Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Sydney

Paradise!

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Absolutely amazing. Really feels like you are on a secluded island. Beach great and pools awesome. Wish we could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Five Stars But The Surrounding Beaches...

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The resort is nothing short of awesome. The staff is friendly and helpful and the architecture, food and facilities are breathtaking. Someone does need to clean up the surrounding beaches when you go for an extended walk. There is garbage everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Villa on the beach

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: the spa massage, swimming pool, our villa the hotel manager.
Cons: steps from the villa down to the beach which the manager is working on, the hotel staff were not fully knowledgeable on the hotel services
Location: trip to the island for snorkeling! was amazing
it was our honeymoon and we got a brilliant villa right on the beach on the far end of the resort which was perfect. Our spa treatment was wonderful and we enjoyed the swimming pools, cooking class and the snorkeling excursion. Breakfast was a little slow and the food was ok-quite busy too so sometimes there was no space to sit out on the deck.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by H from Scotland

Relaxing comfortable hotel in quiet location

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Comfortable rooms, cleaned daily with care and attention to detail. Friendly staff throughout the hotel and grounds.
Cons: Evening entertainment, needs a comfortable bar lounge area with some music. A later happy hour also, as really nothing to do after your meal finished
Location: This is in a very quiet location, no other restaurants within easy walking distance. Nice long walk towards the lighthouse.
Stayed for 7 nights and were really lucky to get upgraded to an Anjung room after a fault with ceiling fan (really made the holiday special). The hotel, grounds and beach around the hotel are very well maintained and pleasant to walk around. The staff are great especially Emma in the guest liaison team and Amira at the pool bar. The bar prices were really expensive compared with a lot of other areas we had stayed in Malaysia prior to this week, but thanks to the happy hour to bring it back down to reasonable rates. Nowhere local or other bars around to buy any beer/drink, so if this is something you enjoy then suggest planning in advance to take with you for the room fridge!! Also no evening entertainment and only the pool bar open later, did miss a nice comfy lounge with a bit of music to relax after our meal. The food in the oriental restaurant was very good and great choice, but felt the Italian restaurant was a bit overpriced especially for the fish dish of the day compared to what you actually got. Breakfast choice and quality was excellent, cant get used to having so many spicy options available at breakfast (not a UK thing..) I was surprised by the amount of families with small children staying and very busy at the weekends. Overall it was a really relaxing week after a very busy 11 day tour around Malaysia and was exactly what we needed to finish off a great holiday. Thanks to all the staff for a friendly and approachable atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen and Ian from KL

A beautiful and peaceful beach resort

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Everything really - the people were polite and kind to our son and the facilities were clean and perfect for a relaxing holiday.
Cons: A light for the veranda - we sat in the dark as the one we had switched on the day bed light at the same time - no good when a child has gone to bed.
Location: We didnt get a chance to explore as were only there for the weekend.
We booked Tanjong Jara as our first holiday destination since arriving in Malaysia to live and we werent disappointed in our choice. After a long drive from KL we arrived a bit earlier than check time but we were shown straight away to our room, which though not a beach front one had an beautiful view of the sea and the gardens. The room was well appointed, clean, comfortable and cool and the day bed was made up for our three year old who thought the curtains made it a great tent! After a quick wander around the resort to get our bearings we headed to the beach fronted pool side bar and restaurant and were pleasantly surprised to find the food and bar prices to be very reasonable and not 'hotel' extortionate. The beach was empty and clean - so perfect in my view! The sea, sadly was too rough to go in but you could still have a paddle. The pool (there are two but we only went in the big one situated near the beach and spa) was clean and though a few people were sunbathing it was never busy. Food was good - breakfast was as a buffet and it featured continental, a full English (though no pork) as well as local dishes such as Nasi Lemak and Roti Canai. Lunch we took at the beach bar restaurant Nelayan, and that featured dishes such as salads, pasta, burgers and local food too. As we had arranged a baby sitter for the saturday night, we booked ourselves into Di Atas Sungei - the main restaurant of the resort to savour the famous chef Ann's dishes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sam from Virginia USA

Excellent relaxing paradise on earth

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: Proximity to sea and natural setting
Cons: Rooms need a long vertical mirror.
Location: About an hour from Kuala Terengganu where there are several sites to visit.
We visited early February 2014. It is a relaxing resort and the sea was perfect for swimming. Breakfast buffet outstanding. Great employees. Rooms are spacious and bathroom special. We enjoyed every moment.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Faishal from Putrajaya

Not for Family-friendly hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Staff and Room
Cons: The garden and beach activities
Location: good location
I recommend this hotel for couple retreat instead of family retreat. Not many facilities for family and kids. Excellent accommodation for honeymoon type of people. But the staff very friendly. It show true and pure Malaysian experience and culture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed from KL, Malaysia

A Gem of the East Coast

Posted Oct 22, 2013
I came to know of this resort from my friends whom have stayed there before. The name was mentioned several times from others as well till the time I decided I need a weekend getaway from the city. I researched the place from TripAdvisor and other sources and booked for a good deal on their Bumbung room (true to its name, it's located at the top floor of a 2 storey built-up). When I first arrived, me and my partner was given a greetings by a whole line of staffs on duty and the "Gong". I was even greeted by my name and was ushered in to be seated while they attend to my check-in. My car was driven to the car park and key returned to me right after. Welcome drinks and explanation of resort facilities and eateries are given on the spot so that I'm aware. I'm impressed. We were taken to our rooms which was already cold as aircon was switched on before we came in. This was a relief. Our room is at the top floor of a 2 storey built-up and was both big and comfortable. Though it was 2 storey, the entrance to the ground unit is on the otherside totally ensuring privacy for occupant at the top and bottom. Great design. Bathroom with basin for him and her, large bathtub, separate WC and shower room. I'm already impressed halfway. Bedroom is large comfortable and aircon is super powerful and can be controlled to bring tempreature to a comfort level quickly. Overall, quiet, friendly, beautiful and private resort for a romantic getaway and I highly recommend it. Love the hospitality!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alain from Canada / Kuala Lumpur

Luxurious resort directly on the beach.

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: Beach, room, Nelayan restaurant (mostly for the chef).
Cons: Not much
Location: Had a great snorkeling trip with the resorts own boat and guides. Fabulous coral and a school of small black tip sharks.
Beautiful beach, cleaned every morning. Small hotel so few guests using beach or pool at the same time. Frequently felt like we had the place to ourselves. Very spacious room with a fabulous bathroom. At night we went to sleep with the sound of the waves. The food was very good but there are only 2 restaurants and there is little choice of western food. The chef at the smaller restaurant (Nelayan) would cook something special off the menu every night if asked. It was always very delicious. Fabulous if you enjoy fish cooked Asian way. The Spa is excellent. We had a couples session and it was so nice to be able to talk to each other during our massage. We've been to resorts in North America, the Caribbean, Europe and Asia. This is certainly the best we've had.