Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew George from Warsaw, Poland

Very convenient, good value

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Excellent location in central Opatija, easy parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Si Homfray from Sheffield UK

A great staff attitude and a wonderful place to be

Posted Dec 12, 2013
Pros: Staff Situation Swimming Pool Bar WiFi
Cons: Not much
Location: Friendly place Opatija through and through...
I found sanctuary here after a very arduous on foot crossing from Trieste. Brilliant. It was chosen for the best price on Expedia, but to be frank - it would be hard to find anywhere friendlier. Love it Si Homfray
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
You get what you pay for. The location is great and the stuff was helpful. I was little disappointed because I had to pay for parking. The furniture and the atmosphere of the hotel at least 20-30 years old. If you need to stop somewhere to sleep for 1-2 nights it is ok but for longer stay I would go somewhere else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good central location

Posted Sep 1, 2012
Convenient location close to amenities, clean and OK for the price you pay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointingly dated

Posted Aug 15, 2012
A very dated hotel which you can see in the past would have been quite the place to stay. We had an attic room which we knew in advance but it was still not worth the money, particularly in August! The breakfast and terrace were the strong points, service was fine. Location is central to town and there is parking. A shame this hotel doesn't look as good on the inside as it does on the outside.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Hotel Opatija: Old-world charm and great breakfast

Posted Apr 7, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel accommodations were very nice. It was a little run-down, but it gave it an old-world charm. The staff was moderately surly, but the guy who ran the breakfast buffet is a character. We would stay there again for the food alone!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

You Get What you Pay For

Posted Mar 29, 2011 on Hotels.com
Hotel Opatija immediately brings to mind a picture about Croatia's past. From the outside the building is an imposing and beautiful reminder of the Hapsburg Empire, a grand edifice in the middle of Opatija where the rich and noble of the empire came to play. Hotel Opatija could be truly spectacular with an infusion of cash. Unfortunately, the current interior is more a history lesson on Communist Yugoslavia than the Austrian-Hungarian Empire. Not that Hotel Opatija was a horrible choice. Not at all. The location in the center of town is hard to beat. So was the price, particularly in comparison with the other more modern hotels in town. The hotel was perfectly reasonable - the rooms were clean and reasonably comfortable, the included breakfast reasonably decent, and the service reasonably good. If you're looking for a hotel in which you will want to spend hours every day you should probably look elsewhere. On the other hand, if you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel to serve as your base of operations for exploring the town and region, Hotel Opatija is worth a look.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

Center of Opatija

Posted Nov 24, 2010 on Hotels.com
The location of this hotel is the highlighting point, as it is on the center of everything. Close to the beach, close to shops and restaurants. The hotel itself needs some renovation to do. A little bit old and feels rusty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Only if you need cheap parking

Posted Oct 8, 2010 on Hotels.com
We booked this hotel because we needed parking and the hotel has it for a very reasonable price. The hotel is in an excellent location, good service at the desk and in a breakfast room, room was adequate size, very good breakfast. But the hotel is in serious need of total renovation. The carpet is old and dirty, the furniture in the room was old and cracked, and the bathroom appliances are totally outdated.