Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from iN

On the Riveria

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: Staff was most helpful . Good breakfast included Great view
Cons: Parking is limited and expensive
Location: Within walking distance to park and restaurants
Raining. But enjoyed the evening for a one night stay heading to wine country.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dalia from San Francisco

Great location and view

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
I thought the service was excellent and the view was amazing. The only complaints I had was lack of pool- you have free access to the sister hotel but its a good km walk away, and you have to pay for a pool towel. The food at breakfast was very good but the coffee was like diesel fuel! I think they do that on purpose so you don't sit there all morning! I would stay here again as Opatija was lovely and the view from hotel is amazing. The young woman at the front desk was very helpful as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good, clean hotel, great location, friendly staff

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Good location, very friendly and helpful staff (all of whom spoke good English)
Cons: More variety of evening meal should be offered for B&B guests; during the four nights we stayed, the menu was the same each night.
We stayed here for four nights on our first visit to Croatia, choosing Opatija which appeared to have more facilities than Rijeka, where we had flown into. It's only a 30 minute bus ride between the two towns, costing 16 Kuna per person each way (just under £2 each). The hotel location was perfect, 2 mins walk to the promenade which is lined with shops and restaurants. We had dinner in the hotel on our first night and it was lovely; cooked perfectly. They only offered B&B customers two options, though, and they were the same options on each of our four nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Spacious room, great breakfast

Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room at Astoria was spacious and comfortable, and included a small living room. I appreciated little details, such as the four hooks behind the shower door to hang towels, plus the shower cap that included a hair tie. Breakfast was included and fantastic, including caviar and mimosas. Internet included as well, so everyone in the family was happy. My only complaint would be that there are no electric sockets near the bed, and even the telephone is located on the desk (on the other side of the room), so wake up calls made you really wake up to be able to pick up. The hotel is not located in front of the ocean but we didn't mind. We had a lovely stroll down the beach and another on the main street whch offers lots of shopping spots. Hotel staff was helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by G

Excellent boutique hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
I had some sub-par, mercenary stays in Croatian hotels, but this hotel made you feel like a valued guest. Perfect location. The suite was absolutely perfect with a wraparound balcony facing the ocean and the city. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephanie from Hamilton, ON, Canada

Worth staying at

Posted Sep 4, 2012
Very nice hotel across the street from "beach". In quotations because beach is a concrete pad. Provided breakfast good with enough variety to keep most people happy. Only complaint is severe lack of parking which don't imagine is a problem except at peak season(July/Aug.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anthony from Flushing, Queens, NY, USA

Romantic Getaway

Posted Aug 14, 2012
My wife and I stayed for one night at the Astoria hotel. We have made it a tradition to stay in Opatija every time we visit Croatia. This was the best experience we had thus far. The staff was extremely accommodating and professional. The complimentary breakfast buffet was extraordinary, the coffee not so great when you compare to the espresso's from the local cafe's. The best part of all was the view from our room...BREATHTAKING. Astoria Design Hotel is the only place we will be staying when we go back. I recommend splurging for the suite on the 6th floor, and ask for room 605, the best room in the hotel...the experience was priceless!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel with good staff.

Posted Oct 2, 2010
This is a very nice hotel with new decor and helpful staff. Their sister hotel has a pool which you can use - old but adequate. The views were terrific from our room. There are plenty of good walks either along the coast or up into the hills.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, beautiful views

Posted Sep 26, 2010 on Hotels.com
Front desk staff were wonderful. We were upgraded to an amazing suite because of some confusion with our reservation (and Expedia isues). We didn't want to leave the room! Breakfast was fantastic too.