Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kwazulu Natal Howick

Disappointing stay in Richards bay

Posted Mar 25, 2015
When we got there we carried our cases in. At reception the lady alone was trying to do all three thing by herself. She reserved a sum of R3000.00 on our credit card for the one night stay. The room was a smoking room and it smelt and the air con did not work. They asked us if they could fix the air con the next day, the day we check out??? So after some time with much reluctance they moved us to a room down the hall. Also a smoking room, this did not smell so bad and the air con worked. The next day all three ladies in reception could not reverse our reserved amount on the credit card and then still took off the amount for the stay that night. So therefore they had their money and our R3000.00 too. They could not reverse it as they blamed the machine. Their attitudes were terrible and no one went out of their way to help us. It has been four days now and still they have our money and theirs. Well as long as they have their money, the rest of us can wait till they get taught how to work the credit card machine. I will really look hard at staying at a Protea Hotel again, most probably never again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DBN

A quiet weekend of tranquil and comfort..

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Wanted to spend a quiet yet comfortable weekend out of DURBAN. This hotel has everything: Friendly concierge: thanks Sinethembile! Helpful Reservations desk: thanks Thando! Happy waitrons: thanks Lungile! Professional Chefs too! Room 318 is best: Top floor , away from the loud waterfront restaurant . Stylish and tasteful interior decor , immaculately maintained. Wonderful stay. breakfast at ZAR 175 is pricey but well made. Thanks again. Will definately come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Essen, Ruhrgebiet

Schönes Hotel mit großzügigen Zimmern

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Lage am Hafen der Tuzi Gazi Waterfront war sehr schön. Zimmer sehr großzügig mit tollem Bad mit Wanne sowie separierter Dusche und WC. Essen war gut. Preis für Frühstück mit R165 überteuert, vor allem im Vergleich mit dem Abendessen-Buffet für R175. Buffet abends gut aber nicht sehr abwechslungsreich. Personal war ausgesprochen freundlich, jedoch für meinen Geschmack zu viel Personal welches recht ineffektiv arbeitet - und trotz teilweiser mehrfacher Rückfragen zu den Bestellungen trotzdem nicht immer das richtige bringt. "That's Africa!" Alles in allem haben wir den Aufenthalt aber sehr genossen und würden das Hotel auch weiterempfehlen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gaborone, Botswana

Excellent Service and beautiful modern hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Staff, service, cleanliness and food.
Cons: Checking through the bill, I notice I was charged for parking, which although only a token fee, seems unnecessary.
Location: Some good beaches just the other side of the bridge on the way in, also the golf club nearby had a nice bar and restaurant too.
Very happy with everything, good food in the restaurant with lots of variety. Nice beach/port side location and some good bars and restaurants within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by VoyageurProfrom Lyon, France

Hotel agréable

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Séjour agréable dans cet hôtel confortable et propre. Personnel souriant et serviable. Petit soucis avec le service pressing de l'hôtel, mais rien à redire en dehors de cet incident.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mickfrom Edinburgh

Waterfront Hotel in Richards Bay.

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Modern and very clean.
Cons: The cost of dining! (breakfast!)
Location: The hotel is located near to the centre of Richards Bay in a modern waterfront area. There are loads of bars, restaurants and shops nearby.
A very nice hotel in a great location. Unfortunately Breakfast isn't included in the price and is very expensive! It's OK though there are plenty of places nearby to get something! You will also be charged for parking! They don't tell you this when you check in!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Pixie_0from London, UK

The only place to stay in the Bay

Posted May 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
This really is great hotel. Its stylish and modern and every room has a view over the waterfront. Big windows letting in a lot of light if you want it, massive bed that is uber comfy with a ton of pillows. A desk and dressing table. The bathroom has a big bath, walk in shower and closed off toilet. Very nicely done! The hotel has a great breakfast area downstairs (although breakfast is quite expensive, the food is good!!) there is a cocktail bar and outside seating by the pool. A gate going straight to the waterfront which is full of restaurants, bars and shops. Ample secure parking. The only suggestion i would make is that the breakfast staff could be a little more attentive but not a train smash. Everything else was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified travelerfrom Zoetemeer, Holland

perfect hotel

Posted May 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
meerdere malen voor zaken hier gelogeerd maar nu voor een paar dagen gedurende onze vakantie en zoals gewoonlijk, perfect hotel, aanrader!!