Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

near to downtown

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
it good and reasonable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2013
Pros: It is close to downtown Kuwait City.
Cons: The hotel staff need to be honest with their clients. Apparently they offer free pick up from the hotel. I had to pay for the ride back to the airport
Location: The towers are within walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JK from Northampton, UK

Okay Hotel with a few issues.

Posted Nov 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
My only real issue with this hotel was when checking in. I was told by the man on reception that the rate I had got was too cheap and that he would need to speak to his manager the following day. This was despite having the confirmation email from website!!.Not exactly the nicest welcome !After some debate I insisted on paying for the stay there and then to avoid the same issue when I checked out which he reluctantly agreed to. I should also point out that the "free" 24 airport shuttle is only free for pick ups and not for guests wanting to travel from the hotel to the airport. and as I couldn't find an email address or website for the hotel I wasn't able to arrange this service. Overall though it is a suitable hotel for travellers on a budget and the location is only a 10 minute walk to the Kuwait Towers and a couple of decent western restaurants. With the exception of the one member of staff who I met on check in, the rest of the staff were very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by abood

the best hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Pros: the pepol that work in the hotel
Cons: the locashoin of the hotel in the websit is wrong
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the city

Posted Nov 3, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M Jamal

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Its apartment hotel rather than a hotel, staff were helpful. House keeping only before the noon .good money for value , I would stay again
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by abdullah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Xx from Yy

Gulf Gate Hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
OK hotel in a busy neighborhood near the old souk. The bars on the ground floor are a bit sleazy at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Steve R from Elgin, IL

Bargain price, but bargain digs....

Posted Mar 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is adequate for a stay in Kuwait, but it is not a 3 star property. It appears to be a Novetel property that failed to maintain its status. Forget about the "spa" and "fitness center" mentioned by the hotel, they exist only in the mind of the hotel description author. Breakfast was okay, the return shuttle service was as advertised, but we found it impossible to arrange for a pick up on our inbound trip. I probably would not book again....
2 out of 5
by Neil from Bath, UK

Grim hotel that tried to pretend it was better

Posted Jul 20, 2012
Pros: The front desk staff were polite and helpful
Cons: Everything else - dreadful hotel
Location: Location is OK, close to the Corniche
What a strange place. There are signs inside that say "Novotel". Clearly someone told them they couldn't use that name and they tried "Novobel" (you can see literature with this name on it), then they changes to Suite Home Hotle...but guess what, my hotel bill showed Sweet Home. This kind of sets the tone. Dark gloomy room with horrible view. Dirty chair and carpets, no remote for the TV, awful breakfast, a "fitness centre" with faulty and possibly dangerous gym equipment. I am just relieved I only had a short stay or I would have moved out.