Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

situated at the foot of a mountain in beautiful ar

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: The warm welcome and stunning location
We had a very comfortable one night stay. It was a quiet time md-week and there were few guests so we received a lot of attention.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

ugly old hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2015 
hotel is old and is unlike the photos
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Andrefrom Pretoria

Midlands Getaway

Posted Dec 25, 2014 
The staff was friendly and welcoming. Beautiful landscaping. The perfect get away at an unbeatable price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for hiking

Posted Jul 1, 2014
( ) under the mountain - peaceful and serene Nice restaurant Spacious room (-) 8km drive on unpaved road
1 out of 5
Recommended
by BB Boqwanafrom South Africa, Johannesburg

Posted Jun 4, 2014 
The hotel is run down and not suitable for South Africa's standard of accommodation. They need to be stripped of their trading license. I just donated my money and looked for alternative accommodation.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Only stay here if you absolutely need to

Posted Jun 4, 2014 
The condition of the hotel is in a very bad state. The paint was peeling off the walls in our room, there was a dark damp patch of mildew above the entrance to the bathroom door, the furniture was extremely old and out-dated, the bathroom was old, very basic, and the shower curtain blew against you and stuck to your legs while you tried to shower. There were no additional plug points to plug in our phones to charge, and message stuck to the wall asking that the guests not plug in any additional appliances as it will cause to power to trip, thus. The restaurants food was extremely average and of poor quality, the chairs were dirty or stained (not sure) and very old, some were torn. I didn't feel comfortable eating any of the food and didn't think it was worth the price. They forgot to charge a bill to our account and we received an email a day after checking out request we do an EFT. The location is really far out of the way from anything, there are no restaurants nearby like the website says, you have to drive at least 20kms to the nearest restaurant, most of which is a dirt road. This hotel needs a serious upgrade, the surroundings, although remote, are beautiful, but the standard of the hotel unfortunately puts a damper on it. I get the feeling that the owner either isn't around much to maintain the standard or they either just don't know any better. Either way, some serious refurbishment needs to take place to bring the "hotel" up to standard. It's a 1 star at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Pieter van der Walt

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2014 
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gerardfrom Purmerend

Top place to stay. One of the best ever.

Posted Jan 27, 2014 
We planned to stay one night but stayed for three. We loved being at this beautiful place. We can only recommand this fulheartedly. An earlier command on reaching the hotel is uther nonsence. We had no problem and the gravelroad is deffenitly one of the better once we drove in in SA. No reason to stay away at all. Again: highly recommanded. And if you are there, please hug Bella for us. We love that dog :-)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Gaby Monamodifrom Kempton Park

great location

Posted Jan 10, 2014 
My family raly enjoyed the experience...the view in the morning is awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by colinfrom uk

Fantastic location in the mountains

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: Setting superb, food great
Cons: Facilities need upgrading
Location: Anything in the mountains
Great food and friendly staff