Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Germany

akzeptabel

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Cons: renovieren Bad!!!!! Stellplatz sehr eng und laut bei Wäscheanlieferung um 7:00
Location: nichts kann man unternehmen auch essens mäßig mau
Rezeption und Frühstücksraum ok, leidere sehr schlechter Welan - empfang, sehr laut die Zimmer und renovierungsbedürftig, Betten gut, Frühstück ok aber 18 Dollar für 2 Spiegeleier mit Toast und Becon, unakzeptabel. Für eine Nacht empfehlenswert.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Africa

Conveniently placed

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Friendly and welcoming reception staff and a big thanks to WESLEY, TRACY & PORTIA for being totally awesome (their bosses should either promote them or give them a serious pay rise and I hope they are treated well). There's a lady called Yvonne who needs a serious refresher on people skills. The hotel is conveniently placed in the city centre on Smith Street a few minutes walk from the beach, food, shopping and other attractions. It is a 3☆ hotel so don't expect perfection as far as the rooms are concerned (everything is a work in progress). Although the rooms are reasonably sized the shower in the single room is VERY small & non-inviting so if you're a big person or are travelling with kids go for either a 'disabled' room (if booking online) or ask for a bigger room before arrival (you may have to pay a little extra). By the way, Durban is a very hot and humid place so don't be too alarmed if you see a cockroach or two around and don't leave open food items lying around. Overall, great service!!! I would stay here again If I were to be served by the same people☺
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by stevefrom Cape Town

Terrible Stay Experience!!

Posted Jan 15, 2015 
There were flies and mosquitos in the room. only one switch for the air con. temperature is not adjustable. I booked through hotel.com for 3 rooms, but when I checked in, the lady said the one room is not paid for. And she doesn't know who to contact. The facility is old and service is bad, it doesn't deserve the 3 star. I will never go back or recommend it to my friends, and I think you should take it off your list.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2015 
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Akhonafrom Mthatha

Nice stay in Albany

Posted Jan 9, 2015 
It was a nice stay there friendly staff and I like breakfast, it was superb. The problem of lifts and room phone was not working. It is in the center of the town so taxy noise is the problem to those sensitive
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

ben and jack

Posted Jan 7, 2015 
I had a nightmare stay the place and smiley the lifts are too slow buy out those people at the back tavern and the empty building improve the passage
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Was ok stay cheep and cheerful, staff were very friendly and helpful, didn't appreciate the lack of free wifi. And the room was a little dirt but other than that can't complain for South Africa
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lacking in some important facilities.

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Central location with easy access to the city centre, playhouse and inner city shopping facilities. Lovely art deco building.
Cons: Room too small. Parking is terrible and unsafe. Staff attitude needs work. restaurant facilities are simply atrocious. No backup power generator.
Location: The playhouse, town hall and museums are nearby, but little else.
Pros 1. The Albany Hotel is centrally located with easy access to main highway routes and the beachfront. 2. It was a lovely art deco building, but has been "renovated" and no longer looks anything like it does on Google Street View. Cons 1. Some staff really didn’t want to be there; this was clear from how they dealt with customers. 2. Rooms are tiny. Pro tip: Get a bigger room than you think you need – a 2 sleeper allows little room for anything but the bed. Bathrooms are tiny; the shower could've easily been a cupboard. 3. The hotel has no parking attached. Guests have 3 parking options: - Parking Lot 1: Next to the hotel, down an alley lined with shebeens, “massage parlours” and broken glass. It feels very unsafe to wander through the CBD to fetch your car, especially at night. - Parking Lot 2: 2 blocks down adjoined to the Royal Hotel. Much safer, but still requires guests to walk through the CBD to access their cars. - Streetside: Seemed a dangerous prospect. 4. The only restaurant on the premises looked like a tiny hospital sandwich bar – not at all appetising. The restaurant from which you order room service and ice is a few metres into the alley beside the building – this was more of a shebeen. If you request ice, you have to fetch it from there yourself, escorted by a porter, as the hotel warns not to walk alone outside the building at night. 5. The building has no back-up power generator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Fidelity Milambofrom Lusaka/Zambia

Great Hotel. Unprofessional Reservation System!

Posted Oct 29, 2014 
I enjoyed my stay at Albany. But there is a need for Albany Hotel to improve its reservation system. I booked online and clearly indicated I would pay in local currency on checking in, which I did. Regrettably, I was shocked to discover that my bank account was debited, implying that I was charged twice!!! Calls to the hotel did not help, as I got toast from one person to another. Luckily, my email complaint was promptly replied to and followed up with a telephone call by a lady from the Finance Department, with a promise that I would be refunded by the 29 October 2014. Albany Hotel, please synchronize your booking system to avoid inconveniencing clients.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mfanufikilefrom Umtata

My hotel review

Posted Oct 5, 2014 
The hotel is fine but the bed and bedding is not up to standard.