Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Alberto from Miami

Hotel is overdue for renovations

Posted Apr 19, 2014
This hotel is not in the best location in Durban. Avoid it unless you need to be in downtown Durban. A better option would've been Umhlanga. Room furniture was very tired. Staff were mostly pleasant. Breakfast was good with some variety.
2 out of 5
by disappointment from Atlanta, Georgia USA

Hotel is not 5 star as listed.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: stadium
Hotel needs to be refurbished. I am a diamond member(Hilton Honors) and the service was still poor. Everything or item needs to be updated including the business center. But I do not fault the staff, because poor operation begins at the top and triggers down to the staff(ripple affect). Please look for other hotels in Durban. paying customer with much disappointment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Nice Place To Stay

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: There was a foam mattress pad on the bed which made the bed so comfortable!! Really nice touch!
Cons: The standard room we were in lacked fridge or microwave.
Location: This hotel really isn't close to anything I was interested in. However, taxi stands were a short walk away near the Workshop.
Spent 5 days here during the work week in mid-February. Overall a very nice place with great staff. I would definitely stay here again!! We bypassed the restaurant in the hotel because we wanted to head down West Street toward the market and eat truly local cuisine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business Hotel in the quiet business district

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: nothing
Location: There is nothing to do near by , Central Durban is not an ideal place for a hotel
Very average staff and hotel which is under refrubishment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil from London

Only Hotel with Rooms for New Year

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: Upgraded to a suite.
Cons: More towels and toiletries in the room. Hotel didn't have a reliable supply of taxis.
Location: Close to the beaches (5-10 mins drive) and close to the nightlife (Florida Road).
Hotel was busy for new year but downtown local (rather than beach) meant they had some rooms available.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel but really, really BAD WI-FI Fee

Posted Dec 22, 2013
Pros: Food was average but tasty
Cons: The cost of Wi-Fi for Hilton Honors members
I spent eight nights on a business trip at this hotel. It is a typical old design Hilton property. I would rate it average across the board. The in house restaurant is OK but nothing to brag about. The room was of normal size and ditto for the bathroom. The rooms are quite unless you have kids running up and down the hallway playing, as happened to me on a couple of occasions. The thing that really burned em up is that my cost per night at this hotel booked through Expedia was around $250 per night. On top of that they charge an OUTRAGEOUS $17 per day for 24 hour WI-Fi Internet service even though you are a Hilton Honors member (Diamond members get it for free). An associate of mine stated a another equally starred hotel and he paid $125 per night and got free Wi-Fi to boot. Although the Hilton did have Free Wi-Fi in the lobby, who wants to spend all of your time working in the lobby. Over review mention crimes such as robbery and burglary but I did not see any indication of this.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel but really, really BAD WI-FI Fee

Posted Dec 22, 2013
Pros: Food was average but tasty
Cons: The cost of Wi-Fi for Hilton Honors members
I spent eight nights on a business trip at this hotel. It is a typical old design Hilton property. I would rate it average across the board. The in house restaurant is OK but nothing to brag about. The room was of normal size and ditto for the bathroom. The rooms are quite unless you have kids running up and down the hallway playing, as happened to me on a couple of occasions. The thing that really burned em up is that my cost per night at this hotel booked through Expedia was around $250 per night. On top of that they charge an OUTRAGEOUS $17 per day for 24 hour WI-Fi Internet service even though you are a Hilton Honors member (Diamond members get it for free). An associate of mine stated a another equally starred hotel and he paid $125 per night and got free Wi-Fi to boot. Although the Hilton did have Free Wi-Fi in the lobby, who wants to spend all of your time working in the lobby. Over review mention crimes such as robbery and burglary but I did not see any indication of this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simon from london

lovely staff accomadating in everyway very he

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: attentive service smiling staff
Cons: nothing
Location: durban ,ushaka marine land north and south beach lovely walking clean streets
thorououghly enjoyed my stay friendly smiling staff made my stay so great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2013