Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom johannesburg

Sympa et bien situé

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Sa localisation, a 2 pas de la plages, des restos, des magasins.
Cons: Piscine petite et froide
Location: Plage, commerces, resto
Séjour agreable, hôtel confortable et propre. Séjour agreable, hôtel confortable et propre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Somerset West

Good location and friendly staff

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Renovation which is happening
Location: Great beach, good restaurants, good golf. Lovely sea front promenade
The hotel is now looking a bit tired but they are undergoing a massive renovation including a big extension which will make this a lovely place to stay in Umhlanga. Even now its a great location and we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful. Only issue is parking which you have to pay for but parking is at a premium in this area so no real complaints
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Great hotel,staff is super friendly. Breakfast is out of this world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lynettefrom Tonga view

excellent 0

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
It was superb and excellent. We have enjoyed our stay
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by cfrom jhb

poor beds

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
The room was good however the sleeper couch was absolutely terrible and my son has a sore back since the 2nd day... we paid good money for a room for 3. The least we could expect was a second proper bed... not a cheap sleeper couch that felt like you were sleeping on steel beams... he is still very sore and this is not worth it at all...after we complained then we got a second mattress which was on the floor. Basically not a good stay in terms of accommodation but everything else was good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location, but a bit of a construction zone

Posted Jan 10, 2015 on Hotels.com
The staff are exceedingly welcoming and helpful. The hotel is having major construction - with a high rise addition being built in the front of the current hotel. The public areas are utilitarian at best. The rooms are serviceable, probably waiting to be upgraded and renewed after construction is completed. The Protea chain has now been bought out by Marriott and there are a few glitches as systems change over. The price is good for the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Genafrom johannesburg

Looking forward to remodel

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hotel was unfortunately under renovation,however the hotel was very clean.The staff where very accomadating and very helpful.The rooms is a good size and the main bed very comfortable but the sleeper coach for the children very uncomfortable and the aircon was positioned in the incorrect area in the room(the room was only cooling near the sleeper coach).Overall we were satisfied however a larger pool with a bar and lounger facitily would be recommended.We also feel breakfast area to pricey for families to afford.I would definitely recommend the Hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sarahfrom thun

gute lage

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
das hotel ist sehr zentral gelegen. es gibt viele restaurants und shops in der umgebung. der strand ist zu fuss erreichbar. an der reception erhielt man kaum auskunft. das personal war über aktivitäten in der umgebung nicht informiert.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sabinfrom Kathmandu, Nepal

Big comfort

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
I had a family of 7 two sets of parents and us, if I had know the rooms were going to this big wth a comfortable sofa bed would have only booked two rooms. We enjoyed our stay the neibhohiod is great many restaurants and stores and the beach is a walking distance. The hotel staff are very friendly and very helpful. If I am around in the area I am choosing this hotel again. Only disclaimer- the swimming pool is a glorified bathtub., but you have the ocean I guess
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peterfrom London

Bad plumbing

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hotel was in a convenient position. Room clean but noisy. The air con made a terrible noise, as if it was taking off. The water system was very noisy and we heard the next rooms toilet fill up several times during the night. I would not stay here again.