first night washed out a number of the local restaurants. Still KL was a bustling city that felt safe and exciting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Change poor rooms

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: The location was excellent.
Cons: See above
Location: All of the city sights are nearby, as are the restaurants and bars.
On arrival we were told that there was only one room available. It did not have the double bed we had requested, no safe, no mini bar, and worst of all it was dingy with dirty carpets and curtains. We complained immediately. The duty manager found another room for us within 10 minutes. It had clearly been upgraded to a satisfactory standard and we moved in immediately. It is sad that guests should be offered rooms which are not of the standard advertised by the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Block from Scotland

Not bad hotel

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Being close to everything
Cons: Wi-fi should be available in rooms and free. Live music and entertainments should be of different variety and should stay for late night early morning
Location: Everything is in walking distance, great!
Good hotel, very close to everything. There is no free wi-fi in rooms as indicated in the website; it is only in the lobby! Rooms are average and food is good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by CigarClub from Dubliner, BTS

Nice hotel next to lively pub scenes

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Room facility is good BUT NO WIFI. Buffet lunch excellent with good mix of well-know local Malay, Chinese, & Indian dishes. Staff friendly & efficient
Cons: Wi Fi in room!
Location: 5 minutes walk to Changkat with many pubs with lively music. The local band in Never Mine pub is fantastic...no issue to dance in front of band.
Great party fun atmosphere in Changat, with many pubs with live music bands and eateries. People are friendly, warm and hospitable. Value for money entertainment and evening outing compare to Singapore and HK.