Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Odd place with a lobby that smells of cigarettes

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Easy access, nice sized rooms.
Cons: No smoking in the hotel, furnishings and decor could use a refresh.
Location: Not much to do other than walk around the village. Sad looking shops. One highlight: the Gelateria Italiana!!!
We decided to leave our plans until the last minute, en route home from Austria, and Kulmbach seemed like a reasonable location in which to stop for the night. The hotel was easy enough to find and was only a 10-15 minute walk from the town centre. We were surprised to find that the whole of the hotel lobby (room with an atrium) smelled of cigarettes and wondered if the staff smoked in their office since we rarely saw anyone outside having a smoke. The hotel was large and mainly empty and the hallways have that somewhat creepy lighting system, where you have to stop every 15 meters to turn on another hallway light to see where you're going (the lights are on a timer and turn themselves off). The room was a good size and faced out onto the car park. (At 6.30 the next morning, that meant that had front row seats to hear all of the Italians navigating getting onto their tour bus for half an hour.) WIFI was 10 Euros per night or free in the lobby, so we opted to go back into the smoky lobby to check emails and plan the route for the next day. A wander into the town proved a bit odd. Flags hung from most buildings advertising the local beer, Kulmbacher, but there was almost no one in sight, despite it being a Thursday evening. Found a couple of sad looking pubs and restaurants and finally decided to try Zunftstube - nice, cheap, homely food. One highlight was finding a good gelateria with fab Pistachio ice cream.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Gerry from Bellevue, WA

OK Hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is an old hotel in need of a serious update. The fact that it has no air conditioning makes me wonder 'what if' it would've been Summer instead of Spring. Not sure why it is promoted as a 4 star hotel when it's clearly not. Otherwise, it was an OK hotel for a single night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Friendly stuffs, comfy bed and clean room

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room is clean and comfortable.It's also quite big. It's quite close to the station, 5euro by taxi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Chesterfield, MO

Nice hotel, centrally located.

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Cons: Although not the fault of the hotel, late night revelers made our night's stay less enjoyable.
Location: Kulmbach is know for its beer, and for good reason.
Overall, this hotel is one to which I would return. The room was clean and nice. Only two things I would suggest: 1) have those who smoke step a bit further away from the lobby. The cigarette smoke permeates the lobby and is noticeable in the hallway. 2) We were placed in a handicapped room without being told. I think we should be informed upon check-in that we were in a handicapped room, especially in this one where there was no shower stall per se, and the water went all over the bathroom floor. I didn't care for mopping the floor after showering. Breakfast not included, which would've been nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandy

Good place to stay - business or pleasure

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Not perhaps fully 4 star in terms of comfort/facilities, rooms are good sized with all essentials in place, very clean and well serviced each day. Excellent breakfast buffet and good evening meals served until midnight (late opening and set menu for Festival period). Quibbles - coffee machine in room but only one coffee pod/teabag provided for whole stay. Powerful shower but plastic shower screens. Aircon in room but no cooling (temperature was in high 20s but rooms hot). Plenty of parking, wifi throughout hotel and convenient for motorways.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Opera Buff from New York City

Clean, modern, well run hotel near Bayreuth

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Pros: Location, cleanliness, excellent staff, wifi, breakfast.
Cons: No complaints
Location: Bayreuth opera
we stayed two nights while attending the Bayreuth opera festival. The rooms were clean, with new carpeting. Excellent free wifi throughout the facility and an excellent breakfast included. Plenty of parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Mike

Fine for one night

Posted Nov 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
Fine for one night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Dave

Pleasant stay

Posted Sep 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
OK, staff were very pleasant and helpful. Comfortable. Not much within walking distance. Very quiet for a saturday night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Marc

Great location and rates

Posted Aug 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
A very comfortable and affordable hotel within walking distance of the sights and stores in Kulmbach; very handy to Bayreuth, Kronach and Coburg, all of which we visited. My only small concern was that the air conditioning was not very responsive on a warm night. Opening the window solved this problem. I have stayed here many times and will do so again.