Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Somerset West

Good location and friendly staff

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Renovation which is happening
Location: Great beach, good restaurants, good golf. Lovely sea front promenade
The hotel is now looking a bit tired but they are undergoing a massive renovation including a big extension which will make this a lovely place to stay in Umhlanga. Even now its a great location and we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful. Only issue is parking which you have to pay for but parking is at a premium in this area so no real complaints
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Great hotel,staff is super friendly. Breakfast is out of this world.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Waynefrom U.K.

Good business hotel.

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here with colleagues. Hotel is a good standard business hotel, nothing fancy or romantic. The downside was that the hotel was in the middle of a construction site. It has a great location otherwise; seconds off the M4 and a few minutes walk to the beach. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but this does not matter as there are lots of eateries just a few steps away. My room had a wonderful view over the indian ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paulfrom Cambridgeshire

Great hotel in good location

Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is centrally located near good restaurants, shops and the beach. There is safe, covered parking in a car park at the hotel. Staff was friendly and rooms very clean. Definitely recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Andreasfrom Sentrum Umhlanga Rocks

Fin beliggenhet

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Oppholdet var helt utmerket. Har bodd på hotellet flere ganger, og kommer til å benytte det også ved fremtidige besøk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Sehr entgegenkommende Damen im Hotelmanagement - am Hotel wird gebaut - als Entgegenkommen für den Lärm erhielten wir ein weiteres Zimmer für unsere Tochter sowie ein kostenfreies Frühstück sowie ein Lunchpaket am Abflugtag ( für alle drei Reisenden ). - Zusätzliche Tipps halfen uns, den Tag zu gestalten.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NSW, Australia

Ok hotel. Close to lovely Umhlanga shops

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Ok hotel. Close to lovely Umhlanga shops. Not as close to beach as pictures suggest. Decor dated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Hammerfrom Sweden

Kanon Service

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Helt kanon service, skulle dock vilja påpeka att hotellet børjar bli slitet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Annette Jonesfrom Bristol

Fab hotel

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel, easy to find, great location. Good service. Our key card stopped working about an hour after arrivial. The service engineer tried a couple of things to get it working prior to changing the lock. The Service Manager found out that we were outside the room for about 30 minutes whilst the key was being sorted (we were happy to wait); however, he was astonished and offered us a bottle of wine - and a very good bottle of wine it was! Loads of parking available which was very very reasonable. Clean room with a fab view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lindafrom London

Comfortable family hotel in vibrant, nice area

Posted Apr 10, 2014
My husband, I and our 6 and 1 year old stay here for a night or two whenever we visit SA, which we do a lot. The room is comfortable with a small kitchenette and sea view. The best thing about Protea Umhlanga is its location, in a vibrant area near to shops, restaurants and a lovely beach. I've found that Protea hotels are inconsistent, some awful (Hluhluwe) but this one is an excellent ambassador for the brand. Recommended.