Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Beatiful Hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2014
This hotel was a great find. A five star resort. Great food and beautiful facilities. The room was outstanding. The service level was some of the best we have had in the world. With the dollar exchange rate, we could not believe the favorable prices (3 beers and 3 shots of tequilla=$16 US dollars!). Opportunites: Limited exercise machines in the fitness center. No real beach opportunity.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2014 by Joanne Du Plooy, Hotel Management
Greetings from Fairmont Zimbali Resort. Our sincere thanks to you for your five-star rating of Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We are thrilled to read that you thought the Resort was beautiful and a rare find with great food, beautiful facilities and outstanding accommodation. Coming from an experienced traveler like yourself, nothing fills us with more joy than to read that you rated the service levels at Fairmont Zimbali Resort as some of the best in the world! Thank you for the wonderful compliment and feedback; we will certainly use these to further enhance the guest experience. We hope that you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Zimbali Resort. Kind regards, The Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most obliging staff. Excellent food

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Spacious and all the facilities you would expect of a first class hotel. Good security.
Location: Close to King Shaka Airport but quite. Medical facilities and great choice of shopping nearby. Golf and other activities.
All the facilities for a joyful holiday, nothing is too much trouble to the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Colleen from Boston

Quiet, luxury in subdued surroundings

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Top notch amenties, with a professional friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2014 by Joanne Du Plooy, Hotel Management
Dear Colleen, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience, we greatly value your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed a peaceful and comfortable stay with us, enjoying all that the Resort has to offer. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Fairmont Zimbali Resort in the near future. Kind regards, The Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Zimbali Hotel Resort Sea View Room

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Very Friendly Staff Housekeeping did a wonderful Job of keeping the room neat and Tidy The Hotel swimming pool and restuarants were amazing Stunning View Very Relaxing place to get away for a Few days Would be nice if there was more to actually do within the Resort However it was an awesome stay and would definately recommend the Zimbali Hotel Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea

Great location great sea views

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Hotel had great views and facilities. Staff extremely helpful. Really enjoyed our staff with one complaint.... the Times in two weeks we couldn't get into one of the hotel eateries with we wanted to as they were booked out for private function, which is not an issue but would have been nice to have been told with advanced notice so we could at least plan our options. Overall well with a stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by katiso from gauteng

fabulous service and comfort

Posted Aug 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
absolute blast, very friendly and helpful staff. i was particularly impressed by the zeal and willingness of staff to go the extra mile. we truly enjoyed our stay there and will certainly come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Andries from Stratford upon Avon

Only stated one night, wish it was longer

Posted Aug 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
I booked a twin bedded room at this hotel for my mom and I. When we arrived, we were warmly welcomed and our car was vallet parked and our luggage brought to our room. The room overlooked the ocean in a distance. As it was my moms 80th birthday, we received a complimentary desert selection on a decorated happy birthday chocolate written plate from the chef and a birthday card from the General Manager. This was a real wow factor and made our stay extra special. The room had two queen size beds and was very comfy, clean and well maintained as well as the exterior, that is beautiful with plants and wildlife. We woke up early to experience the sun rise over the sea and gave us the opportunity for fantastic photos. Everyone at this hotel is so friendly. I will definitely recommend this hotel and can't wait to stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Joseph

Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2014 by Joanne Du Plooy, Hotel Management
Dear Joseph, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your stay at Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We are truly delighted you had a wonderful experience and we certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, The Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Mostly good

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Nice room. The lighting was totally screwed up - unable to control the lights in the bathroom area. Mentioned it several times but never really fixed. The one night we wanted to eat in the restaurant - "sorry, the restaurant is booked for a private party".... The nearest restaurant was either in the other Zimbali Lodge or in Ballito - both of them some distance away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Strini from Auckland, New Zealand

Tranquility and Excellence

Posted Jul 14, 2013
Pros: The hotel is modern and luxurious
Cons: could not find a reasonable fault with the place
Location: Zimbali is located along the sea coast & is nestled by lots of greenery and some deer. Its far away from the city so no pollution & disturbing noises.
The Zimbali Resort is clean and modern. The staff are friendly and keen to see to your needs. The scenic walk along the foot paths and a dip in their luxurious swimming pool is a must after the sumptious buffet breakfast.