Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb location!

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Superb location! Staff was pleasant. Johnny at the Bell Desk was one of the best hotel employees I have ever come across in all of my travels. He acted as a concierge and was eager to assist with any thing and everything. Truly an outstanding employee. Hotel felt very dirty. Room was not cleaned well, hair everywhere. Tub/shower was simply gross. Other than that, I would recommend. I just hope that the housekeeping staff can be trained to do a better job.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lesotho

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
There was a lot of noise from outside and in the reception area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room service very slow.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Protea Edward review

Posted Apr 5, 2013
Pros: Location, great view
Cons: Poor service
Location: Next to the ocean. Great location.
I stayed for 15 days, got a sea side room which was great. It has great location, great views. However, there were service issues. Beyond the 3rd day the wifi on the 7th floor stopped working. The hotel did not have any clue on how to fix it. Room service menu was very small. The breakfast spread not impressive, no variation in dinner spread. Room service won't respond to calls. Food quality was good. Very nice lamb curry. Figured out that price wise this was exactly same as Hilton as well. Overall not recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ron and Ann

Best beach front hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very good. The concierge at the front desk was very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vicki

Not a safe location after dark

Posted Nov 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
The welcome was poor, we arrived early at midday and housekeeping were informed and we were told that the room should only be half an hour. An hour and a half later when we returned we were told that we were too early and therefore couldn't have the room as it wasn't ready. Overall service at this hotel was very slow in all departments, room service was a challenge as the menus were out of date in the room and the hotel breakfast served in the restaurant overpriced - better value could be had from room service for breakfast at half the cost.The room itself was good, had a lovely view from the balcony of the beach but unfortunately the beach area in Durban is not the place to be and we were advised not to go out after dark, and when we did go to a nearby restaurant it was slightly off putting to be locked in, and have the door locked after us when we left!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Mike & Lisa

Not what we expected for price...

Posted Oct 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
First of all, they have done a nice job with the remodel our room and hotel was very nice! But that is not enough to make us stay again - when we checked in at 11 pm we had one desk gal that was extremely helpful and nice and one that was not at all. We are in customer service and tried to bring her around not a good way to keep customers. So the "night life" activity outside the hotel was concerning, parking was limited, everything had an extra charge parking, Internet and breakfast almost $20 a person. We choose to go to a wonderful coffee shop up the road. Our room was not completed when we got to it. While we lived the patio and the view it would not be enough to stay again. We have booked somewhere else on our return.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by helen

Old world charm

Posted Sep 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
A charming hotel with very helpful staff. Lovely breakfast and a beautiful cocktail bar. Our guide from the hotel was most helpful by showing us some lovely places to visit in Durban.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Serge

Posted Aug 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great service... particularly the concierge