Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Africa

Conveniently placed

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Friendly and welcoming reception staff and a big thanks to WESLEY, TRACY & PORTIA for being totally awesome (their bosses should either promote them or give them a serious pay rise and I hope they are treated well). There's a lady called Yvonne who needs a serious refresher on people skills. The hotel is conveniently placed in the city centre on Smith Street a few minutes walk from the beach, food, shopping and other attractions. It is a 3☆ hotel so don't expect perfection as far as the rooms are concerned (everything is a work in progress). Although the rooms are reasonably sized the shower in the single room is VERY small & non-inviting so if you're a big person or are travelling with kids go for either a 'disabled' room (if booking online) or ask for a bigger room before arrival (you may have to pay a little extra). By the way, Durban is a very hot and humid place so don't be too alarmed if you see a cockroach or two around and don't leave open food items lying around. Overall, great service!!! I would stay here again If I were to be served by the same people☺
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Was ok stay cheep and cheerful, staff were very friendly and helpful, didn't appreciate the lack of free wifi. And the room was a little dirt but other than that can't complain for South Africa
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lacking in some important facilities.

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Central location with easy access to the city centre, playhouse and inner city shopping facilities. Lovely art deco building.
Cons: Room too small. Parking is terrible and unsafe. Staff attitude needs work. restaurant facilities are simply atrocious. No backup power generator.
Location: The playhouse, town hall and museums are nearby, but little else.
Pros 1. The Albany Hotel is centrally located with easy access to main highway routes and the beachfront. 2. It was a lovely art deco building, but has been "renovated" and no longer looks anything like it does on Google Street View. Cons 1. Some staff really didn’t want to be there; this was clear from how they dealt with customers. 2. Rooms are tiny. Pro tip: Get a bigger room than you think you need – a 2 sleeper allows little room for anything but the bed. Bathrooms are tiny; the shower could've easily been a cupboard. 3. The hotel has no parking attached. Guests have 3 parking options: - Parking Lot 1: Next to the hotel, down an alley lined with shebeens, “massage parlours” and broken glass. It feels very unsafe to wander through the CBD to fetch your car, especially at night. - Parking Lot 2: 2 blocks down adjoined to the Royal Hotel. Much safer, but still requires guests to walk through the CBD to access their cars. - Streetside: Seemed a dangerous prospect. 4. The only restaurant on the premises looked like a tiny hospital sandwich bar – not at all appetising. The restaurant from which you order room service and ice is a few metres into the alley beside the building – this was more of a shebeen. If you request ice, you have to fetch it from there yourself, escorted by a porter, as the hotel warns not to walk alone outside the building at night. 5. The building has no back-up power generator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tobicofrom East Africa

Fantastic services

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a great one with friendly people
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Albany Hotel, Durban

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Nice staff
Cons: General overhaul and good clean up.
The hotel is within walking distance of the ICC which is why I booked it. On arrival we noticed the reception was under renovation and so we had to enter on the side street. friendly and helpful staff so that was good. The hotel is is a very noisy party of town and the room was ok small but quite damp and the shower was very damp and tiny.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by julfrom Israel

Good location terrible staff

Posted Aug 24, 2013
Pros: Thru the web
Cons: Training the staff to be guest oriented
Location: The hotel is relatively close to the promenade of Durban, called the golden mile and also to Ushaka marine world.
Centrally located close to big shops and entertainments, but the staff isn't guest oriented at all! They tried to charge more money for our stay even though we paid all the booking expences to expedia. Parking wasn't available , had no disc for their parking lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bassinofrom Mondovì

In centro!

Posted Mar 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
La camera era pulita e il servizio di pulizia ha sostituito, anche se non era il caso, asciugamani, sapone, sali da bagno (sì, sali da bagno) tutte le mattine. L'albergo è molto comodo (peccato però per la mancanza di wifi gratuito) anche se non ha un suo parcheggio (dovrete sceglierne uno a pagamento - quello vicino al royal hotel va benissimo e non costa caro) perché si trova in centro davanti alla town hall. Sinceramente mi sento di consigliarlo, 500 zar a notte per una doppia sono più che giusti.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anonymous

Posted Dec 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel reception and security staff friendly and helpful. Restaurant: food quality good, but not many choices; staff very friendly, in particular Ms Fiklee. She always got a smiling face.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Wheeling , W.V.

My experience

Posted Aug 14, 2011 on Hotels.com
I was asked to pay again as I was checking out. But I didn't because my credit card was billed.